Scan Backups

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by Rico, Nov 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,692
    Location:
    Texas
    Are there any anti spyware products, that can scan Acronis backup compressed files?

    Thanks
    Rico
     
  2. ruinebabine

    ruinebabine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,097
    Location:
    QC
    Mount it first and you should be able to scan it with whatever anti product you want.
     
  3. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,692
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi,

    If you mean by 'mount the drive' it can be seen & chosen by spyware scanner?

    I started the ext hdd & saw & chose it with SAS, SAS could not scan Acronis compressed backups.

    SAS responded with G:\$secure$SDS < SAS tech. said they cannot scan >

    Which prompted my post here

    Thanks
    Rico
     
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,039
    Hi Rico

    They are talking about mounting the image not the drive the tib file is on. You do this in Acronis and select the image which is on your external drive. Once mounted it will show up in explorer as another drive. You can scan that.

    However be aware, that at best the scan will be inconclusive. The reason for this is SAS won't be able to scan the registry and how any malware is linked to the registry.

    Pete
     
  5. ruinebabine

    ruinebabine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,097
    Location:
    QC
    Hi Rico,

    I meant to mount the TI image file as a drive by using True Image's GUI:

    TI_01.png

    TI_2.png

    TI_02.png

    After that, you will be able to scan it with SAS:

    TI_03.png

    EDIT: oops... I see Peter2150 already guided you with its answer.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.