Scheduled Task Is Crashing Computer

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by chrismgan, Dec 26, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chrismgan

    chrismgan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Posts:
    20
    If anyone can help, I would really appreciate it. I'm using TI 9.0 build 2,323. I have Acronis TI set to do a new backup everyday at 5am. I am backing up my C drive to my G drive (external drive). When I go to the computer, it is shutdown. I have to reboot and then I see that the scheduled task did not complete. I had this working fine a couple of weeks ago until I had to send my external HD back to the manufacturer because of a short in the power cord connection on the drive. I can force a backup with no problem. Could it have something to do with my power options ? I currently have my monitor set to turn off after 10 min of no use. My OS is Win2000 Professional.

    Any help would be appreciated,

    Chris
     
  2. Rick_G

    Rick_G Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Posts:
    55
    Location:
    Just south of the Big Chicken
    Do you have your computer running all night, or are you putting it into standby mode? You are correct that your power options may have something to do with it. Are they set up to turn your computer off after a period of inactivity?

    I have my Acronis daily incrementals scheduled at 5:05 AM. The Acronis Scheduler does not wake my PC from standby mode.

    I had to create a separate Windows Scheduler task to run at 5:03 AM, which allows me to wake the computer from standby mode. Now the Acronis TI daily backups will run before I wake up.
     
  3. chrismgan

    chrismgan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Posts:
    20
    Hi- I've got my power options set as:
    Turn Off Monitor- After 10 mins
    Turn Off Hard Disks- Never
    System Standby- Never

    So I don't think I've got it set to go into standby.

    Anything else I should check ?

    Thanks,

    Chris
     
  4. Rick_G

    Rick_G Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Posts:
    55
    Location:
    Just south of the Big Chicken
    Next thing to try is to change the schedule so the Acronis task will run in about 5 minutes. Then put your computer on standby mode (or leave it running), and see what happens.
     
  5. chrismgan

    chrismgan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Posts:
    20
    Hi Rick,
    I'm not sure what you mean. Change the scheduled task to what ? Do you mean within the TI program ?
    Thanks,
    Chris
     
  6. Rick_G

    Rick_G Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Posts:
    55
    Location:
    Just south of the Big Chicken
    Chris, yes, I meant for you to modify the schedule for the Acronis scheduled task. Then you can see if the scheduled task actually runs. You may be able to see something happen that is not clear from the log file.

    I can't think of anything else to try.
     
  7. chrismgan

    chrismgan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Posts:
    20
    I modified the task to run and it did. I'm going to try and get it to run automatically at 5 AM and see what happens.

    Thanks for your help,

    Chris
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello chrismgan,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    In case Rick_G's suggestion does not help, please collect the following information:

    - Create Acronis Report and Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post;

    - Reproduce the problem and collect Acronis True Image 9.0 log which can be saved from Tools -> Show Log -> Diskette icon;

    - Where do you store your images?

    - Describe actions taken before the problem appears step-by-step.

    Please also do the following:

    - Download schedmgr.exe application;

    - Open the command prompt (Start -> Run -> cmd);

    - Run the following command in the folder the schedmgr.exe file was saved to:

    schedmgr get report > schedreport.txt

    - Collect schedreport.txt;

    - Run Acronis Schedule Manager program (schedmgr.exe);

    - Issue the following command:

    set logflags support

    - Schedule backup creation once again;

    - Wait until the scheduled backup will fail;

    - Collect the log file schedul2.log that is placed in the \Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\Schedule2 folder.

    Please submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  9. chrismgan

    chrismgan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Posts:
    20
    Hi Thanks for responding. I seem to have it working. I went to Scheduled Tasks (in Control Panel) and set Acronis to start at 4:55AM. Then I had my scheduled task in TI set to back up at 5:00AM. This worked. I got a complete backup done. Thanks for everyones help.
    Chris
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.