scan time?

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by ams963, Mar 12, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Hi,

    I thought WSA was supposed to scan faster after each scan. But even if I scan now it would take almost the same time to scan after 40 min.

    Can anyone please assure me if it's normal and nothing to worry about?
    I'd really appreciate your help.

    Best Regards,
    ams963
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2012
  2. superssjdan

    superssjdan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Posts:
    148
    Location:
    USA
    I wouldn't worry about it.My scan times fluctuate from time to time,but are generally in the 36-54 sec range with the occasional scan of over a minute.I might think the fluctuation in scan time may be due to file changes like maybe a background defragger changing the location of some files(i use diskeeper pro premier).Should be absolutely nothing to worry about.
     
  3. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    For a default scan it's takes anywhere from 30 seconds to 2 minutes an it depends on many factors such as if you have many unknown programs to WSA and system specifications and performance! Can I ask what are your scan times?

    TH

    Capture12-03-2012-1.20.56 PM.jpg
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2012
  4. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    @superssjdan
    Thank you very much for the assurance.

    Here is my latest scan result:

    Files scanned: 57,128
    Threats: 0
    Processes: 60(2,598 Modules)
    Time elapsed: 4m 50s
    Total scans: 13
    Last infected Scan: Never
    Threats removed: 0
    Active Threats: 0
     
  5. Techfox1976

    Techfox1976 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Posts:
    749
    57,000 scanned is a lot. Try cleaning up your temporary files (Both temporary and temporary internet). Also, if you have programs installed that have a heavy file presence (thousands of files in dozens of directories) that can cause that slight slowdown as well. Also, if you've ever done a Full Scan, local database handling gets a bit slower (apparently up to 50 minutes slower!), which can be resolved by uninstalling, rebooting, then reinstalling without importing settings.
     
  6. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    I use ccleaner to clean temporary files. And wsa used to be faster. Didn't actually notice from when wsa started to scan so much and took so much time. When I first started to use wsa it would take around 40 sec on scheduled scan and around 1 min on-demand scan. And I cannot find any option which offers full scan or quick scan. It only says scan. So I click scan.
     
  7. Techfox1976

    Techfox1976 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Posts:
    749
    I've seen infrequent cases where CCleaner misses some out-of-band TIFs, but in those cases, everything misses them.

    "Full Scan" is access by clicking PC Security on the left, and then "Custom Scan", and selecting Full Scan. It's a very shallow and wide (fat!!!) scan, just like what everything else out in the industry does.

    If you have other security programs that scan On-Access, they will also slow things down, because they see WSA accessing the file, so they demand to scan it first and make WSA wait while they do.

    Disk problems and severe fragmentation of the files being scanned can slow down scans.

    Lots of disk access during the scan can slow things down.

    In Settings, under Scan Settings, there are two settings that can slow a scan down:
    "Favor low memory usage over fast scanning" (ON by default, minimal effect)
    "Favor low CPU usage over fast scanning" (OFF by default)
    Under Basic Configuration, one setting:
    "Lower resource usage when intensive applications or games are detected." (ON by default, this will impact scan times dramatically if a scan occurs while the CPU is under heavy load or a full screen application is running in the foreground)

    Large archives (Zip files, for example) can slow scanning down substantially as they have to be unzipped to a temporary location before they can be scanned.

    The 57,000 files still makes me wonder, though. On a software-light VM with one core of access to the CPU, it scans 15,000 files in 34 seconds. You might want to go to Settings, Scan Settings, and check "Save non-executable file details to scan logs", then save the settings, run a scan, and save the log at the end of the scan. Look in the log to see if there is any place with a huge number of odd files.
     
  8. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    ah! thx a lot for the detailed explanation and suggestions.....I'll try those you mentioned.....
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.