SecureAPlus Freemium

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by sinlam, Jul 24, 2013.

  1. hendy

    hendy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Posts:
    265
    SecureAPlus v4.8.0

    What's new:
    - ClamAV version 0.99.3
    - Password protection for SecureAPlus settings.
    - QR Code for SecureAPlus ID

    Bugs fixed:
    - Fixed "File index service is not ready" issue in the Universal AV scanning.

    Modifications:
    - Take disk and CPU usage as consideration before starting Universal AV auto full system scan upon boot-up. Universal AV will wait until the disk and CPU usage low enough before starts its auto full system scan after boot-up. Previously only CPU usage was used as the parameter.
     
  2. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,955
    I have updated to the latest version, the other day.... This was from version v4.7.7, after updating to v4.7.8, but then reverting because of the ""File index service is not ready" issue"", which seems to be fixed in v4.8.0. :)

    SecureAplus_v4.8.0_update_03.JPG

    But, I have just noticed a excess CPU though, which wasn't there before when running SAP.

    SAP_excess CPU usage_01.JPG
     
  3. hendy

    hendy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Posts:
    265
    When you have "File index service is not ready" issue, that means somehow the primary file indexer engine that we used was not working properly.
    In version 4.8.0 we introduce a new file indexing engine as a secondary engine to backup the primary file indexer engine. If the primary engine does not work, the secondary engine will take over.
    The secondary engine may take more CPU resources compare to the primary engine, especially if it is indexing for the first time. After the initial indexing is completed, the subsequent indexing should take lower resources.
     
  4. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,955
    I just checked, and it is still using too much CPU resources. I wonder what is causing it.

    SAP_excess CPU usage_02.JPG
     
  5. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,955
    OK, I booted up earlier, and checked CPU resources. It was fine.

    SAP_CPU resource back to normal_01.JPG

    However, then I get that SAP graphic as can be seen, and that is when CPU resource usage increases and remains so until the next reboot. I am sure that it never did that before! :(

    SAP_excess CPU usage_03.JPG
     
  6. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,955
    I thought I would try something. So, I went into Search Windows > RUN > services.msc, and restarted "SecureAge UniversalAV Service".

    And, voilà, it went back to normal in CPU resource usage. Very strange!

    SAP_CPU resource back to normal_02.JPG
     
  7. hendy

    hendy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Posts:
    265
    The secondary file indexer tend to take more resources compare to the primary file indexer. When the service just started (e.g. when you restarted the service), we had tried to control this by waiting until the resources low enough before proceed. When it runs, it may still consume some resources, but we try to limit it so the system can remain responsive.
     
  8. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,955
    So, after every reboot will I have to restart the relevant service, when and after I get the popup - "Good News! No threats are found on your computer!"? A bit inconvenient, if that is required to do, to tame CPU resources.
     
  9. hendy

    hendy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Posts:
    265
    I mean that you actually don't need to do anything on your side. By default we have tried to automatically tame the CPU resources, so that the system will remain responsive.
     
  10. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,236
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    I tried downloading it but the site seems to be down atm.
     
  11. Duxar

    Duxar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2016
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    Germany
    So, "only" 10 Antivirus Engines are left for Cloud scanning? :confused: When did this happen, and why?
     
  12. hendy

    hendy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Posts:
    265
    There are currently 11 engines in Universal AV. At the moment, there are some bugs with ClamWin so we have temporarily taken it down for fixing.
    We are also currently revamping and rotating our roster of AVs. Once this is done we should have 12 AVs running for Universal AV.
    For more information on the announcement please refer to the following post last month:
    https://www.secureaplus.com/quick-2018-update-universal-av-engines/
     
  13. hendy

    hendy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Posts:
    265
    SecureAPlus version 4.8.1

    Bugs fixed:
    - When asking for permission to upload files, Yes and No buttons are not translated to foreign language.
    - If ClamAV engine failed to run, turn off and turn on Offline Antivirus settings, does not restart the engine.

    Modifications:
    - When SecureAPlus server is redirected to SecureAge Management Server, the download file for software update will follow the port that was set. In the previous version only the standard https port is supported.
    - Change edit box context menu color, for selected text, the text color is changed from white to black, and the background is set to blue.
    - When the computer is just rebooted, stop updating Security Center if SecureAPlus detects that it has been registered in the Security Center.
    - Do not prompt "Would you like to refresh the engines now?" when SecureAPlus detected there is any changes on the list of Universal AV engines at the server.
    - When one of the checked item is unckecked, the select/unselect all checkbox will also be unchecked.
    - The number of the total engine is shown based on the number of the total active engines used at the server.

    What's new:
    - Show the detail list of unknown and uploaded files in the manual scanner.
     
  14. hendy

    hendy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Posts:
    265
    SecureAPlus v4.8.2

    Bugs fixed:
    - .ini file can be copied to the USB Flash Drive, where the write access is disabled from the Application Whitelisting for removable device.
    - When Game Mode is enabled, and upload to Universal AV is disabled, switching from full screen to normal screen will cause upload to Universal AV re-enabled by itself.
    - Unable to get file name information on a certain shared folder.

