Scanning from the command line

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by WilliamP, Jun 30, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    How do you go about scanning from the command line and what would be the reason to do it?
     
  2. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    William,

    Have a look at this thread from Paolo Monti/Eset.

    regards.

    paul
     
  3. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Paul, I'm new to NOD and I'm not real computer savy. I love NOD32 and want to learn how to make the most of it. I don't know how to scan from the command lie. I would appreciate guidance.
     
  4. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    William,

    No problem! Please read the thread I referred to closely, and ask about issues you don't understand ;)

    regards.

    paul
     
  5. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    How do you actually get to the command line. Why is scanning from the command line necessary?
     
  6. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    William,

    As Paolo suggested in his reply in the thread I referred to: after reading the thread carefully - answers to your questions are provided - , feel free to ask questions over on that particular thread. FYI: NOD32 V2 will do just fine without command line scanning on average.

    regards.

    paul
     
  7. Alaska

    Alaska Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Posts:
    22
    I know this may be off topic but for my enlightenment the 'Scan Manually By Command Line Execution' spoken of in the NOD32 Help file under 'On-Demand Scanner' is accessed from a DOS prompt and would only be necessary if a virus messed up Windows so bad that Windows couldn't be loaded. Of course, NOD32 will not let this happen :), so we (the average user) do not need it.

    The 'The parameters and their effects:' list in the help file are for testers and programmers and not someone like me an average user.

    Is all of the above correct? Thank you in advance.
     
  8. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Thank you for the input. It doesn't seem like anyone wanted to explain what needed to be done.
     
  9. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    William,

    Paolo did explain in great extend - as many who joined/did read the thread mentioned will approve of. No offense in any way: but in case you have questions, post them in the thread mentioned ;)

    regards.

    paul
     
  10. Alaska

    Alaska Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Posts:
    22
    I'm an average user of program software WilliamP, most of these people are way ahead of me.
    Actually some of the items in 'The parameters and their effects:' list are needed to access NOD32 scanning from a DOS prompt. But I have no need to use it.

    Apology if this was off topic and in the wrong place :).
     
  11. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Paul, I did ask questions on that post and was told to read it carefully. I don't want to upset anyone, I'm just interested in learning as much as I can and getting the most out of NOD as I can.
     
  12. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    That's just OK, William ;) Be assured, you don't upset anyone. In essence, you don't need the command lines to have a fine and reliable running NOD32. In case you want "more", there's no way around getting some more basical knowledge. Paolo has provided a nice add on plus explanation. Feel free to continue over on the relevant thread.

    regards.

    paul
     
  13. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Thank you for your help.
     
  14. DolfTraanberg

    DolfTraanberg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    676
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    I don't think that's true. There are a more reasons to use this feature, like in batchfiles.
    Also a number of mailservers use it for scanning incoming and outgoing mail.
    Dolf
     
  15. Alaska

    Alaska Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Posts:
    22

    Thank your for the correction. :)
     
  16. indodude

    indodude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Posts:
    7
    William,

    if you have not yet done so go to the Eset web site and download the manual, the file is Nod32Man.pdf. In there you find a detailed description of command line switches that can be used with Nod32.exe when running the program from the command line (= DOS prompt) outside the windows environment.

    You will probably never need to do a scan from the DOS prompt, but you may wish to set up your download manager to do a scan of every downloaded file. In addition to the path\filename you can add command line switches (sometimes called parameters, or options) as instructions to Nod32 about what to scan, how, etc. My setup is: /all /heurdeep /ah /pack+ /arch+ /prompt /quit-. Explanations are in the manual.

    Have fun!

    indodude
     
  17. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    I had downloaded the User Manual but after getting version 2 through it out. I did go back and copy pages 50 -61 covering scanning DOS.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.