Screenshot Thread

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by Beavenburt, Feb 7, 2009.

  1. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Thanks for the feedback. I also used Nero in XP before moving to Linux. It was Nero 6 which was excellent. The later versions became increasingly bloated. I will stick with K3b as, apart from some minor niggles, it's free and does what I want. Would have probably switched to Nero Linux if it were gratis.
     
  2. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    98031
    Work machine:
     

    Attached Files:

  3. PRUHDG

    PRUHDG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Posts:
    77
    Having fun.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,137
    Slickness Black with vision black emerald theme and black and white gloss icons on my Karmic x64, quad core Phenom.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,204
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    I got my first AMD processor about a week ago. Not bad. I like it. Had always used Intel prior to this. I built it from NewEgg. Mine's an Athlon II X4 630 Propus quad core 2.8ghz Socket AM3. It runs real cool and quiet.

    One thing I don't like about a 64 bit system is flash sucks under it. My wife loves her Facebook flash games so naturally I searched high and low for a solution. Flash Player 64 bit works very poorly (if at all) and nspluginwrapper with flash 10.1 beta 3 works alright but her games are slow to react. I did find that a 32 bit Firefox runs fine within a 64 bit system. So far I'm not too impressed with 64 bit.

    Later...
     
  6. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,064
    For some strange reason adobe hasn't even created an alpha 64bit flash player for windows but strangely has for linux. Most browsers are 32bit so thats why adobe hasn't bothered to support 64bit browsers.
     
  7. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    8,003
    There is some kind of resistance to it on Adobe's part, which I don't really understand. If they put out an alpha for Win, I think you'd see more activity in x64 browser development...
     
  8. Kevin McAleavey

    Kevin McAleavey Security Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Posts:
    376
    Location:
    Upstate New York
    Nighttime, and in a dark red mood. :)

    Screenshot.png
     
  9. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,137
    Apart from Facebook games which run fine on FF but not on Opera, flash x64 rocks on my system, its generally faster and even in full screen, youtube movies play out very well. Phoronix did a benchmark recently and as suspected, flash x64 in Linux outperformed flash x32 counterparts in Linux and Windows.
     
  10. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,137
    Gimme blood.........red looks real nice and classy.
     
  11. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,204
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    Maybe I was a "little" harsh :cautious: ...libflashplayer x64 (version 10.0.45.2) does play some Facebook games nicely but not the ones my wife are most interested in...like YoVille, Social City, Farm Town, plus others. If Adobe would update their current 64 bit pre-release (10.0.45.2) to the functionality of 32 bit 10.1 beta 2 or 3 (which I consider to be the best flash players ever) my wife would be quite happy...which would mean I'm happy.

    And, if you're wondering...yes, I'm "hen-pecked"...but it ain't that bad really. ;).

    Later...
     
  12. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    He..he..he.. Trespasser your sense of humour rocks. I presume you only have one wife - imagine 3 (soon 4) like our President. :D
     
  13. Beavenburt

    Beavenburt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Posts:
    566
    Debian and openbox
     

    Attached Files:

  14. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,137
    Nice look, what theme are you using on Debian btw?
     
  15. Beavenburt

    Beavenburt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Posts:
    566
  16. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2010
  17. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,137
    Love that shot of the Mig.
     
  18. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    Not a MiG comrade but a Sukhoi Su-27 :-* I've the pleasure to see those things (almost) every day, wonderful machines.
     
  19. cet

    cet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Posts:
    876
    Location:
    Turkey/İzmir
    My lovely Kubuntu.I have to learn how to change image formats LOL.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,204
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    I like that wallpaper. Nice.
     
  21. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,137

    My mistake and shame on me for not recognizing the famous Flanker, the Indian Air Force flies the jointly developed Su 30 which I have seen at the air shows here doing the awesome Cobra maneuver. Its truly a formidable sight indeed and you are very lucky if you get to see these lovely machines on a daily basis.
     
  22. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,137
    That is a nice serene wallpaper, have you installed K Sensors to monitor your hardware btw?
     
  23. cet

    cet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Posts:
    876
    Location:
    Turkey/İzmir
    I downloaded the wallpaper from
    ht tp://kde-look.org/index.php?xsortmode=down&logpage=0&xcontentmode=4&page=1

    I do not know what K Sensors iso_O
     
  24. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,137
    In a terminal, sudo apt-get lm-sensors hddtemp ksensors

    There will be a blue screen popping up for hddtemp configuration, select yes for all.

    Then do a sudo sensors-detect and select yes for all the prompts and then you would have to hit enter twice as per instructions there.

    Reboot and start up Ksensors for hardware temp and voltages. You can add Ksensors to your startup so that it comes on next time you reboot.
     
  25. cet

    cet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Posts:
    876
    Location:
    Turkey/İzmir
    It says invalid command,but I found this program in the repositories and installed it but unfortunately there is no temp shown.
     

    Attached Files:

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.