Sandboxie users...

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by UsuallyConfused, Oct 8, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. UsuallyConfused

    UsuallyConfused Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    I got sandboxie a couple of days ago, and it seems to be installed and working correctly, but I cannot for the LIFE of me figure out how to use this thing? Can anyone explain to me how to configure this beast? The only help files or instructions I can find only discuss how to use it AFTER it's correctly configured. I've posted on the Sandboxie forum and am not getting any helpful answers. For example, if I download &/or install something (using my virtual Opera) it goes straight to the "real" files, not "virtual" ones. Do I need to create a file somewhere before downloading or something? Is this what the Windows Installer is for? What is the Top-level folder for? I can't set it properly if I don't know what it is...
    The only thing this program seems to be "containing" are the browser settings, any other action goes straight to the real files. How do I download/install "virtually"? Obviously I'm missing some crucial things here. If noone can explain the basic set-up process, can someone recommend a different program that has instructions?
     
  2. kdm31091

    kdm31091 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Posts:
    365
    Well maybe Opera isn't sandboxed? Right click the tray icon, and if Opera's your default, hit Run Sandboxed >> Default Browser. If not, hit Any Program and browse for Opera. This should ensure it's running sandboxed and EVERYTHING you do with it will be sandboxed.

    BTW, a sandboxed program has [#] around each side of its title in the title bar, for identification.
     
  3. UsuallyConfused

    UsuallyConfused Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    Yes, its SB'ed. (The # symbols are there and if I change browser settings they don't appear in the non-SB'ed Opera.) Anything already installed on my comp. can be run in the sandbox just fine. However anything downloaded (w/ or w/o installing) thru it ends up in regular files.
     
  4. kdm31091

    kdm31091 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Posts:
    365
    I'm not really sure what to do...reinstall it?

    Opera doesn't play too well with Sandboxie, as far as I've tried. Opera and Sandboxie aren't a nice combo. Try it with Firefox and if that works fine then it must be Opera.
     
  5. UsuallyConfused

    UsuallyConfused Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    Okay, problem solved. It was a problem in the configuration page, apparently. Someone on the SB forum was kind enough to post back and forth and walk me thru the whole dang thing (I'm still not quite sure why it works now, to tell you the truth, but I'm not questioning it.) Either way it's installing where it should now. Yay! This program really could use some instructions, IMO.
    It works fine with my Opera, by the way, that was never an issue for me. I understand its fairly quirky in that respect, though, works for some and not for others. Then again with all of the trouble I've had getting the set-up right, I am fully prepared to believe that some of the "quirkiness" is probably just incorrect config. a lot of the time, rather than actual browser conflicts. Who knows?

    Thanks anyway.
     
  6. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
  7. Devil's Advocate

    Devil's Advocate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    549
    Franklin thanks for your informative post!

    LOL, I guess the fourth point is why I couldn't get that to work!!!! Almost tore my hair out....
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2006
  8. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  9. Jarmo P

    Jarmo P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,184
    Well, leaves us quite dangling here what was the original problem and how it was solved o_O
    Myself, I use only Firefox, so cannot comment what could have been wrong in your case.

    That should be for betatesting, http://sandboxie.com/phpbb/viewforum.php?f=7
     
  10. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.