SecureAPlus Freemium

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by sinlam, Jul 24, 2013.

  1. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,142
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi all

    SecureAPlus 5.3.2 is out now

    https://www.secureaplus.com/download/release-notes/

    https://www.secureaplus.com/download/download-thank-you/

    With best Regards
    Mops21
     
  2. lucd

    lucd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Posts:
    263
    Location:
    Island of Woman
    @hendy can you expand a little more on offline antivirus engine that based on deep learning = APEX? Deep learning (DL) as a subfield of Machine Learning (ML) is used against malware specifically crafted at a target due to its unique features (imagine a company being hacked by a group who knows what kind of penetration they want to perform), against any other you use ML, since its trained on telemetry samples big data. With Deep Learning you train on 1 sample. This is what Kaspersky does now and they mix both schools. Giving some technical insight would be great
     
  3. hendy

    hendy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Posts:
    261
    We do not have an equivalent to Kaspersky's ExNet; instead, the APEX engine caters more towards the latter use case. Using big data, we are able to develop an AI engine that learns to identify patterns characteristic to malware during the training process. The main advantage of APEX is able to catch malware variants and mutants which have not been previously seen in the wild, providing anti-malware coverage even while offline.
     
  4. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,142
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi all

    SecureAPlus 5.3.5 is out now

    https://secureaplusforum.secureage.com/index.php/topic,443.0.html

    https://www.secureaplus.com/download/release-notes/

    https://www.secureaplus.com/download/download-thank-you/

    With best Regards
    Mops21
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2019
  5. lucd

    lucd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Posts:
    263
    Location:
    Island of Woman
    so this AV solution has advanced memory scanning protection? I wonder why its so good vs fileless malware according to some AV tests I saw, an outlier among many others.
    probably not thanks to whitelisting, unless they block processes from running in c: and system folders or just block powershell 100% .. are you particularly focused on fileless malware or something, why is this so performant.
     
  6. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,142
    Location:
    Germany
  7. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,142
    Location:
    Germany
  8. GrDukeMalden

    GrDukeMalden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Posts:
    214
    Location:
    VPN city
    Question, to anyone who can answer: How does SecureAPlus typically fair against new builds of commonly seen fileless malware?
     
  9. GrDukeMalden

    GrDukeMalden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Posts:
    214
    Location:
    VPN city
    So it's an extra layer against polymorphous malware? Also...

    Awhile back now, Piriform, the makers of Ccleaner, got hacked and unknowingly distributed malware for months.

    What would Apex be able to do against a hacked version of an otherwise legit application? I guess as long as the malware in question is similar enough to something that's already known, it would catch the hacked version of the legit software, right?
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2019
  10. lucd

    lucd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Posts:
    263
    Location:
    Island of Woman
    ML or even CNN are not able to build fast enough response against meta/poly or new code but definitely so-called AI helps catch malware, even some with low time of detection, I can see an increase of observed positive tests unless data is fabricated. I mean Sophos intercep X is performing great, SecureAPlus also great against fileless tests. I think new technology is always partially a hoax, but something works. Its like with nvidia and ray tracing
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2019
  11. GrDukeMalden

    GrDukeMalden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Posts:
    214
    Location:
    VPN city
    Those two acronyms are new to me, what do they mean?
     
  12. GrDukeMalden

    GrDukeMalden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Posts:
    214
    Location:
    VPN city
    First thing I changed to bold: That's what a big data machine learning AI antivirus is for. It's constantly being fed information about newly discovered malware and legit software. With some deductive reasoning, you can imagine part of the algorithm that it runs on factors in how many of the other databases that SecureAge uses also detect it. And then from those detections by other databases, you figure out that if the malware is polymorphous, the code it's made of should be similar to older versions of that same malware.

    Second thing I changed to bold: The problem is, you can't really find fileless malware easily, unless you're the IT guy at a huge business that constantly receives fileless malware in emails.
     
  13. lucd

    lucd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Posts:
    263
    Location:
    Island of Woman
    I see poly as a inter-changeable feature rather than specific malware. You can build more evasive methods on top of it. to quote just 1. Panda: "Half of cyberattacks carried out in 2019 using malware will use some kind of encryption, while by 2020, the figure is set to rise to 70%". Now add junk instructions, packers, code obfuscation, control and data flow obfuscation and automated decisions
    On Sophos they advertised deep learning being superior, even quoted some research. That is for the reasons you posted, man selects samples (in ML). There are some tests for fileless. Other Av failed while SAP excelled. They can build response in 6 hours with Convolutional neutral Network, at Avast. Maybe you can find more on it. Its a race on technology, with tons of marketing (have you seen them critisizing? AI sucks at many things and in many scenarios ) . Its like everyone does AI in data science while pure statistics are sometimes the right choice. I would never rely on so-called AI alone, if you are not in a VM, with tons of smart rules, antiloggers and firewalls you're in the dust imo. It just takes one mistake from AI and you are compromised, 90 or 99.99 Av score make no difference to me. On paper they improved detection ratio, although av tests are bullshido: no relevant info on samples is the first problem. It is not science. Google did great at spam. AI is best at it but its also because of the compute power that an AV company can dream of. Old methods play crucial role and do still work. That is why mixed approaches like SAP are interesting
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2019
  14. GrDukeMalden

