Scheduling a Windows task with Drive Image.

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by babac, Oct 4, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. babac

    babac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Montr?al,Qc.Ca
    Hi everyone,
    I'm trying to schedule a backup task with Drive Image and I noticed it does not launch at all.
    The backup itself is an image of my C drive to my I drive.
    In the Run field of the task wizard ,I pasted the following command lines ,which are those needed to launch the scheduler,according to my understanding: "C:\Program Files\Runtime Software\DriveImage XML\dixml.exe"/bc /t''I:\Drive image Backup\drive_c''

    Obviously ,I miss something.
    Thank you.
     
  2. babac

    babac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Montr?al,Qc.Ca
  3. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,560
    What exactly is the problem?

    You cannot configure the scheduler or the schedule is not executed?

    If you do not have a password on your admin account the schedule will not run.
    If you have a password and still have a problem it could be related with the DOS names of the directories.

    Panagiotis
     
  4. babac

    babac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Montr?al,Qc.Ca
    Hi pandlouk,
    When I double click my bat file, The Drive Image software opens up but the scheduled task is not launched.
    Thank you for your interest.
     
  5. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,560
    Hmm, the destination folder is already created? Drive image will fail if the destination folder does not exist.

    Could you a post some images of the various steps?


    Panagiotis

    Edit:
    I found where is the problem. Change the command line to the following:
    "C:\Program Files\Runtime Software\DriveImage XML\dixml.exe" /bC /tI:\Drive image Backup\drive_c

    Now it should work fine. ;)
    The same as above but with the fast compression enabled
    "C:\Program Files\Runtime Software\DriveImage XML\dixml.exe" /bC /c1 /tI:\Drive image Backup\drive_c
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2008
  6. babac

    babac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Montr?al,Qc.Ca
    Re: Scheduling a Windows task with Drive Image.(Solved)

    Hi pandlouk,
    Just great .It works.
    Can you tell me how you came up with this solution.In Drive Image explanations,I do not see anything that mentions that.
    I'm intrigued, to say the least.
    Thank you so much.
     
  7. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,560
    Re: Scheduling a Windows task with Drive Image.(Solved)

    You are welcome :)

    Well... I did not use their command line example. I only took a look at their command line parameters and rebuild your task from scratch. :p

    Panagiotis
     
  8. babac

    babac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Montr?al,Qc.Ca
    Hi pandlouk,
    As far as I can see, the only thing you changed in my command line is adding
    c1, which simply activates the compression of the volume.
    I fail to understand how such an addition makes the scheduled task to find the path of the destination backup folder.
    Thank you.
     
  9. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,560
    You are wrong. the difference is the space added after the "dixml.exe"

    your command
    "C:\Program Files\Runtime Software\DriveImage XML\dixml.exe"/bc /t''I:\Drive image Backup\drive_c''
    the corrected one
    "C:\Program Files\Runtime Software\DriveImage XML\dixml.exe" /bC /tI:\Drive image Backup\drive_c

    Strangely on my system if I use /t"I:\Drive image Backup\drive_c" it will not find the path but if I use /tI:\Drive image Backup\drive_c it will... And what makes it more strange is that on another machine both commands work.
    Anyway stop wondering why something did not work and enjoy it now that it does. Programs always had and always will have bugs. Life is too sort to worry for these things too. ;)

    Panagiotis
     
  10. babac

    babac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Montr?al,Qc.Ca
    Hi pandlouk,
    By comparing both command lines ,I see more of a double slash difference than a space difference.
    Rest assured that I realize your command line is the right one since it works great for me.
    Thank you for your help and time .
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2008
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.