Save my Heat!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Argent, Dec 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Argent

    Argent Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    Portland OR
    Can someone suggest a good Anti-Vir program that will display a list of "infections" it finds *before* deleting them, thus permitting selective erasures? Case in point - I have a "virus" that is actually a harmless (if terrifying) prank ("Heat") that appears to "melt" the screen. I've had it for years and fortunately have always kept it backed up, otherwise it would be long exterminated and I don't think it's around much anymore. Both Avira and Trend Micro simply wipe it when they find it - a desirable feature for an anti-virus program, maybe, but not in this instance. Or possibly there's a setting option I should be looking for and am missing? Thanks for any help.
     
  2. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    you are not right about Trend Micro because if you want the program to notify you and just wait upon your decision you can tweak it and there you are.I think AVG does that and many others so why in such a mistrusto_O? o_O o_O
     
  3. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    You can set Dr.Web to "report" all infections. Then after the scan is complete you can select delete, move, etc on each file it finds.
     
  4. Niels

    Niels Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    466
    Location:
    Belgium
    So far that I know almost any antivirus you can configure what actions that should be taken on infection both for the on-access as for the on-demand scanner. Normally you should set it on prompt or no action. What you also can do is exclude that "harmless" file.
     
  5. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    with avira i just set the decisions to interactive, then you make the choice to delete, quarantine, ignore, etc.
     
  6. Argent

    Argent Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    Portland OR
    I feel a bit stupid not to have done a closer study of the settings. The solution just wasn't apparent to me before I posted my question. Thank you, everyone.
     
  7. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    ok,

    but for queries-sake, drweb, you can set it to do whatever you wish, you can choose what you want it to do for a particular type of infection, ie. Hacktool - Quarantine, Spyware - Report etc etc

    also, the exclusions can be added to any file you dont wish it to find, either in real-time protection or scanner, or niether... the choice is yours.
     
  8. innerpeace

    innerpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,095
    Location:
    Mountaineer Country
    You can also zip the file and password protect it. Then it shouldn't be detected but be sure to remember your password. I have a couple samples and keep them in a file labeled 'Danger_ Malware_Samples' and put my actual zipped malware files in it with the password 'infected'.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.