SecureAPlus Freemium

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by sinlam, Jul 24, 2013.

  1. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,767
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi all

    SecureAPlus version 4.5.2 is out now
    With best Regards
    Mops21
     
  2. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,429
    I updated to v4.5.2 without a hitch. :thumb:
     
  3. hendy

    hendy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Posts:
    218
    Thank you for informing us, Tarnak :thumb:
     
  4. _CyberGhosT_

    _CyberGhosT_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    MalwareTips "Your Security Advisor"
    @hendy
    I noticed the lack of the ability to schedule scans with SAP, if one was inclined to purchase the Premium,
    would they then be able to schedule scans ? or is this option missing completely from SAP, along with the
    option to password protect it's settings.
     
  5. hendy

    hendy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Posts:
    218
    Currently we don't have an option to schedule the scans. Actually your idea to allow Premium users to schedule Universal AV scans make sense. I will discuss this with my team.
    For password protect settings, it is in our development pipe line.
     
  6. _CyberGhosT_

    _CyberGhosT_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    MalwareTips "Your Security Advisor"
    Thank You ;)
     
  7. hendy

    hendy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Posts:
    218
  8. ankupan

    ankupan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Posts:
    445
    Hi,

    is it replacing AV or working with as addon with AV?

    is it like Heimdal/Hitman Pro?

    Thanks
     
  9. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,473
    I would say add-on since the local Av is clamav
     
  10. truestampede

    truestampede Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Singapore
    Hey there angkupan! It really depends on personal preference. It could work as a standalone solution with the optional offline AV. Others already have an AV of their choice so just like lordraiden said, you can use SecureAPlus as an added layer of security since it adds Application Whitelisting to the table, simply disable the offline AV or install the version without it so it won't conflict with any existing AV. However, you don't have to worry about disabling Universal AV as that component will not be in conflict with an existing AV because it's based on the cloud.
     
  11. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,473
    I have tried it again and I still see a lot of concerns with privacy.
    Why it does it need to upload PDF and office files to the cloud? What is the purpose? It should intercept the just the payload.
    Why I can't exclude them?

    On top of that the detail of what is uploaded is only available in a txt log.

    You are breaking the GDPR law in EU https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/General_Data_Protection_Regulation
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2017
  12. hendy

    hendy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Posts:
    218
    We understand you concern about user privacy. By default, SecureAPlus only uploads executable files. In the manual scanner (right click, scan), document files are only uploaded with user permission. At the first time there will be a prompt to ask for user's permission to upload any type of files (https://support.secureaplus.com/how-to-do-file-folder-scanning/). If users accidentally allow this, they still can change their mind by choosing to upload only executable files or even not to upload any file at all (untick the upload option). Users also can exclude folder(s) (or even entire drive, e.g. C:\) for uploading by adding them into the exclusion list (https://support.secureaplus.com/how-do-i-exclude-folders-or-files-for-scanning/). I hope this clarify about the privacy issue.
     
  13. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,429
    I updated to v4.6.0 on my XP desktop, yesterday.

    This morning on my Surface Book, I got the notification that there was a new version, so I allowed the update and rebooted, as required.

    However, when I opened the GUI, I noticed that there was a problem: SecureAPlus service wasn't running. A reboot fixed that.
     
  14. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,429
    After accessing the GUI, > Info & Licenses > Diagnosis > Go to log locations, I wonder why I got access to two different locations for the logs.

    SAP_Diagnosis_go to log locations_01.JPG
     
  15. hendy

    hendy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Posts:
    218
    The logs are located at two separate locations. One is for the program that is running as SYSTEM account (such as drivers and services), they are located at C:\ProgramData\.... The other one is for applications that are running under user account, they are located at C:\Users\...
     
  16. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,473
    So SAP will show a pop up for every PDF and office file? I haven't seen any. Where is the option to upload only executables?
    I haven't seen any and still you can't exclude extensions.
     
  17. hendy

    hendy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Posts:
    218
  18. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,473
    What about the real time scanner?

    And exclude files and folders is not a solution to exclude extensions
     
  19. hendy

    hendy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Posts:
    218
    Real time scanner can be performed by offline AV and Universal AV. For Universal AV, for real-time scanning we do not upload the file. Our scanning for real-time is only based on hashes. The hashes will be checked against our virus signatures hashes in our cloud.
     
  20. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,473
    So if you don't have the hash of a file you don't upload it?
    Then your software is useless for 0 day malware
     
  21. hendy

    hendy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Posts:
    218
    For the real-time, we don't upload the file. For the daily full system scan, it will only upload executable files upon server request (when the server does not have the sample file).
    For 0 day malware, there where the Application Whitelisting comes. Application Whitelisting will prompt the user, and if Universal AV does not have the file, it will offer the user to upload it to the server.

    So the upload is not automatic. It requires the user consent to send the file to the server.
    upload_2017-4-20_15-34-57.png
     
  22. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,429
    I am posting this from my XP desktop, as my Surface Book is running a SAP Compact whitelist for the last seven hours. I don't want to cancel the operation, even though it has been running that long.

    At the moment I can't launch a browser on my Surface Book after I got an error warning from Voodooshield an hour or so ago.
     
  23. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,473
    I have unique office files for which you can't have a hash, I have done the full scan after installation and I have had it running for a couple of days and I haven't seen popups asking me for permission to upload any file.

    Why I haven't seen any popup yet? something is missing here...
     
  24. hendy

    hendy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Posts:
    218
    For full system scan, SecureAPlus is only targeting for executable files. It will not be able to scan any document files unless you do manual scan, and allow it to upload during manual scanning.

    If your document contains a harmful payload, and it try to run, the Application Whitelisting should prompt you. This is because Application Whitelisting works independently from virus scanning.
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2017
  25. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,473
    Ok understood, thanks.

    Have you though about adding other engines? Maybe Chinese engines would be good to cover that part of the globe