sandoxie as a firewall,hips,anti-exe, virtualizing beside sandoxing

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by hany3, Sep 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hany3

hany3 Registered Member

hi folks ,
    despite i'm relatively new to sandboxie
    but after 3 days of playing with the registered version of sandoxie
    i wanted to share with , u what i've learned about some hidden advantages in sandboxie beside its main job of sandboxing and isolating environments

but for now i'll only begin by 2 great features in sandboxie

1-forced folders feature "only in the registered version"
    2-internet access "in the resource access settings"

lets begin

1-anti-excutable and hips like features

by using the forced folder feature u can add any drive or even all ur drives so that any program " including malwares , viruses , trojans spywares , ....." if run at any time , it will be forced to run inside the sandboxie , even if autrun automatically , so that u will have the advantage of anti-excutable coz u will know instantly which is running at he moment even if it's automatically autorun , plus the advantage of hips by limiting the behaviour of such autorun malware by running it in the isolated environment of sandboxie , also it can terminate any malware process by the feature of lingering programs , in which sandboxie terminate any excutable that continue excuting after all other programs are ended

2-protection against autoruns and viruses of the flashdisks and foreign hard disks connected to ur pc

also u can add the flash drive letters and more drive letters to the forced folder section so that any autorun malware "whatever" is forced to run in the isolated environment of sandboxie causing no harm to ur original hard disk

3-firewall like features
    depending on the forced folders feature and the internet access feature we can limit the internet access of all the application on ur pc to those applications spicified by u