Saved image file doubled in size?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by petruska, Aug 13, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. petruska

petruska Registered Member

I'm currently running True Image 7, build 627 on Windows XP Pro.

I have 2 hard drives, Drive 1 & 2. I backup Drive 1(2 partitions C,D) to Drive 2 as one image file and I have been doing this weekly for many months without any problems.

I use the backup wizard each time. TI7 states that my backup image file size will be approximately 35Gig which is what the backup image file size normally ends up as listed on the hard drive. The Drive 1 partitions files add up to approximately 60 gig in actual file size. I have the TI7 compression set at the default "Normal".

The problem.....

I changed my Drive 2 , 120Gig Maxtor to a 200Gig Maxtor. Both drives are NTFS formated with Allocation Unit size 4K bytes. Now my backup image file size has increased to 57 Gig! Almost double of the previous backup file sizes. I reformated the 200 Gig drive and still the 57G file size on back up. I reinstalled TI7 and still the double file size. I reinstalled the the old 120 Gig drive and the backup file to that drive is the larger 57G!

I'm stumped as to why the image file is saved at 57G when TI7 states it should be approx. 35G and that 35G has been the normal file size for many months.

Any fixes or suggestions as to why this is occurring?

Thanks,

Bob P.

2. mike_wells

mike_wells Registered Member

Hi Bob P.,

Absolutely EXCELLENT problem description right down to configuration info! This should be made an example of how to describe a problem! How refreshing!

Anyway Bob, you say you reformatted. To what?
    Next question. What about imaging time?

Almost sounds like you've got the compression set at "Minimal" or maybe even "None". Not meaning to imply that you set it that way.