Scandisk - Slllloooooowwwww?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Cochise, Sep 1, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Here's one for you Good people, can you help pull Cochise out of the mire again.

    When I run Scandisk, which I normally do quite often, it generally takes about an hour and fifty minutes or thereabouts.

    But now all of a sudden it takes 6 Hourso_O? I've tried it in Safe Mode and it gets to around 7.000 clusters and then starts over again!! my disk has 1,833,552 clusters to go at.

    Any ideas please.

    TIA, Cochise. :cool:
     
  2. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    ah and you are running win98?

    I think when I ran that stuff on Win98 if I left it alone and the screen saver was trying to kick in (or any other automatic process) it would cause it to restart over and over for hours on end... If ya don't have anything like that going on then you'll hafta wait till someone who knows more shows up in your thread :p
     
  3. Dan Perez

    Dan Perez Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    1,495
    Location:
    Sunny San Diego
    Yup, I think it is what Detox mentioned. You should try to disable the screensaver and also use Ctrl+Alt+Del to stop all processes except Explorer and Systray.

    Alternatively, you can boot into Safe Mode and run scandisk from there.

    HTH,

    Dan
     
  4. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Hi Detox,

    Thanks for the input mate, No, I don't use Wallpapers or Savers, never seen the point, all that sort of stuff I have set to Never.

    Although you might not be far wrong with the "something running" bit but If that's the case were do I look to find the offender.

    I know that when I had Diskeeper Lite for Defragging my Scandisk wouldn't run atall, but I discarded that a while ago and as far as I know I don't have it in my System? but could the little devil still be hiding from me somewhere.?

    Have you had any success with your hiccup??.

    Regards Cochise. :cool:
     
  5. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Thanks Dan,

    If you read my original message in this thread you will find I've done the Safe bit and I don't run screensavers etc., also, as far as I can see, I have no running processes, so I'm at a bit of a loss now as to what to try next but many thanks for your interest in my little query.

    Best regards, Cochise. :cool:
     
  6. Dan Perez

    Dan Perez Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    1,495
    Location:
    Sunny San Diego
    Hi Cochise,

    Lol, I did indeed "read" the your initial post but with only one eye open :D

    The only thing I can think of is to boot up into DOS mode (not the command prompt window in Windows) and attempt a full scandisk using the DOS mode of the program. I am unsure of the command-line options that this may require (if any) so you may need to experiment with it a bit.

    Sorry I have nothing else to offer you :doubt:
     
  7. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    Yeah that's some strange stuff there... I suppose the DOS thing oughta work and if you've been lax with security in the past maybe download a trial version of TDS or something and check for trojans or some other garbage using up processor/memory? Of course; you prolly would have noticed that the computer just seemed "busy" all the time before this.
     
  8. solarpowered candle

    solarpowered candle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    new zealand
    You could try running a 30 day download such as http://www.powerdefrag.com/ (and run a scan and full defrag . This stops all running processes and completes each stage step by step automatically . It stops screen saver starting etc .) Im not suggesting you buy it as Its $40 but see how it flows . You can download the defrag( only) from that site, later after the month, and thats free .
    http://www.powerdefrag.com/download/pdc210B2.exe
     
  9. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Hello Solar,
    Nice to hear from you. I already have Powerdefrag freebie but not the trial version, so I D/Ld it and ran the whole thing, Defrag ran AOK but Scan still just as slow, it used to run at about 4 seconds to the thousand clusters but now it runs at 9 to 10 seconds per thou clusters and when you have 1,833,552 to get through!!! I won't live that long LOL.
    My security is right upto date and I run them all everyday, AVG. Spybot S&D, Blaster, Adaware etc., and everything comes up smelling of the proverbial Roses!!
    I haven't tried TDS whatever that is, I take it is some kind of Trojan Snuffer eh?

    Regards, Cochise.
     
  10. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    Yup TDS is the local trojan killer - I'd like to get it (along with better AV) but I've got no $$ these days except for my graduate classes...

    You're prolly clean.. so my only guess is that maybe the scan is slower because of less virtual memory on the hard drive? Totally uneducated guess and even then that's a LOT slower for something like that...
     
  11. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    HI all, me again,

    D/Ld TDS-3 Professional and ran the whole thing, it went thro' my OS like a dose of salts. No Trojies!! But it come up with this:-
    All with the C:\windows\system prefix.
    cmd.exe
    netstat.exe
    drwatson.exe
    drwtsn.exe
    rundll32.exe
    taskman.exe
    taskmgr.exe
    winlogon.exe
    regedt32
    netmsg.dll
    winsock.dll

    TDS says that none of these files exist!?? Is that good or bad Pals.

    Best Regards, Cochise. :cool:
     
  12. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,875
    Location:
    New England
    Hi Cochise,

    >> TDS says that none of these files exist!??

    Do you know if that was in the CRC check? I believe TDS-3 comes with a sample file that contains a list of files to be checked. That sample is not correct for all OS versions and differing system configurations. These threads in the TDS Forum section have a little more on this:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=11137

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=11796

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=12580

    If this is what you saw, then it's just that the files to be checked are not customized to your system.
     
