Selected boot devise not available

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Lou_Dinunzio, Aug 19, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lou_Dinunzio

    Lou_Dinunzio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Posts:
    38
    Downloaded and installed TI 8 build 937 without a problem.
    Created new bootable rescue CD.
    When I try to boot from CD I get message "Selected boot device not available". Went into F2, all seems well there.
    Never had this problem over the past several updates.
    Where can I be going wrong?

    Thank You
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Lou_Dinunzio,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Could you please describe whether you tried to boot the computer with Acronis Bootable CDs created with previous builds or with Windows Installation CD? What was the result?

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  3. Lou_Dinunzio

    Lou_Dinunzio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Posts:
    38
    I did try to boot computer with Bootable CD from previous build with the same result.
    Also, uninstalled old version before installing v.937.
    Forgot that wasn't required.
    Thank you
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Lou_Dinunzio,

    Have you tried to boot this computer with any bootable CD successfully? For example, have you tried to boot it with Windows Installation CD?

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  5. Lou_Dinunzio

    Lou_Dinunzio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Posts:
    38
    No, I have not
    I tried to boot with Dell Reinsallation CD with same message.
    "Selected boot devise not available".

    Thank You
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2005
  6. Lou_Dinunzio

    Lou_Dinunzio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Posts:
    38
    Update:

    Went into Recovery Console and did the following:
    CHKDSK /R
    FIXBOOT
    FIXMBR

    None of these solved the problem.

    Did F12. Did a "Hard drive Diagnostics"
    Drive 4 (CD-Rom) "No Device"

    How do I get the CD-Rom to see a bootable CD ??

    Help Help !!!

    Thank You
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Lou_Dinunzio,

    It seems that the problem is not connected with Acronis True Image 8.0 Bootable Rescue CD.

    Your PC just does not "see" the CD-ROM device on the startup.

    I recommend you to check the BIOS settings.

    Please also make sure that your CD-ROM device is recognized by both BIOS and Windows.

    If nothing helps then please contact your PC vendor for support.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  8. Lou_Dinunzio

    Lou_Dinunzio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Posts:
    38
    Acronis Support,

    My XP Home installation CD is bootable and working fine.
    I uninstalled TI 8 and reinstalled, burned a new bootable disk but that did not help.
    I check the BIOS settings, they are fine.

    Could the problem be in the TI 937 version?
    As I said, I never had this problem in previous versions.

    Thank You
     
  9. bobdat

    bobdat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Posts:
    316
    If that's your diagnostic result, you have a problem that is not related to TrueImage8.

    You need to find out why your system no longer recognizes your CD drive when running diagnostics. Check your BIOS setup screen (F2 on startup with my Dell's). You may find that it has been disabled as a boot device.

    Good luck.
     
  10. Lou_Dinunzio

    Lou_Dinunzio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Posts:
    38
    My system does recognize the WinXp installation CD but not the TI bootable CD. o_Oo_O??
    Thank You
     
  11. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Lou_Dinunzio,

    I believe that the problem can not be caused by the latest or any other build of Acronis True Image 8.0, since as you have posted above you are unable to boot from any other bootable CD as well.

    Please try to follow bobdat's instructions and inform us about the results.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.