    Modifications:
    - Remove minimized button from application whitelisting notification.
    - During SecureAPlus installation, do not wait until the registration to the Security Center completed.

    What's new:
    - Merge offline antivirus scan result with Universal AV when doing manual scanning.
    - ClamAV version 0.100.0 for Windows Vista or higher. Windows XP is no longer supported in the latest version of ClamAV.
    For XP users, ClamAV version 0.99.3 will be installed.
     
  15. hendy

    hendy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Posts:
    265
    SecureAPlus v4.9.0

    Some users reported that SecureAPlus dialogs look too big when display in the very high resolution. In this version we introduce a new feature that allow user to set custom scaling for SecureAPlus dialogs.

    Here are the details of the changes in this version.
    Bugs fixed:
    - Typo in software update.
    - Using Asteroid Belt theme, the text was not visible when prompting to scan USB flash drive.
    - Antivirus service crashed when scan.db file was corrupted.
    - Memory overrun in sanotifier.exe that sometimes caused sanotifier.exe crashed.
    - Set process as trusted installer on-the-fly, does not permanently set the process file as a trusted installer.
    - Some Polish text doesn't appear correctly during uninstallation.
    - In some machines, sometimes the registration as antivirus failed.

    Modifications:
    - Restore minimize button in the application whitelisting notification.
    - When 2 USB storage devices are inserted at the same time, there will be 2 prompting to scan the USB device shown at the same time too.
    Modify this to show the prompting one by one, one after another.

    What's new:
    - SecureAPlus uninstaller icon
    - When importing whitelist during installation, give a warning to let the user know that the system may not be boot up anymore if the whitelist is not coming from the exactly identical machine.
    - Browse themes.
    - Custom scaling.
    - Non-blocking upload file to Universal AV, for Application Whitelisting prompting.
    - Added certutil.exe into restricted application list.
    - German translation
    - Polish translation
    - Traditional and simplified Chinese translation
     
  16. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,337
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi all

    I ask Hendy from the SecureAPlus Team this question

    And have you any infos for SecureAPlus 5 Version available when yes when can the test or sign in for the beta test. I will test when the Public Beta Version comes out

    And here is the answer of it

    We are planning to launch Beta program for SecureAPlus version 5 probably late of June or early July.
    We will publicly announce when everything is ready, including how to sign up to the beta test program.

    With best Regards
    Mops21
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2018
  17. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,337
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi all

    SecureAPlus v4.9.1 is released

    No Changelog yet

    https://www.secureaplus.com/download/release-notes/

    https://www.secureaplus.com/download/download-thank-you/

    With best Regards
    Mops21
     
  18. Smiggy

    Smiggy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Posts:
    237
    Location:
    The Angel Isle
    Giveaway of the Day
    SecureAPlus Premium 4.9.0

    SecureAPlus is a security software that protects PCs from malware and viruses with its powerful but easy to use Application Whitelisting, and reliable detection rates of more than 10 cloud Anti-Virus engines with Universal AV. It leverages the power of the cloud allowing for low resources used and compatibility with other installed anti-virus and anti-malware applications making it the perfect security upgrade for any Windows PC.

    Note: the program includes a two year license!
    You can take a look at the short registration instruction here
     
  19. hendy

    hendy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Posts:
    265
    SecureAPlus v4.9.2

    We found bugs that caused some of SecureAPlus v4.9.0 components crash when run in XP, Vista, or 32-bit OS.

    Here are the detail of the changes for this version:
    Bugs fixed:
    - saappctl.sys and sascan.sys crash in XP and Vista
    - sanotifier.exe crash in 32-bit OS. Some users may see the following error message: The procedure entry point ... could not be located in dynamic link library ...

    Modifications:
    - Resize sascanner dialog to fit 4 lines error code in lower resolution ( 1024x768 ).
    - Maximum custom scale is set to 200.
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2018
  20. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,337
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi

    And you have forgot to post this

    Yesterday we temporary released version 4.9.1 to revert back some of effected components.

    See the malwaretips Thread

    https://malwaretips.com/threads/secureaplus-freemium-updates.17236/page-22#post-739454

    With best Regards
    Mops21
     
  21. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,337
    Location:
    Germany
  22. mekelek

    mekelek Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Posts:
    518
    Location:
    Hungary
    looking forward to beta testing it, it's a good direction to go.
     
  23. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,955
    Just did their survey. :)

    SAP_Apex Deep Learning_Pre-Beta Phase One Survey.JPG
     
  24. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,095
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Sounds interesting, especially the part about APEX not needing the cloud, it only uses Machine Learning! I hope this will become the future, then I will definitely start using AV's again. It would eliminate the privacy risks.
     
  25. mekelek

    mekelek Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Posts:
    518
    Location:
    Hungary
    they're going to implement it into SAP probably to complement/replace the cloud sigs
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.