scheduled updates

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by aluminex, Apr 16, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aluminex

    aluminex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Posts:
    143
    Is there a way in the policy of a client to say:

    Do not update during hour a - b but check for updates every 60 min hours c - d?

    We need to schedule our updates after hours and we don't want all 3,000 clients to try and update at the same time... staggering would be better.
     
  2. aluminex

    aluminex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Posts:
    143
    I have discovered that our clients are attempting to update after being rebooted even if they aren't scheduled to update... How is this possible?
     
  3. rockshox

    rockshox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Posts:
    261
    I am not sure how it is possible. But I've noticed all my clients update on reboot also, regardless of the timing. Must be built into the kernel to check for an update on boot.
     
  4. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    It's actually quite simple. Advanced setup - Tools - Scheduler - Show system tasks. Then, go to scheduler. Voila :D
     
  5. aluminex

    aluminex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Posts:
    143

    I followed your instructions but I still don't see anything in my scheduler that would indicate an update on reboot.
     
  6. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    o_O :rolleyes:


    update at startup or on reboot is almost the same, isnt it o_O
     
  7. BFG

    BFG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    San Diego
    .
    Hello aluminex,

    The program's hourly update schedule is based on when it was lasted rebooted. After initially trying to update after booting up, the hour starts then for that machine and stays on that hourly schedule until the machine is shut down.

    As the machines on the network most likely weren't all started at the same time the update attempts are being staggered throughout each hour.

    BFG
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2010
  8. aluminex

    aluminex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Posts:
    143

    I don't have either enabled
     
  9. aluminex

    aluminex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Posts:
    143

    Okay I think you are misunderstanding.

    I want it turned off... I don't need certain selected clients to update every hour. I want those particular clients to update when I tell them to update.

    The rest of my clients can update on their randomly generated hourly schedule. I have removed said hourly schedule from certain clients but now those clients are still updating when I reboot them.
     
  10. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Automatic update can be disabled by unticking the two scheduled update task in Scheduler. There's no chance that update would be run with both tasks disabled. At any rate, I wouldn't recommend doing so as the purpose of automatic updates is to protect users against emerging threats and thus updates should be installed as soon as they are issued.
     
  11. aluminex

    aluminex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Posts:
    143

    #1 Should I provide screenshots? They are both unchecked and actually even set to deleted in my policy and are still updating on restart.

    #2 This isn't a preference it is a business requirement for these specific clients.
     
  12. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Yes, please provide a screenshot.
     
  13. aluminex

    aluminex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Posts:
    143
    Here ya go
     

    Attached Files:

  14. BFG

    BFG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    San Diego
    Hello aluminex,

    The clients might be updating when you told them to. As you mention that the machines are "booting up" I'm assuming the task you scheduled wasn't run and the machines didn't update.

    When that task isn't run you have to tell the program what to do about it. Either "Wait until the next scheduled time" or "Run the task as soon as possible"

    Choosing the 2nd would make the client try to update at boot up. Was that chosen?

    BFG
     
  15. aluminex

    aluminex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Posts:
    143
    The machines are always on unless there is an issue and they need to be rebooted.


    I have my clients scheduled to update @ 2:15AM and if failed try again @ 3:15AM
     
  16. BFG

    BFG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    San Diego
    Hi aluminex,

    Please include a screenshot of the window that shows the "if failed try again @ 3:15AM" instruction if you would.

    BFG
     
  17. aluminex

    aluminex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Posts:
    143
    Sorry it's actually 2AM and 3AM.

    I have more at 4AM and 5AM, 1AM and 2AM, etc... and they all have the same issue and they all check for an update on reboot regardless the time of day.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 3.jpg
      3.jpg
      File size:
      78.4 KB
      Views:
      1
  18. aluminex

    aluminex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Posts:
    143
    As you can see I have even flagged the all other updates as delete in an attempt to remove any updates except my 2AM update.
     
  19. BFG

    BFG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    San Diego
    Thank you for the screenshot.

    We'll try to reproduce your results but just a couple more questions.

    On the clients themselves, do the tasks show as you expect them to in their Schedule/Planner window?

    While at the client, does the Events log there show that the database updates by 2:05AM?

    BFG
     
  20. aluminex

    aluminex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Posts:
    143

    Yes the clients show the expected schedule and yes they do update when scheduled. They also update when not scheduled which is the issue.
     
  21. rockshox

    rockshox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Posts:
    261
    If you have a machine to test on. Try removing all "update" tasks and confirm if the machine checks in on reboot. I have suspicion that since you have an "update" task, it's tripping it to check in on reboot and also on the time schedule that you have setup (aka 2:15am).
     
  22. BFG

    BFG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    San Diego
    Although it wouldn't happen every time I booted back up, I can verify that this is true using v4.0. Update location didn't matter either. Both a mirror and ESET servers were the same.

    BFG
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.