    GrDukeMalden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Posts:
    214
    Location:
    VPN city
    I think that's why SecureAge started their focus on a proper whitelisting application first. Making an effective whitelisting application is easy, making an effective M.L. A.I. based antivirus engine is another story. They had their users volunteer to beta test it for a whole year before they felt it was ready for a stable release. They awarded points for every unknown EXE submitted to them while they were beta testing.
     
  15. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,142
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi all

    SecureAPlus 5.3.7 is out now

    https://secureaplusforum.secureage.com/index.php/topic,445.0.html

    https://www.secureaplus.com/download/release-notes/

    https://www.secureaplus.com/download/download-thank-you/

    With best Regards
    Mops21
     
  16. GrDukeMalden

    GrDukeMalden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Posts:
    214
    Location:
    VPN city
    Fun fact, SecureAPlus is still compatible with windows XP. You just need all of the updates for it.
     
  17. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,142
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi all

    SecureAPlus 5.3.8 is out now

    https://www.secureaplus.com/download/release-notes/

    https://www.secureaplus.com/download/download-thank-you/

    With best Regards
    Mops21
     
  18. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,771
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I would be interested in buying/using SAP Premium, but only as an on-demand security app. That is, I would want to use it only for:
    1) Periodic on-demand scans
    AND
    2) Real-time patrolling only during those times when I am either (a) downloading OR (b) installing new software OR (c) on those rare occasions when I surf the web in a :eek: devil-may-care exploratory mode.

    ===>QUESTION: Is it possible to EASILY switch SAP to on-demand mode -- that is, can SAP's real-time aspects be easily turned on & off?
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2019
  19. GrDukeMalden

    GrDukeMalden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Posts:
    214
    Location:
    VPN city
    You can easily turn off S.A.P.'s antivirus components in the "app settings">"Universal AV">"Scan Settings".
    Although I would personally recommend leaving all that on.

    Just go into the whitelisting settings. change it to the "name and thumbprint in the trusted certificate list" setting and then keep it in silent mode. (right click the tray icon for that)

    If something you want to install gets blocked, switch it to "normal mode" and then upload/rescan the file to/in the cloud and check the virus total rating on it too.

    Make your next decision based on the ratings you get from the results of those two things and then when the install is done, switch it back to silent mode.
     
  20. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,771
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Thanks! I shall have a go at it in the next day or two.
     
  21. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,142
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi all

    SecureAPlus 5.4.0 is out now

    With best Regards
    Mops21
     
  22. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,771
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I installed SAP version 5.4.0 then waited patiently while it did a very lengthy Full System Scan. When that finally finished, I received the message, "Your computer is free from malware!" And then... nothing.

    Except for the flying saucer twirling its batons, the grossly oversized GUI enabled me to do absolutely nothing except initiate another unnecessary Full System Scan. There were no settings. Nothing. Thus I could not view what had been whitelisted. I could not disable Real-time scanning. I could not have a say as to what takes place if SAP discovers a possible nasty. NOTHING! Plus, there is no visible way to remove an executable from SAP's invisible whitelist.

    Also, I used the context menu to cause SAP to scan a file (it was the setup file for K7 Antivirus). SAP began an upload of that file. After 3+ minutes, it showed upload progress of merely 7% so I terminated the scan. Why so slow?

    My conclusion: if SAP doesn't need me, I do not need SAP.
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2019
  23. harlan4096

    harlan4096 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Posts:
    185
    Location:
    Almería (Spain)
    You can, just check Settings carefully... I'm performing some malware tests at MWTips this month with SAP (only using APEX + WhiteListing), You can disable Universal AV real-time scanning, and even APEX real-time scanning (I do it to perform the on demand scan in every test)...
     
  24. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,771
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Please read my post again. There is NO CLICK SPOT for settings on SAP 5.4.0. , file version 5.3.2.1. The absence of any live click spots on SAP's GUI is the main point of my post.
     
  25. harlan4096

    harlan4096 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Posts:
    185
    Location:
    Almería (Spain)
    If You are having those issues probably there are something incompatible or wrong in Your system or or is not in good condition...
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.