Scheduled Task Failure

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Rule G, Sep 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rule G

    Rule G Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Posts:
    29
    I'm trying to automatically run Incremental backups. I don't understand what the app wants me to do with the password screen.

    Here is what the log says....
    >>Scheduler can not run task "New task backup".Logon failure: unknown user name or bad password.<<
     
  2. babac

    babac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Montr?al,Qc.Ca
    Hi,
    Your password should be the same as the one used with your previous full backup.
     
  3. Rule G

    Rule G Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Posts:
    29
    I do not use the password function.
     
  4. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Which version, build?

    Is your full image backup working OK?

    Is TI showing the same user name when you get to the 'credentials' form for the incremental as it does for the full backup?

    If you don't use a password to log on to your windows (are you using XP/pro or Vista?), then what happens if you just tab down through the boxes?

    Are you sure you never had a password to log on to windows, and then set windows to automatically log on?
     
  5. Rule G

    Rule G Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Posts:
    29
    See above.
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Rule G,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please enter the login name and password you use to log into Windows. Please be aware that the password should not be blank.

    If you have any further questions concerning Acronis software, please feel free to submit a request for technical support or post any of them on this forum. We will certainly try to help you in resolving any issues.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  7. Kritker

    Kritker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Posts:
    71
    There are good reasons for not having a blank password but a non-blank Windows password is not something that an application should require. :mad: This is another example of the "tail wagging the dog"!!!
     
  8. babac

    babac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Montr?al,Qc.Ca
    Hi,
    Not quite in agreement with this.

    The reason a password is required by Windows is to prevent any outsider to perform a scheduled task on a computer.
    It is to be strictly regarded as a security matter.
    Under Windows xp ,it is impossible to perform any scheduled task whatsoever without a password.
     
  9. Rule G

    Rule G Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Posts:
    29
    Hi,
    I'm the originator of this thread.
    OK, no problem using my PW, just didn't know that it was required. A new question arises.
    Lets say that i start fresh with a new full backup. If i then want to automate incrementals, do i just choose that full backup when i set the scheduled task up and TI will create a new incremental based on the last incremental?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.