Scheduled tasks within TI 9

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jeanm, Oct 31, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jeanm

    jeanm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Posts:
    47
    Location:
    France
    Hello,
    Due to some hard disk problem, i reinstalled Windows XP and TI 9.
    To avoid to reenter all scheduled backup task, i copied from a recent backup the folder: C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Acronis\TrueImage\Scripts.
    Unfortunatly all scheduled backup tasks are back, but the scheduled date and time is not recovered.
    Question:
    Where the schedule2.exe stores the backup tasks schedules o_O
    Many thanks for a quick answer
    Regards
    Jean
     
  2. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    I think it might be a registry entry somewhere. If it is, then it isn't under the Local_Machine_Software - so ti might be lurking somewhere in SYSTEM.

    I think the easiest thing to do is to edit the schedules with the correct time and date.

    Colin
     
  3. jeanm

    jeanm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Posts:
    47
    Location:
    France
    Thanks Bodgy for your answer,
    But... as i have 12 scheduled tasks imbricated every 3 weeks, (that means: each week, i have 1 full and 3 incremental with a wrap every 3 weeks), it is not easy to schedule the 12 tasks (i have to schedule the full and the 3 incrementals the 1st week (week 1), then wait one week, then schedule the second set of tasks for week 2 then wait 1 week, and schedule the 3rd set of tasks)(this is to be done only the first 3 weeks...).
    The best way would be to find where are located the scheduled data (task date and time); files?, registry keys (i tried to find them, but nothing)?.
    Hope to have an answer from TI....
    Regards.
     
  4. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    OK, I think this is how it works - try it one of your tib.tis files and see how you go (make a copy of it first :) ).

    Rename your tib.tis file to %filename%.tib.xml - this allows explorer or any other XML text program to open the file.

    Search for

    The X will be an entry number. The date and time is the date and time you first ran the schedule. This entry is under the ARCHIVE code section.

    Under the BACKUP section at the bottom of the script is
    The only problem here might be the source entry - which might now be different if you have a new hard drive. Obviously your backup location might not be 'G' and your description will be different to mine.

    Make the alterations and close it and rename the file back to tib.tis

    I don't have much hope in this - and as Acronis will tell you - 'We don't advise altering this file'

    Colin
     
  5. jeanm

    jeanm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Posts:
    47
    Location:
    France
    Hello Bodgy, nice to read you again.
    I did not find any date in the *.tis file (opened with UltraEdit).
    Also i dont see the relation between the "entry number" and the "Archive" section....
    I did not find any différence (for the same *.tis) between two different backup.
    Where is located my schedule for "Monday, every 3 weeks, time 9:30AM ??...)
    The following is one sample of my tis file (sorry for this long append)
    Many thanks for your help
    Regards
    ============================================
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" ?>
    <batch>
    <version>
    2.0
    </version>
    <uuid>
    82B24ECF-097C-4B9A-88CA-BA528F79C959
    </uuid>
    <display>
    CD-4setInc
    </display>
    <description>
    &lt;separator type='gradient'/>&lt;bold>Create Incremental Backup Archive&lt;/bold>&lt;endl/>&lt;tabpoint value=30>&lt;indent value=4>From: &lt;indent value=10>&lt;textcolor value="navyblue">HITACHI-1 (C:), HITACHI-2 (D:)&lt;/textcolor>&lt;/indent>&lt;indent value=4>&lt;endl/>To file: &lt;indent value=10>&lt;textcolor value="navyblue">"H:\SaveXPTI-4\CD-4set.tib"&lt;/textcolor>&lt;/indent>&lt;indent value=4>&lt;endl/>Compression: &lt;indent value=10>&lt;textcolor value="navyblue">Maximum&lt;/textcolor>&lt;/indent>&lt;indent value=4>&lt;endl/>&lt;/indent>&lt;endl/>Operation 1 of 2&lt;endl/>&lt;tabpoint value=30>&lt;bold>Creating partition image&lt;endl/>&lt;/bold>&lt;indent value=4>Hard disk: &lt;indent value=10>1&lt;/indent>&lt;indent value=4>&lt;endl/>Drive letter: &lt;indent value=10>C:&lt;/indent>&lt;indent value=4>&lt;endl/>File system: &lt;indent value=10>NTFS&lt;/indent>&lt;indent value=4>&lt;endl/>Volume label: &lt;indent value=10>HITACHI-1&lt;/indent>&lt;indent value=4>&lt;endl/>Volume size: &lt;indent value=10>9.767 GB&lt;/indent>&lt;indent value=4>&lt;endl/>&lt;/tabpoint>&lt;/indent>
    Operation 2 of 2&lt;endl/>&lt;tabpoint value=30>&lt;bold>Creating partition image&lt;endl/>&lt;/bold>&lt;indent value=4>Hard disk: &lt;indent value=10>1&lt;/indent>&lt;indent value=4>&lt;endl/>Drive letter: &lt;indent value=10>D:&lt;/indent>&lt;indent value=4>&lt;endl/>File system: &lt;indent value=10>NTFS&lt;/indent>&lt;indent value=4>&lt;endl/>Volume label: &lt;indent value=10>HITACHI-2&lt;/indent>&lt;indent value=4>&lt;endl/>Volume size: &lt;indent value=10>15.57 GB&lt;/indent>&lt;indent value=4>&lt;endl/>&lt;/tabpoint>&lt;/indent>

