Securing My Laptop

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by raj_aditya, Oct 10, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. raj_aditya

    raj_aditya Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    India
    Hi,

    I am new to computer and internet security. I did participate in few discussion many months ago but still then i am completely novice in this area.

    I have a HP laptop with Windows 7 Basic edition installed in it.

    I have

    1) Norton Internet Security Suit 2012
    2) Zemmana Anti Logger
    3) Comodo Free Firewall.

    I want to secure my laptop against internet attacks, hackings, phishing etc. In short i want to secure myself against all types of internet and system abuses.

    Please suggest what products should i use?

    Regards,
    Raj
     
  2. raj_aditya

    raj_aditya Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    India
    I would also like to know about a product that would provide me real protection against password hacking. I guess some of my email accounts, Facebook accounts password have been compromised.

    Are there any software that will help me to protect my password or encrypt them all time.

    Kindly suggest.
     
  3. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    Hope your not running two firewalls there raj.?
    I notice you have NIS 2012 which has a firewall.
    Just an observation.:blink:
     
  4. pajenn

    pajenn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Posts:
    930
    Take a look at KeyScrambler: http://www.qfxsoftware.com/ks-windows/which-keyscrambler.htm

    The personal edition (free) scrambles what you type in firefox and internet explorer so spyware that tries to monitor your key strokes for passwords will fail. For more protection (other browsers and windows applications) you need the professional or premium edition. I like this app because it adds no noticeable slowdown to my browsing or computer use.
     
  5. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    It looks like he has Zemana Anti-Logger so that is not necessary.
     
  6. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    1,438
    He could install ZA Anti-Virus with Firewall, OA Free for use as HIPS so he gets AV BB + OA HIPS. A pretty strong combo. EMET and ExploitShield will secure the rest. :thumb:

    For immunization, K-9 Web Filter, M86Secure Web Browsing, BitDefenderTL, Peerblock and Spyware Blaster - with custom blocklist.

    Makes for a hardened system.
     
  7. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Yes but then he would have two firewalls.... You know we can't have that.
     
  8. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    1,438
    You can turn off the firewall in OA Free and just run it as HIPS. An application firewall like Peerblock has no conflicts with a standard firewall.
     
  9. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Yeah but won't the drivers conflict still even if you turn them off?
     
  10. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    1,438
    I haven't noticed any problems. You should never run two firewalls at the same time but you can run two different AV engines on a PC.
     
  11. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    Personally i would keep the OA firewall turned on.I dont really see the point of peerblock at all.Waste of extra resources in my opinion.:ninja:
     
  12. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    The way i see keyscrambler is this:If you need keyscrambler then you need to look at your main security program again.In my opinion it has already failed you if a anti keylogger is needed.:thumb:
     
  13. pajenn

    pajenn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Posts:
    930
    well let's not pretend main security programs are beyond compromise. keyscrambler just adds another layer of defense in case something made it through, in my case, Comodo Internet Security. And since it doesn't slow down my system to any discernible extent or conflict with other programs, I'm happy to keep it running. Just a little extra peace of mind.
     
  14. pajenn

    pajenn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Posts:
    930
    I'm pretty sure Zemana does not scramble your keystrokes. It should protect against keyloggers, but I think it uses a different mechanism, maybe by trying to detect keylogger signatures. In any case, he asked for more protection against password hacking, so KeyScrambler seemed like one potential solution.
     
  15. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    I cant forsee anything getting past comodo somehow.:thumb:
     
  16. raj_aditya

    raj_aditya Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    India
    Yes i have Comodo Free FW and Norton Internet Security's FW active in my system.

    Which one should i keep active and which one should i disable?

    Please suggest.
     
  17. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,125
    Disabling won't be enough; the drivers are still active and there will be conflicts. You should uninstall one of them.
    Comodo is more effective.

    If some of your passwords were compromised, start by creating new (strong) ones. You can use programs like KeePass or LastPass.
     
  18. raj_aditya

    raj_aditya Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    India
    My norton firewall is a part of Norton Internet Security Suit. How do i uninstall a component from a suit?

    Also i was trying to download M86 Secue Browsing's exe and Norton IS Suit is deleting it as it interprets it as a threat.
     
  19. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    I dont think you can actually uninstall the firewall component in norton.
    You can however simply turn it off within the program but then you could disable the network driver in task manager and in the hidden section.
    If it was up to me i think i would stick with norton even though comodo is a far better firewall.:blink:
     
  20. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,125
    What I meen is to uninstall the whole suite.
    Also M86 is far from beeing the best of programs.

    Keep Comodo, install a free AV like Avira or AVG, install WOT in your browser.
    You won't need Zemana because Comodo already has an anti-keylogger.
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2012
  21. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    I would not use avast with the comodo firewall at the moment.avast web shield is causing blocked programs to be able to connect to the internet.:eek:
    Unless the new version 6 has solved the problem of course.
    Just a little word of caution there.:thumb:
     
  22. Sm3K3R

    Sm3K3R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Posts:
    494
    It s not a Comodo issue.
    I could observe the same using Tinywall and Avast with web shield installed.Peerblock would update like no firewall was installed for example.

    On the other hand under XP Avast coexists with some Outpost version just fine.In that scenario i only installed the script shield ,real time shield and behavior shield and no bypasses were observed.
    Maybe Avast is ok if you don t install all the stuff :)

    Otherwise Avast seems to be connected to the "Fatherland" permanently ,in a Online Armor + Avast combination ,under W7 32 bit ,the firewall would show a persistent connection to a Germany server .I guess German servers are cheap as most of the security software updates come from there.
     
  23. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,125
    Thanks for the heads up, I forgot about that. I'll edit my post.
     
  24. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,125
    Avast is not based in Germany. It has offices there, Austria and the U.S. but it's headquartered in Prague.
     
  25. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    IMO I would uninstall comodo and keep norton,even though comodo has a strong firewall norton has a far better AntiVirus component with a firewall or Use Norton AntiVirus only with the Comodo firewall with Defense+ and dont install comodo Antivirus.

    General rules is to never use two real time Antivirus or two firewalls at the same time do to conflict.

    I would also suggest adding Norton DNS and pick the setting that best meets your needs. https://dns.norton.com/dnsweb/homePage.do
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.