Server Antivirus

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by whitedragon551, Mar 13, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    I just got done uninstalling Kaspersky AV on our server. It was a nightmare.

    Looking for a light weight, free alternative for Windows Server 2003 R2 in a product environment. Just needs to be a simple AV.
     
  2. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Are you running a Windows server? Why?
     
  3. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Its at work. KAV brought it to its knees on a quad core Xeon server. I need something on there.

    Now I do get MS Forefront through MSDNAA from college. I thought about maybe installing that and pushing it out to all users.
     
  4. noons

    noons Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    115
    If your running an AV on a server (other then an enduser file server) your doing it wrong...
     
  5. operamail

    operamail Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Posts:
    254
    Free alternative for a windows server? I don't think there are any available (officially supported). Why not try Emsisoft Anti-malware for server?;)
     
  6. skokospa

    skokospa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    177
    Location:
    Srbija
    I would suggest you IKARUS... on several servers works without errors....
    ikarus virus.utilities has a single installer for servers and workstations.no special installation for servers
    Iikarus security manager (ISM) in one and antivirus.installed on the server and also have anti-virus for server
     
  7. m0unds

    m0unds Guest

    figured i'd bring this up just in case: -hxxp://support.microsoft.com/kb/822158- not excluding relevant paths can cause significant performance issues, depending on the role of the server.

    at any rate, MSE works if the server's in an environment w/fewer than 10 machines/whatever EULA requirements exist and you exclude the necessary locations per MS guidelines. outpost AV works alright too, with the same caveat.

    WRT forefront - it's important to adhere to licensing terms w/technet and msdn subscriptions, especially when businesses are involved.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 14, 2012
  8. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,051
    Location:
    USA
    Vipre is cost effective and runs on servers. There really isn't much for free. :(
     
  9. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    For free, I would say just use MSE. Strange I used to run Kaspersky on a few of my old 2003 servers without any issues. What was it doing to your server?
     
  10. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,051
    Location:
    USA
    MSE does not install on Servers unless something has changed since I last looked into it.
     
  11. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    I had it installed (albeit temporarily) on an 03 server last summer. Maybe updates since that time have have negated it but I had it up and running for a few months. :ninja:
     
  12. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Causing a service hang and crawling everything to a crawl. You couldnt click the start menu without 5-10 minutes of hesitation between you clicking it and it actually appearing. Uninstalled it and everything is fine.
     
  13. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Installed it today and it was fine.
     
  14. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,051
    Location:
    USA
    Interesting. I wonder when that started... and if it works on 2008 and 2008r2. :ninja:

    -Answered my own question. It appears it works on all of them.
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2012
  15. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    That one is kinda new, i'm pretty sure that if you do so, Emsisoft will give you full support since there is not enough feedback for the enterprise products hahaha :D
     
  16. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,051
    Location:
    USA
    I've seen that before but it has been a loong time. It used to conflict with the service for IIS. I don't remember being able to find a workaround for it.
     
  17. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Yeah I never had an issue with it Jack. Maybe you're thinking of another AV?

    As for Kaspersky on 2003, I never ran into any issues but was not running IIS on the servers in question. Damn, I really hate IIS. :doubt:
     
  18. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,051
    Location:
    USA
    Nope, if you look around on the internet you can find evidence that MSE was client only and not meant for server installations, and in the early days refused to install at all on a server. It's probably more than a couple of years ago that I tried. I was under the impression that servers required a Forefront installation.That has obviously changed at some point, not sure when.

    Unfortunately I see that now after you run a scan with it they open a browser window advertising Bing. :(
     
  19. Vilmalith

    Vilmalith Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Posts:
    63
    64bit MSE won't install for me on WHS 2011, gives me an os not supported message....
     
  20. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    That may have been the issue. IIS is installed. Not sure why as they dont have any intranet pages that are available.
     
  21. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,877
    Location:
    New England
    Off topic replies removed. The thread starter has a very specific focus - a server side anti-virus product for a production server running Windows Server 2003 R2. Let's keep to that specific target. Thanks.
     
  22. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Perhaps that was the issue. The server I was running it on was not running IIS. It was only 32bit version of server 2003 by the way.
     
  23. Atul88

    Atul88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Posts:
    259
    Location:
    India
    :mad: :mad:
    What if i would have said i am just done installing ESS 5 BE on WIN SERVER 2003. Going to see how it performs for few days. :p :p
     
  24. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    Does MSE even install on a Win 2003 server? It didn't the last time I checked, which was about 4 months ago. I do have IIS installed and runnning on the server. I was using an old version of Avira on it, I think it might have been version 8. I was getting warning messages to upgrade to the newer version. When I did it wouldn't work anymore. MSE does work on Win 2008 servers.

    Ice
     
  25. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,051
    Location:
    USA
    That's what I had thought but it does install now. I did it for a test last week and it worked.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.