Server 2003 - GhostWall?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Palace, Jan 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Palace

    Palace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Posts:
    2
    Hi There

    I've been looking for a simple firewall for a Server 2003 box and been trying out GhostWall. It's seems OK but looks like you can't set a range of IP's to block in the rules. i.e I want to block say 200.0.0.0 to 224.255.255.255.

    Have others used this before or would you recommend something better. I'm also looking at upgrading to Server 2008 which seems to have a far better firewall but being 64bit might be a while before I can update the hardware.

    Cheers
    Peter
     
  2. BILL G

    BILL G Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    80
    Location:
    MN USA
    Have you done a Search for GHOST WALL on this Forum ?
     
  3. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,350
    Location:
    Paris
    First off, the original version of Server 2008 comes in a 32bit flavor (it is what I'm using); it went 64bit only with R2.

    As for Ghostwall, I personally didn't see much use for it, especially if you are behind a decent router. I used it for about a month before moving on. LookNStop would be a fine alternative, but in my opinion even better (and free) is Comodo.
     
  4. Palace

    Palace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Posts:
    2
    Hi Guys

    Thank you for your replies.

    Bill G - Yes I have.

    cruelsister - The router they have is not much chop (it has no firewall) as they are only a small business, hence the firewall. I will have a look at Comodo but I thought the free firewall didn't support server 2003. Anyway I'm thinking the best option is to tell them to spend some money on a decent router.

    Thanks again guys
    Peter
     
  5. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,350
    Location:
    Paris
    As Comodo is working fine on my server2008 set, it should be fine on S2003. Give it a whirl!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.