Serious hard disk error

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by jatti, Mar 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jatti

    jatti Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    Location:
    India
    Hi All,

    Thanks for reading my post.
    I am not too sure if my question is right for this forum... please accept my apologies
    I have been using Disk director since few weeks. I tried Partition Magic (PM 8 ) Yesterday as my friend it is better than DD (which i doubt now!!!). Whenever i have tried initializing PM 8 it always gives me this error
    untitled.JPG

    I am using ACER aspire 5004 with Windows XP SP2 professional
    Disk1 : 60gb hard disk
    Disk 2 (in question i.e.one with error) : 250gb Seagate external USB hard disk

    Can someone help me regarding this ...please o_O
    I would really appreciate that?

    Thanks Again.
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  3. markymoo

    markymoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    1,212
    Location:
    England
    I wouldn't worry about it. PM comes up with this error even when there's nothing wrong. You have formatted your drive with another utility or altered your bios settings. If you try to fix it with PM it will probably corrupt your drive! so don't try to fix! The gemoetry is seeing it different in windows to the bios. Run chkdsk and leave alone. Don't try to fix it. If the partition is reporting the right size in Disk Director then its fine.

     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2008
  4. Aerowinder

    Aerowinder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Posts:
    29
    PartitionMagic has been dead for several years, unfortunately. PM only supports drives up to 127GB, I thought. That could be bad information. I would suggest finding a new partitioning tool - there are many to choose from. If chkdsk says the drive is fine, I wouldn't worry about it.
     
  5. jatti

    jatti Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    Location:
    India
    HI all,

    THANK you guys for your reply... i really appreciate it ...
    Please accept my aplogies for my late response ... had little ISP related issues....

    I ran chkdsk , NO errors:D ... anyhow i had formated my drive with Disk director only so no point keeping PM in my laptop...

    Aerowinder can you suggest some good partition tool may be better than DD 10

    Thanks to all for your replies
    Cheers!!!!:) :)
     
  6. Aerowinder

    Aerowinder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Posts:
    29
    I use Paragon Partition Manager. It is only necessary to use a boot cd with these types of apps. I do not recommend installing them on the HD, as there is simply no reason to do so.
     
  7. Huupi

    Huupi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    2,024
    For some reason the installed DD 10 is pretty much lame[look over at their forum],but from CD and then the option Safe Boot work like a charm.
     
  8. jatti

    jatti Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    Location:
    India
    thanks Aerowinder
    will give paragon a try....
    As always thanks to all for their support:D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.