SBC\Yahoo DSL Service

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ronjor, Jan 31, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ronjor

ronjor Global Moderator

Anyone on the forums using SBC for an internet provider?
    I have a couple of questions.
    Are you using the software they provide? In other words, are you forced to use the programs they provide?
    Any info would would be nice. They have started offering three megabit download speed.

Last edited: Jan 31, 2005
  2. bigc73542

bigc73542 Retired Moderator

Re: SBC/Yahoo DSL Service

My nephew in dallas is useing the SBE broadband and he has to use the software to connect to them but you don't have to use their dressed up IE

3. nick s

nick s Registered Member

Re: SBC/Yahoo DSL Service

Hi ronjor,

I've been using SBC Yahoo at work for almost two years (just upgraded to the 3Mbps service). I uninstalled or disabled the Yahoo apps not long after installing them and have had no problems. After a recent clean install, I never bothered with them. The Windows network connection wizard is sufficient to get you connected.

Nick

4. ronjor

ronjor Global Moderator

Hi nick

That's what I wanted to know. The sales people can't understand that you don't really need that software.
    I've had a static connection, a dhcp connection, and I think SBC is a pppoe connection.
    Do you have to log in each time you go online?

5. nick s

nick s Registered Member

It's pppoe and you have to login. You can probably automate it to connect at startup, but I prefer to double-click a shortcut to get online.

Nick

6. ronjor

ronjor Global Moderator

Thanks Nick. Good info.

7. Alec

Alec Registered Member