Server 2003 - GhostWall?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Palace, Jan 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Palace

    Palace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Posts:
    2
    Hi There

    I've been looking for a simple firewall for a Server 2003 box and been trying out GhostWall. It's seems OK but looks like you can't set a range of IP's to block in the rules. i.e I want to block say 200.0.0.0 to 224.255.255.255.

    Have others used this before or would you recommend something better. I'm also looking at upgrading to Server 2008 which seems to have a far better firewall but being 64bit might be a while before I can update the hardware.

    Cheers
    Peter
     
  2. BILL G

    BILL G Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    80
    Location:
    MN USA
    Have you done a Search for GHOST WALL on this Forum ?
     
  3. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    971
    Location:
    Paris
    First off, the original version of Server 2008 comes in a 32bit flavor (it is what I'm using); it went 64bit only with R2.

    As for Ghostwall, I personally didn't see much use for it, especially if you are behind a decent router. I used it for about a month before moving on. LookNStop would be a fine alternative, but in my opinion even better (and free) is Comodo.
     
  4. Palace

    Palace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Posts:
    2
    Hi Guys

    Thank you for your replies.

    Bill G - Yes I have.

    cruelsister - The router they have is not much chop (it has no firewall) as they are only a small business, hence the firewall. I will have a look at Comodo but I thought the free firewall didn't support server 2003. Anyway I'm thinking the best option is to tell them to spend some money on a decent router.

    Thanks again guys
    Peter
     
  5. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    971
    Location:
    Paris
    As Comodo is working fine on my server2008 set, it should be fine on S2003. Give it a whirl!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.