Secure connection failed. Certificate for my@email.address.com may not be valid

Discussion in 'encryption problems' started by WildarsNube, Jan 18, 2015.

1. WildarsNube

WildarsNube Registered Member

I've been using my email accounts for years from my iPod Touch. It is from my WiFi network at home. A few days ago, I got "Secure connection failed. The certificate for myEmail@server.address.com may not be valid. Cancel/continue". A google search indicates that this is a rampant problem encountered by iOS users. The solution seems to be to simply select Continue. I'm not a security expert, but from what I've read up on, it's not a good idea to proceed when certificates for the host do not match. Apparently, it opens up the communication to well known attacks.

Can anyone shed some light on what would cause this certificate error when things worked fine previously? And why exactly is the prevailing wisdom to proceed despite the error? The explanations I've seen are rare and very vague (something about domains and host names, but nothing convincing). I don't get such errors when accessing my email from other devices on the same home WiFi, e.g. Firefox from a Windows 7 machine.

P.S. In response to a reply on discussions.apple.com, I found that the time was one hour off, so I manually fixed that, but still experienced the same problem. Part of the confusion as to the problem might be the ambiguity about what is meant by "continue". If it means continue communicating with the server even though the certificate is wrong, that's bad. If it means continue with something else...I guess that would depend on what that something is.

As a further investigative step, I erased all accounts, erased all history/cookies//cache (which was the web-recommended way to remove certificates), and recreated one account. Same problem. (Looks like I better get a move on getting my Moto G working).

2. Carver

Carver Registered Member