Scanning Extensions

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Albinoni, Dec 14, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Albinoni

    Albinoni Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Posts:
    709
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I have just set up Avast Home Edition for my father and have found it to be a very good free AV, especially for those who are looking for a free solution for home use.

    In the config. of the AV setup there is a box there where I can add extensions, I am presuming these are extensions like .exe, .mpg, .jpg etc etc.

    What are the best extensions to use for this type of config.

    Also I noted that when I did my NOD32 settings through Blackspears tutorial, in there he also had added extensions re the settings of NOD32.
     
  2. TAP

    TAP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Posts:
    344
    You don't have to do anything, I believe its default settings provide well balance between performance and security.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Albinoni

    Albinoni Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Posts:
    709
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I've got mine set to scan All Files instead of only files with selected extensions, will that be ok ?
     
  4. TAP

    TAP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Posts:
    344
    It's ok if your machine is quite powerful, if not so, it can be led to noticeable slowdown in real-time performance or other problems but if such setting doesn't bring any problems so it's ok for you.

    In my opinions, scanning all files option doesn't bring any greater security.
     
  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,375
    I know a way how to run a file with an arbitrary extension easily, probably due to a bug in Windows :)
     
  6. Happy Bytes

    Happy Bytes Guest

    Command Window... That's not a big secret :D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.