Saving post before posting?

Discussion in 'General Topics' started by stapp, Feb 27, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,267
    Location:
    England
    If I am replying with a "quote and post" and then remember that I wanted to check on some info first from another thread, how do I keep what is I have written so far, go back and get other info and come back to my yet to be submitted post?
    It is always gone and I have to start again !!:)
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,722
    Location:
    Texas
    Copy and paste your post in notepad until you want to actually post it. You can then paste the contents of notepad here.
     
  3. Disciple

    Disciple Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Posts:
    292
    Location:
    Ellijay, Georgia - USA
    What I have done is copy/paste what I have done in to notepad check my facts or what ever then bring up another reply window and copy/paste back into it. Of course if you are using a tabbed browser you can always bring up the reply window in a new tab, this leaves the original available for looking up stuff.
     
  4. BeetleBoss

    BeetleBoss She who posts lots of <I>Smileys</I>

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Posts:
    10,610
    Location:
    We're somewhere in Kansas, Toto!!!!
    I'll just say what I do.....

    We use Firefox....so, I can open mutliple tabs to the same site.
    So, I usually just open up another tab. ;)

    {If that confusing, I can explain it more clear for ya.}

    Sorry Disciple, you must have posted yours as I was typing.....didn't mean to duplicate what you said.;)
     
  5. Disciple

    Disciple Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Posts:
    292
    Location:
    Ellijay, Georgia - USA
    No problem BeetleBoss, that has happened to me many a time and expect to happen many times more.

    BTW - My tabbed browser of choice is Maxthon.
     
  6. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,267
    Location:
    England
    When you read how to do things, you think (as I have just done now after reading these posts) WHY didn't I think of that?
    I use IE so no tabbed browsing but notepad will suit me fine.

    Thanks everyone :-* :-* :-*
     
  7. Rmus

    Rmus Exploit Analyst

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    3,943
    Location:
    California
    If you hold down the Shift key when you click on "Quote" your reply page will open a new instance of the browser.

    -rich
     
  8. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,267
    Location:
    England
    Yes it does! So I can just copy and paste from that if I need too as well.

    Thank you Rmus.
     
  9. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma

    Yep I do the same thing in Opera, just open a new page. (tab) and keep the first one active until I need it again. :thumb:
     
  10. MikeBCda

    MikeBCda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Posts:
    1,627
    Location:
    southern Ont. Canada
    I'm a Johnny-come-lately to this topic, so I can only add to the chorus -- Notepad's just the ticket for this situation.

    And of course remember that if you don't want to bother with a second window or tab, and don't absolutely need to keep the page while you're looking up whatever on the side, you can always just temporarily bookmark it to jump back to it easily.
     
  11. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    Yup, I've gone the notepad route but what I USUALLY do in I.E. is to press Ctrl-N which opens up a second instance of I.E. which is an exact duplicate of the one you already had open, along with your reply window and all the typing you have done. Then I just navigate within the second instance to whatever I need to check.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.