Security update available for Adobe Flash Player

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by ronjor, Mar 21, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,768
    Location:
    Texas
    http://www.adobe.com/support/security/bulletins/apsb11-02.html
     
  2. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Old news.. Isn't the newest stable version 10.2.152.32?
     
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,768
    Location:
    Texas
  4. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Outer space
  5. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,768
    Location:
    Texas
    At any rate, go to the link to get the latest version. http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/ :D
     
  6. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    This new version, as it has been published by Adobe, removes the option to change flash player settings via an URL link in the the browser settings. Those flash player settings should now be part of the browser itself.

    But, where the heck is it? I'm running Chromium, by the way.

    -edit-

    Never mind, it's not this version yet. lol
     
  7. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
  8. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Yeah, thanks for the 'heads up' Ron. :thumb:
     
  9. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    What is the difference between getting from macromedia.com and adobe?
    Are they part of same company?
     
  10. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Adobe acquired Macromedia a few years ago.
     
  11. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,956
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  12. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Sorry folks thanks, yes I've seen that now. Just getting a little confused with
    different links available. Think really what I wondered was whether there was
    any difference in file dloaded from each location as regards "slimness"?
    Thanks very much.
     
  13. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
  14. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    macromedia.com redirects to adobe.com
     
  15. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
  16. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Bo's link also doesn't include Adobe DLM or any other junk.
     
  17. Carbonyl

    Carbonyl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Posts:
    256
    Can anyone please verify the MD5 hash on NPSWF32.dll? The file I'm getting has the very suspicious quality of having a 'Modified on' date of Tomorrow.

    The MD5 I'm seeing is: f04ed4e1b779a5e4e45fc1130a314044
     
  18. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,853
    Indeed, you're thinking of the 10.3 beta which has it in the Windows control panel. Now should one downgrade because of this exploit or wait it out?
     
  19. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    I have the same MD5 hash, but modified ~6 hours ago today
     
  20. Carbonyl

    Carbonyl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Posts:
    256
    Hrm. Grabbed another copy from the links above, and I'm seeing more normal behavior now. Must've been a fluke. Thanks for the verification!
     
  21. sbseven

    sbseven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Posts:
    140
    Downloading from Firefox, the main -http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/ link hasn't included the DLM or any crap for quite a few versions now...
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.