Script Interpretor Error

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by 9overflow, Jun 13, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 9overflow

    9overflow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    Hello to everyone,
    i'm using Paragon Backup & Recovery 2012 to backup some PC to a network storage, sometimes (not always) popup an error message

    "Script Interpreter error - cannot open or create file" and i don't know why.. i have full permission but it still give this error.

    I try to save backup to a different location but is the same error.

    Any idea to fix it?

    THank you and sorry for my bad english..
     
  2. 9overflow

    9overflow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    Anyone have this issue?

    Paragon support don't gimme a reason or a possible fix yet
     
  3. goldrushtech

    goldrushtech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Posts:
    59
    Location:
    Greensborough, VIC, Australia
    I'm getting this error as well. Nothing in the logs, no more info. Any ideaso_O?
     
  4. Paragon_Matt

    Paragon_Matt Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Posts:
    399
    Just as an fyi, when you receive that error it means the software is unable to write to the destination, the network may have had an issue, the NAS could have gone offline. There are multiple reasons why it can occur, I would recommend making sure the systems aren't set to go to sleep and make sure the NAS device is set to a static IP, which could also be a cause.
     
  5. goldrushtech

    goldrushtech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Posts:
    59
    Location:
    Greensborough, VIC, Australia
    Thanks for the reply.

    Really weird. It's an external SATA drive that's got lots of space.

    I can write to it fine.
     
  6. Paragon_Matt

    Paragon_Matt Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Posts:
    399
    Are you sure it's "can't open/create" file? If so check the drive letter the Esata is attached with, and where you orginally put the image to backup to. If it is attached with a different drive letter that was different, you can receive that error as well.
     
  7. goldrushtech

    goldrushtech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Posts:
    59
    Location:
    Greensborough, VIC, Australia
    All that is good.

    Only thing I can think of is that my disk filled up so I deleted the week befores full backup and differential files. to make space, and that messed something up.
     
  8. goldrushtech

    goldrushtech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Posts:
    59
    Location:
    Greensborough, VIC, Australia
    I just deleted all the backups and started again. Simpler than mucking around, so will check in the morning.
     
  9. Paragon_Matt

    Paragon_Matt Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Posts:
    399
    Ok, and let me know if the disk is full that can cause that error as well, so that is actually another possibility, like I said there are many reasons you can get that error, but it basically means you can't write to the destination.
     
  10. goldrushtech

    goldrushtech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Posts:
    59
    Location:
    Greensborough, VIC, Australia
    I think it was because I deleted archive files directly off the disk rather than via the software. Started again and it's all working now. :)
     
  11. Paragon_Matt

    Paragon_Matt Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Posts:
    399
    If it continues to have issues please let me know, I will do what I can to assist you.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.