Selecting the backkup destination

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by coodbe, Nov 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. coodbe

    coodbe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    I currently put backup on two external hard drives. I do a full backup followed by differential backups.

    Attached are the images of backups on one of the external drives. I do not have a partition set aside for just doing backups and they are intermingled with other data.

    Is one folder supposed to be made to include the full backup and the differential backups?

    Attached are images of the backups and some other data and software on one of the external hard drives. Is this the way the backups are supposed to be configured? Or do I make a folder and put the full backup and differential bakup into it? The directions are confusing me when it refers to folders. The first Acronis imgage starting from the left to is a full backup of the C drive and is 21.5 GB. The second is a differential backup and is 3.5GB. The third is a full backukp and is 22.4 GB and the fourth is a differential backup and is 4.04 GB.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 8, 2008
  2. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    A separate partition is not necessary but a separate folder would help to keep things a little more organized. I would suggest you change the Explorer view of the where you keep the *.tib archival files. Once you have the folder open which contains your backup files, click on View option at the top of Explorer screen. Then click on details view. Then click on the Date Created column. This will toggle the sequence if you click it once or twice. I find it helpful to have the most recent at the bottom.

    Backup archives are simply files stored in a folder. Here is another example of how to store your backup files/sets on an internal or external drive.

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1070279&postcount=6

    Picture of my backup folders
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=193151&stc=1&d=1188786467

    Picture of my backup locations March 27
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=198860&d=1206669836


    Backups are created in sets. The full backup plus any differential or incremental should be kept in the same folder. You can delete excess differentials but you must maintain all incrementals. If you delete any old incrementals, all incrementals are worthless.

    If you create the backups manually, you should keep the original and any differential or incrementals in a single folder. I have listed some attachments of how much folders appear.

    If you use the backup locations feature to control your backups, then you can keep them all in one folder as the program assigns names and maintains control based on your backup locations setup options.

    Create Backup locations instructions:
    Download the text file. Change the type or number of backups but the procedure is there.

    Create and Configure Backup Locations Incremental.txt by CatFan432
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=172470#13

    Actual download
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=189433&d=1177754188
    Vers 11 User Manual on Backup Locations
    Chapter 3.5 and Chapter 8
    Note particularly the last paragraph under Ch 3.5 Setting rules for backup locations which reads:
    "When creating a backup task, be sure to select the backup location from the Backup
    Locations list, near the top of the directory tree. Doing so will enable the above processing
    of backups. If you select a backup location as a normal folder, the processing will not be
    performed." ​
    -------------------------------------------------

    Also suggest you check your build number to make sure you have the latest version. You can obtain downloads from your personal registry page on the Acronis site.

    http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/my/updates/
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2008
  3. coodbe

    coodbe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    Thank you GroverH.
    I have decided to start a new folder every time I do a full backup. I am going to keep my subsequent differential backups in it. However I have a question. I have Acronis True Image Home, 11.0.0.8053. Is it necessary to go to "Manage Backup Locations and Archives" and establish a backup location in the newly created folder each time. It appears that it is necessary because it won't be seen in the "tree" unless this is done.
     
  4. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Setting up the BAckup location and rules is a one time deal. Once you have done it, then the backups become automatic and all backups created by this function will go into the one backup location folder.

    It is only the backups that you create manually that can be put create new folders each time. And, you can choose a mix of manual and automatic. The backup locations can do its thing and whenever you want something different, you can run the manuals.
     
  5. coodbe

    coodbe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    Yes, I followed you suggestions and have a "Image-backup" folder" and then sub folders. Each time I decide to do a manual full backup I start a new sub folder. Each sub folder consists of the full backup and its differential backups. I haven't done any automatic or scheduled backups. I usually only do a full backup after a defragmentation. I have XP and don't have any software that does "on the fly" deframenting.

    I might try an automatic backup but I have to find a time when I definitely will be off the computer and then remember to keep it on after I leave it. I only have 36 GB on the C drive to back up so a manual differential only takes a few minutes. The C drive is 160 GB. There isn't much need to do automatic backups. I installed a 500 GB second internal drive about six months ago. I have one DVD movie on it.

    When I first got Acronis I cloned the C drive which had just been restored to its original state. I put the clone in the computer and stored the original in another room.

    At any rate I understand that the my subsequent differential will be put in the designated folder until I change it manually. Your help was greatly appreciated. There is only so much I was able to learn from the manual.
     
  6. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    I'm glad you found the information helpful. All of us are still learning. I hope you are validating some of your backups or have tested whether they actually work.

    As I understand your situation, you have a another disk put away which is our system as it was originally. All of your current backup copies resides on your internal drives. Should you get a good jolt of electricity, bye bye to all your backups.

    I would consider buying another external; or at least create a new full disk backup but use the TI archive splitting and split the backup into DVD sized pieces (1492MB). After the backup, then you could copy'burn 3 files onto as many dvd blanks as needed.

    I do not like using DVD for backups but having them is better than having nothing.
     
  7. coodbe

    coodbe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    My backups are on two external drives. In case one external drive dies there is still another one. My second internal drive does not have backups on it. I am validating now. I assume you have to check the full backup as well as the differential backups.
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2008
  8. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Selecting any one of the backup files will cause TI to validate everything in that set (original + differentials) within the single sub-folder.

    I misunderstood your comment about the 500GB drive. Sorry about that.:)
     
  9. coodbe

    coodbe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    Good, that will save me a lot of time. Thank you again. After the verification is finished, it states "Operation completed successfully". I assume that means that the backup is validated.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.