    </description>
    <priority>
    low
    </priority>
    <stage>
    <description>
    &lt;bold>Create Incremental Backup Archive&lt;/bold>&lt;endl/>&lt;tabpoint value=30>&lt;indent value=4>From: &lt;indent value=10>&lt;textcolor value="navyblue">HITACHI-1 (C:), HITACHI-2 (D:)&lt;/textcolor>&lt;/indent>&lt;indent value=4>&lt;endl/>To file: &lt;indent value=10>&lt;textcolor value="navyblue">"H:\SaveXPTI-4\CD-4set.tib"&lt;/textcolor>&lt;/indent>&lt;indent value=4>&lt;endl/>Compression: &lt;indent value=10>&lt;textcolor value="navyblue">Maximum&lt;/textcolor>&lt;/indent>&lt;indent value=4>&lt;endl/>&lt;/indent>
    </description>
    <backup>
    <archive>
    <file>
    H:\SaveXPTI-4\CD-4set.tib
    </file>
    </archive>
    <options backup_acronis_svc="false" compression="maximum" incremental="true">
    <filtering exclude_by_mask="false" exclude_hidden="false" exclude_system="false" />
    </options>
    <source strid="\local\hd_sign(17CC17CB)\part_sn(AAD2BDFAA0CC29CF)start(63)" />
    <source strid="\local\hd_sign(17CC17CB)\part_sn(F9937435FA2ECBC3)start(2048293:cool:" />
    </backup>
    </stage>
    </batch>
    ========================================
     
  6. jeanm

    jeanm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Posts:
    47
    Location:
    France
    Hello,
    Nobody from TI to answer this o_O
    Thanks
    Regards
    Jean
     
  7. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Sorry, I got carried away with other things. I can see why your schedule isn't working, you have not an entry like this;

    value=X>&lt;endl/>&lt;textcolor value="navyblue">Saturday, 28 January 2006 7:00:08 PM&lt;/textcolor>&lt;/indent>&lt;indent value=4>&lt;endl/>Archive

    The problem is can one be made and where should it go?

    To make this easier could you possibly edit your post and put either code or quote marks around it? It would make it much easier to read.

    Of course by the time we've finished this it would have been quicker to have remade all the schedules :)

    Colin
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2006
  8. jeanm

    jeanm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Posts:
    47
    Location:
    France
    Hello Bodgy, thanks for your answer.
    The "Tis" file listed in my append is exactly the same in the not working schedule and in a previous working TI backup ("tib" file), so i think (deduct) that the scheduling data are not in the "tis" file (registry ?? where ??).
    Also i do not have any entry like that in the "tis" file (with date in it):

    For your note:

    Yes and No for me i will have to wait 3 weeks to schedule all my backups.

    Thanks for your help
    Regards
    Jean
     
  9. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Yup that's what I meant you're missing that entry.

    Can you please edit your post and put the quote marks around the code? That will give it the same look as my posted sample and makes it much easier for me to compare and maybe try and insert a date in the correct place.

    Colin
     
  10. jeanm

    jeanm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Posts:
    47
    Location:
    France
    Hello Bodgy,
    I tried to quote what you asked for, but you know that it seems that even with what you said: the "missing entry", the "tis" file was scheduled fine in the past (and is rigorously the same in all my TI backups).


    Also as i said in my initial post,
    Now if i select the task in TI and click on 'Schedule the selected item", i can add some schedule time to the task, but the "tis" file is not modified.... this seems to me that the schedule is not part of the "tis" file but elsewere....

    Many thanks for your help
    Regards
    Jean
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.