  13. solarpowered candle

    solarpowered candle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    new zealand
    It does that for mine too Cochise. ( TDS3 ), I dont worry about it .
    I was looking at a few sites referring to scanning and they were saying that its only necesary to run the scan disk once on thorough (with automatic fix errors) and there after, set it to standard (with automatic fix errors)
    This should be real fast there after . Albeit you may need to leave it all nite to run thru a full scandisk on thorough .
    You never know it may come right once you have done a thorough scandisk and defrag. You could always do the "thorough scandisk" once a month and the "standard once a week or so . ( and keep searching for a solution lol )
    ,
     
  14. HKLM

    HKLM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Posts:
    5
    Hi Cochise,

    Here's a thought.
    Use StartupSelector to make a backup of all the programs that run during startup, StartupCPL to disable all of them and StartupMotitor to monitor any program registering itself to autorun.
    All tools of Mike Lin:
    http://www.mlin.net/StartupCPL.shtml
    http://www.mlin.net/StartupMonitor.shtml
    http://www.mlin.net/files/StartupSelector.zip
    NOTE:You must allow startupmonitor to autorun at startup!
    Then you will have a clean start (less programs running) and monitor if a program registers itself without your knowledge to autorun at startup.
    If this does not work then I think that you can set as your shell scandiskw.exe replacing explorer.exe at your system.ini (I know you can do this for defrag) to make things go a little faster (even if the problem persists)
     
  15. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    TDS will indicate autostart changes too, fortunately, and there is a free tool on their site RegProtection to block the registry for unauthorized changes, there is the AutostartViewer to see all that is actually started or has ability to do so if you didn't set programs not to do so, etc.


    I think more of some setting somewhere......
    Did you install recently some new software, security patches?
    I always do the scandisk/defrag in the safemode as there are elements always on the watch even though the program itself is closed, like the firewall (ZA/ZAPro is famous for that).
    So in SafeMode have another look with the taskmanager, close everything unnecessary and look at the scandisk settings: you don't need to have all kinds of files check for timestamps for instance and there are a few more very time consuming settings which are really not needed, all in that column to the right :)

    Degragging in safe mode is much nicer too. Close all the screensavers and temporary the standby mode and energy saving (temporary on never, so when you're done you can put it back)

    Your question on Karen's window watcher in the other thread: at least it shows too all that is running including hidden things so you might discover something. It's free anyway.

    Let us know how it goes after you looked another time into your scandisk settings!
     
  16. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Thanks Jooske and all the good people out there who've been batting their brains out on my account.

    Job sorted!!!!" I thought I had fully unistalled Diskeeper Lite......NOT.....it was still waltzing about in my cyberspace.....now gone to that big Rec. Bin in the sky.

    Scandisk was trying to compete, no competition against DKL LOL.

    Everything back to normal now Thank you, after using Karenware :D

    Many Thanks for all the Help, don't relax tho', I'll probably be back with another disaster LOL.

    Regards to All, Cochise. :cool: :D
     
  17. MickeyTheMan

    MickeyTheMan Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    1,016
    The winme defrag file might help you speed things a bit
    http://f3.grp.yahoofs.com/v1/8MNXP7FpzT-Gf7mAsKgZPZQgQBd-wehYH5GhhByhu31-qa0tSfv_sYHFQ28-B5UU6-9nPQB5x6QLCP0T/winme_defrag.zip
    You can run it from where you save it.
    Made for winme but runs perfectly good on 98
     
  18. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    >don't relax tho', I'll probably be back with another disaster LOL.

    Great! don't hesitate to post them by no means! As we all learn from it, it builds our reference help arsenal and experience. And it's always good feeling when someone is saved from disasters.
    BTW: that karenware has some very fine items you'll find usefull; you might like to subscribe on her monthly newsletter in which she gives very handy explanation about her tools helping for which windows things, updates etc. And she writes understandable!
     
  19. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Thanks there Mickey the Man,

    Would like to have a look at that defrag but your link doesn't work mate, that is unless some other disaster has overtaken me!!

    Regards Cochise
     
  20. dqa

    dqa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Posts:
    33
    Location:
    London
    Cochise,

    The Fast defrag application is available here at Wilders, on the downloads page. I use it myself on Win989se, and have found that it speeds up the defrag process by 4 or 5 times, especially once you use it regularly. Well worth a look, though it apparently doesn't work this well for everybody.

    dqa

    ;)
     
  21. MickeyTheMan

    MickeyTheMan Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    1,016
    Was trying to give you a direct link. But only works for fe hours
    File is in this directory http://groups.yahoo.com/group/MickeyTheMan/files/
    (you might need to sign in to yahoo to get to it)
     
  22. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Thanks for the info men but I give in......Come on, where do you hide the Download page pleaseo_O

    TIA, Cochise.

    PS. I can't believe my problem was read 190 odd times, I'm honoured and impressed.
     
  23. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Have a look here ;);

    http://www.wilders.org/free_tools.htm
     
  24. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Just ran a small experiment with this defrag lark folks.
    I D/Ld Fast defrag - Power Defrag and Diskeeper lite again. I first ran my standard Win one and then New and then Power, then I popped up Diskeeper to Analyze and it said "This volume is heavily defragmented (1.16) and should be run as soon as poss.)o_O? Mmmmm! methinks this defrag thing is rather iffy in some respects.

    Regards, Cochise. :cool: :doubt:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.