Scheduled processes aren't running

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by esmith_ts, Aug 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. esmith_ts

    esmith_ts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    I created scheduled backups to run at night on my machine. I checked on them and they hadn't run. I pressed the "run now" and it ran fine, and I double-checked the settings on it, and then waited - still didn't run (is supposed to run every night).

    I thought maybe it was b/c I actually had to have the TI program open, so I left it open over night - still no go.

    Any ideas on what might cause this? This is True Image Home 9.0 and I had build 2000 something straight out of the box and I just got an update to the latest 3000 something.
     
  2. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello esmith_ts,

    Firstly, I hope that you uninstalled your previous build via Windows Control Panel "Add or Remove Programs" before installing the latest version.

    Secondly, the scheduling scripts for the new build are now written to a different location. They were in Documents and Settings > [UserName] > Application Data > Acronis > TrueImage > Scripts but are now in Documents and Settings > All Users > Application Data > Acronis > TrueImage > Scripts. So I'm afraid you will need to create your schedules again.

    Regards
     
  3. esmith_ts

    esmith_ts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Uh oh, no, I didn't uninstall first. What is going to happen?

    I ran the update for this build and then when it was done, it asked me to reboot, but I have a lot going on right now, so I haven't rebooted yet.

    Should I run the uninstall process and then reinstall again?
     
  4. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Yes, because you probably ended up with a "mongrel" installation of TI. However, I recommend the following sequence:

    - Complete the installation process for the new build by rebooting.
    - Uninstall the new build.
    - Reinstall the old build and then uninstall it as per these <Acronis Support instructions>.
    - Install the new build again and reboot.

    Regards
     
  5. esmith_ts

    esmith_ts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Does it help that I am running it as the most basic mode as possible? I didn't setup any recovery modes and I didn't really do anything other than set it up to backup to an external disk.

    I will try and work that out this weekend.
     
  6. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Not really. I would follow the instructions in Post #4 above and then create your new schedule(s).

    Regards
     
  7. Allen L.

    Allen L. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    335
    Location:
    -Close-
    Just one comment about the very complex uninstall instructions that Acronis posted. These are going to be *far* over the heads of most users of Acronis. They will go into mild shock with all the registry edits, service stops, Device Manager uninstalls, and etc., for uninstalling the Acronis program...and that's after the program's own uninstaller has run! o_O This is a fairly complex procedure for someone that's experienced with a computer, think of the person that doen't have the computer skills to understand these statements. Those not experienced to that level of ability make up the majority of computer users.

    A very good program writer once posted that to really tell how well a complete program is written you only have to look at how complete the uninstall part is written. I believe that to be true. There should be no shortcuts taken when writing the uninstall routine, *if* there is, there may be shortcuts taken in writing the program itself.

    ...Allen :cautious:
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello esmith_ts,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please accept our apologies for the current inconvenience.

    We recommend that you follow instructions Menorcaman has provided and install the latest build (3677) of Acronis True Image 9.0 Home which is available for downloading in the Product Updates section of your account at Acronis web site.

    You can find the full version name and build number by going to Help -> About... menu in the main program window.

    To get access to updates you should create an account then log in and use your serial number to register the software.

    Please uninstall any previously installed build by following Start -> Settings -> Control Panel -> Add or Remove Programs -> Acronis True Image, prior to installing build 3677.

    Note that you should create new Bootable Rescue CD after installing the update.

    If the problem still persists with the latest build (3677) of Acronis True Image 9.0 Home then please do the following:

    - Download and run schedmgr.exe application;

    - Issue the following commands:

    service stop
    service uninstall

    - Close schedmgr;

    - Replace schedhlp.exe and schedul2.exe files in the C:\Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\Schedule2 folder with the files from this ZIP archive.

    - Run schedmgr application once again;

    - Issue the following commands:

    service install
    service start

    - Close schedmgr;

    If the problem still persists then please do the following:

    - Open the command prompt (Start -> Run -> cmd);

    - Run the following command in the folder the schedmgr.exe file was saved to:

    schedmgr get report > schedreport.txt

    - Collect schedreport.txt;

    - Run Acronis Schedule Manager program (schedmgr.exe) once more;

    - Issue the following command:

    set logflags support

    - Schedule backup creation once again;

    - Wait until the scheduled backup will not execute;

    - Collect the log file schedul2.log that is placed in the \Program Files\Common
    Files\Acronis\Schedule2 folder.

    Please also create Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Then please submit a request for technical support. Provide the files and information collected in your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the most suitable solution as soon as possible.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.