Securityupdate KB912919

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by Robl, Jan 8, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Robl

    Robl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    I use Disk Director suite 10.00 to dual boot XP and Mandriva Linux. Automatic update installed the latest security patch-KB912919-,after which my pc would not boot at all-not even into the boot loader.Luckily I was able to use a rescue disk to boot straight into XP ,then I could remove the offending patch and disable automatic update.What a relief !
    Has anyone else experienced this problem,or are there any workarounds so I can still have the most up to date system security?
    Cheers,Robl
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Robl,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Partition and Disk Managing Software.

    Could you please clarify whether you have tried to detect and add to Acronis OS Selector your updated Mandriva Linux operating system using the Acronis Bootable Rescue CD?

    Please also describe the issue in more details. Have you received any error messages while booting your PC after update? Do you use the latest build (2089) of Acronis Disk Director Suite 10.0?

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
  3. Robl

    Robl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Kirill
    thanks for your reply.I have to come clean -I had not created a rescue disk-which is why I had to download a generic one from the net.I will now do so.
    Error messages-no- I did not get any of these.What happened was the XP update installed automatically.I ended my session and turned off my pc before rebooting the next day.Then I could not boot into the OS selector at all,it froze just before this stage,while it was trying to load the acronis OS selector.
    I purchased Disk Director suite-download version so I dont have a Cd to use as a boot disk.Also I dont know how to update the version I have and cant see any way of doing this.Also I dont know what the product serial number is-so I cannot register my product,which is a shame.By the way -i think its an excellent product,it works well and is easy to use
    Thanks
    Rob
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Rob,

    Please try to fix your hard drive's MBR as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    If this does not help then please create Acronis Report in the way described below:

    - Download and run Acronis Report Utility;
    - Select the "Create Bootable Floppy" option;
    - Insert a blank floppy disk in the A: drive and proceed with creation of the bootable floppy;
    - Boot the computer from this diskette and wait for report creation process to finish;
    - Collect the report file from the floppy.

    Please submit a request for technical support. Attach the collected report.txt file to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.