Security Zone cool tip

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by JacK, Nov 3, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JacK

    JacK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Belgium -Li?ge
    Hello,

    Ad one more Security Zone for IE and configure it according to yours security needs :

    For Current user :

    Copy/paste in notepad and save it as for instance "HKCU_Zone_Securite_Poste_De_Travail.reg" :

    -----begin-----
    REGEDIT4

    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\Zones\0]
    "Flags"=dword:00000001
    ------end-------
    Or for all users :

    Save this as "HKLM_Zone_Securite_Poste_De_Travail.reg" for instance :
    ----begin-----
    REGEDIT4

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\Zones\0]
    "Flags"=dword:00000001
    ----end-----

    You now have a perfect control :)

    Rgds, :cool:
     
  2. Bethrezen

    Bethrezen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Posts:
    546
    hi jack

    addin a new security zone to ie sounds kinda cool

    could you explain that a lil more simpley ??

    noob friendley explanation requiered as im not sure what ya talkin about could ya also be a lil more detailed as well please

    thanks
     
  3. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,875
    Location:
    New England
    Hi Bethrezen,

    Using JacK's tip "reveals" the previously hidden "My Computer" Zone, which can then be customized using the IE Internet Options > Security tab. See screen shot.

    You need to exercise a little caution in restricting the settings in there if only because Windows uses things like ActiveX locally on your computer for various support functions. If you were to customize the My Computer Zone and say set all the ActiveX options to disabled, you might have difficulty running some local Windows utilities.

    But, it can be interesting playing around with those functions and seeing what you can do with them. But, you may want to make note of the defaults before you start changing them, in case you want to change them back.

    Have fun,
    LowWaterMark
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Bethrezen

    Bethrezen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Posts:
    546
    hi

    thanks for ya responce

    which os is this for ??
     
  5. JacK

    JacK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Belgium -Li?ge
    Hello,

    IE4 and above.
    Rgds,

    JacK
     
  6. Bethrezen

    Bethrezen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Posts:
    546
    hi

    thanks for the reply just one more thing could ya give some more detailed noob friendley instructions

    coz the instructions ya gave are a lil hard to understand
     
  7. JacK

    JacK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Belgium -Li?ge
    Hi ;)

    By default, the security level is set on High, you may let it so.

    Rgds,

    JacK
     
  8. controler

    controler Guest

    Thanks for making us aware of this Jack :)

    http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/vbs.jdv.b.html




    You are prompted to save or open a file from your local computer, even if you disable
    downloads?

    http://www.jsifaq.com/SUBJ/tip4700/rh4780.htm


    http://www.jsiinc.com/SUBL/tip5500/rh5547.htm


    Topic: Executing arbitrary commands without Active Scripting or ActiveX.


    http://sec.greymagic.com/adv/gm001-ie/
    http://www.securitytracker.com/alerts/2002/Mar/1003725.html


    The Register: Article

    http://www.theregister.co.uk/content/archive/24274.html
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.