Serious issues after using DD10

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by jatti, Oct 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jatti

    jatti Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    Location:
    India
    Hi everybody ,

    Thanks for reading my post.
    I installed DD10 and TI 10 on my laptop.
    Old setup:
    Disk 1 has three partition's 20 GB each ( C , D , E) with C being windows or primary drive.

    Now i reorganized my Disk 1 in to following partitions with DD 10:
    C:25 GB ; D:16.89GB ; E:14GB

    Ever since i have done this i have been facing these 2 problems:
    1. my recycle bin is always full , whenever i try to empty it i always get this error
    New Picture.jpg
    i have tried all the things i could think off, still .
    2 . Since this restructuring my E drive has been behaving very strangely , it only had songs and videos in it. More than half of my songs(mp3, wma , ogg) are not playing up .o_O o_O

    Can anybody please suggest anything regarding this?
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Do you have a backup of the partitions or data? (A True Image drive backup, for example.)

    Something may have been corrupted during the resizing. You may need to run chkdsk /f on the drives, but I strongly recommend you backup (or copy off) any important files (or all files) because it may cause further corruption instead of fixing anything.

    Run chkdsk without the "fix" option (don't use the /f option). This will look at the drive and display any errors, but not fix them. See what shows up. If there are a lot, then fixing them may cause further problems.
     
  3. jatti

    jatti Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    Location:
    India
    Thank you MudCrab for your reply.:D

    Actually when this error occurred i didn't have any kind of backup , though i did make one right away after this particular error.
    Now i did run chkdsk on all my partitions , in C: drive (i.e primary one)it is showing that it has 8KB of bad sector in it . And in E: it automatically erased several things ( i am not sure what) . :'(
    Could this have caused this error.:'(
    Can you please give your opinion regarding this:

    1. Will the back up (whole HDD) that i have right now contain this recycle bin error or not?
    2. If yes , what should i do?
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    If the backup image you created was after the corruption, then it's probably in the image.

    Have you tried turning off the Recycle Bin for all your drives? Perhaps this will clear things out. If you don't get any errors from this, reboot and then turn the Recycle Bin back on and see if it works.

    When you ran chkdsk was it with or without the /f option?

    If you ran it without the /f option then no fixes were applied. It only showed what it would attempt to fix.
     
  5. jatti

    jatti Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    Location:
    India
    Thanks again for your reply.
    As you said this error is most probably in m back up also , this means my backup is worthlesso_O
    What should or can i do with it:'( :'(

    Coming back to recycle bin problem i did try it , still it is completly full. Unfortunately i did run CHKDSK with /F option . My ignorance. :'( :'( :'(

    Now what kind of back up can i do now . Can you please suggest somethingo_O
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Did you make the backup before or after you ran chkdsk /f on the drive(s)?

    Was the backup a Disk or Partition Image backup or a File & Folders (data) backup?

    Can you successfully create a new Entire Disk Image backup (check the Disk # checkbox) of the hard drive (this will include ALL partitions)?

    Your current backup may restore with the same corrupt status, however it may not be worthless if it contains files you need. You can probably mount or explore the image and get the files out.
     
  7. jatti

    jatti Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    Location:
    India
    Thanks again for your reply.

    1. I made this back up after i ran CHKDSK command . . .
    2. The back up was complete Hard Disk back up on my USB drive .

    As you said that the back up itself is corrupted , then should i delete it ?
    .and go for MY data backup option in True Image . .. . ?//o_O o_O
     
  8. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    At the present time, I would recommend that you NOT delete your current backup image. Keep it just in case. The backup image is probably not "corrupted", meaning that TI probably validates it okay. What I meant was that the "chkdsk" corruption problems would have been saved in the image since they existed at the time the image was created.

    Making another "data" backup before trying other things is a good idea.

    I'm still not too sure on exactly what is causing the Recycle Bin problem. It may be connected to the corrupted drive or it may be a separate problem. I suspect the former, though.

    You may need to do a Repair Install of Windows to fix it.
     
  9. jatti

    jatti Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    Location:
    India
    Thanks Mudcrab for your reply
    I really appreciate your advice.:thumb: :thumb: :) :)

    I haven't deleted my old back up , but planning to make (using TI 11) MY DATA back up , so i atleast have back up of my important backup.

    Now you said that i should do a repair install of windows,..... What exactly did you mean by it? How do you do it?
     
  10. milesy

    milesy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    Jatti,

    When you place the Windows installation CD in your CD bay and let it start up... Windows installation manager will ask you if you want to do a complete install or a repair.

    Also, If I were you, I'd try booting in safe mode via MSCONFIG and then try to empty the wast basket.--- before I went through the reinstall or repair route.

    I have had issues like yours as well and have had to reinstall my OS so many times that I could do it blind folded. What I do today is get one PERFECT image of my C drive and save it in three places-- one on my network drive, a second on my secure partition, and the third one is on a removable external drive.

    I have used Partition Magic 8 and it gave me so many data loss and corruption problems that I finally converted to Acronis DD which I can atest has been perfect for me regardless of how many executions I have instructed it to perform in one session. Your problem is likely to the bad sector problems you have on your drive. I hope it works out for you.
     
  11. jatti

    jatti Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    Location:
    India
    Thanks Mudcrab for your help.

    Please accept my apologies for replying after so much time. I have tried every thing you suggested and finally made one decision ..... reinstall my windows,... :( :(

    Thanks again for your help:D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.