Scheduled daily scan not performing.

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by Surebrec, Dec 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Surebrec

    Surebrec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Posts:
    30
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Hello.

    I recently purchased ESET smart security 4 and am still finding my way around. I sheduled a daily scan to scan at 3PM, but for some reason, it is not scanning when the the scheduled time is reached, even when my PC is switched on.

    am I missing something here? am I supposed to get a notification that a scheduled scan has been started? as it stands right now, I am receiving no notifications, and when I check the last scan made, it is the ones I manually started the day before.

    like I said, I'm new to the software, so either I am overlooking something, or I have not configured it correctly?
     
  2. tony_m

    tony_m Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Posts:
    239
    Hi,

    Please make sure you're following these instructions.

    As stated in that article, if the computer is in “sleep” mode or other power-saving state, the scan will not occur. The computer must be fully powered on.

    Hope this helps.
     
  3. Surebrec

    Surebrec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Posts:
    30
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    I already followed those steps when I tried setting it up again and nothing happened that time either. at the time it was supposed to scan, my computer was switched on and was fully operational because I was using it at the time.


    also, since I installed it, it has reported 0 blocked attacks, and 0 infections, whereas my old security software was alerting me that it was blocking attempted attacks several times a day.

    I know this is the ideal scenario, but how can I be sure that it is actually doing what I paid for it to do?
     
  4. JesusV

    JesusV Former ESET Support Rep

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    93


    You can export your clients configuration and attach it so we can take a look at it. Follow the instructions on this link: http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?page=content&id=SOLN828

    Or if you need more immediate assistance, you can create a ticket here with ESET support in your area:
    http://www.eset.co.uk/Support/Contact

    You can always test ESETs virus detection by going to http://eicar.org
    and download their antivirus/antimalware test file.


    Regards,

    Jesus
     
  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Personally I have scheduled a scan of 2 folders to run after every update and it has always run fine. Now I've scheduled a scan that runs at a specific time and it was run fine as well. What OS do you use and what time zone you have set? Do you have daylight saving time enabled? If you schedule a task that executes a specific application (e.g. the Windows calculator), will it be actually executed?
     
  6. Surebrec

    Surebrec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Posts:
    30
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    I think I mangaged to get it working thanks, it came up this time saying that a scan had started.

    I tried downloading from that site and it blocked them, so I'm guessing it's working on that front as well, which is a relief.

    I have another question though, sorry for the continued asking.

    I use thunderbird for my mail client, and although email client protection is listed as enabled, I'm still getting some junk mail coming through, should I be setting something different in eset or thunderbird?

    also, is eset supposed to scan emails with attachments automatically, or am I supposed to manually scan them after downloading them?
     
  7. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    If you open the source of an email message, do you see "X-ESET-AntiSpam" in the headers?

    Yes. If you receive email via POP3, attachments are scanned automatically regardless of the email client used. If you use any of the supported email clients, such as Outlook Express, MS Outlook, Windows Live Mail or Thunderbird, email will be scanned regardless of what protocol you use (POP3, IMAP, etc.). Antispam works only in email clients that are supported.
     
  8. Surebrec

    Surebrec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Posts:
    30
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    no, I don't see X-ESET-AntiSpam in the headers, should it be listed in all email headers, or the ones identified as spam?

    I don't have any spam in my folders at the moment, the last one I deleted this morning.
     
  9. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Yes, it's added to every email scanned by ESET's antispam.
    Try the following:
    - with Thunderbird closed, disable integration with TB in the advanced ESS setup (F5) and click OK
    - enable integration with TB and click OK
    - run TB
     
  10. Surebrec

    Surebrec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Posts:
    30
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    edit


    nevermind, I found it
     
  11. Surebrec

    Surebrec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Posts:
    30
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    made the changes you suggested and it's still not showing in the header
     
  12. Surebrec

    Surebrec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Posts:
    30
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    so is that it? nothing more I can try?

    for the record:

    windows 7 64bit professional

    thunderbird v3.1.7
     
  13. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
  14. Surebrec

    Surebrec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Posts:
    30
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    well, I tried that "solution" and that failed as well. I also noticed that the integration for windows live mail doesn't work either.

    any more suggestions, or am I just to assume it plain and simply doesn't work?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.