security in ubuntu

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by The Red Moon, Jun 6, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. The Red Moon

The Red Moon Registered Member

hi
    Im new to ubuntu os and im currently running it in oracle virtualbox.
    What security measures do i need if any.av firewall etc.
    Kind regards.o_O

2. Ranget

Ranget Registered Member

here some Guide to Help you in your quest

-https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Security-

3. Hungry Man

Hungry Man Registered Member

By default Ubuntu is more secure than Windows. If you configure it to use AppArmor you'll be in very good shape.

4. guest

guest Guest

Technically? How so? I think Windows (latest) is more secure by default, unless you take into account security through obscurity/minority.

5. vasa1

vasa1 Registered Member

Obscurity + minority + security on my wallet. Updates to the OS are free.

6. Mrkvonic

Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

You question someone's statement by a counter-opinion "I think"?

And you're too focused on what you want to say than reading.

It says - by default - so yes, Linux with the normal user mode vs. Windows admin mode is more secure. And I don't want to talk about code portability, market share, services, mitigation technologies, etc, as they are truly irrelevant.

By default, the Linux configuration allows for fewer non-deliberate mistakes by users, hence, it has more non-deterministic security.

Mrk

7. guest

guest Guest

"fewer non-deliberate mistakes"? Elaborate please.

8. elapsed

elapsed Registered Member

It's a known fact that Linux is more secure by default. Windows is configured for ease-of-use by default, on purpose. Microsoft will take advantage of security wherever possible when it doesn't affect ease-of-use in a big way, for example, anti-exploit technologies like ASLR.