Sandboxie Technologies (SBIE Open source)

Discussion in 'Sandboxie (SBIE Open Source) Plus & Classic' started by bo elam, Apr 22, 2020.

  1. noobian

    noobian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Posts:
    11
    Since using the workaround for Chrome suggested above, I've noticed that any new web pages/tabs I open in Chrome under Sandboxie are not saved outside that session (i.e. after Chrome is closed and sandbox contents automatically deleted). Just before this change, any new page (or pages) I opened while Chrome was opened in Sandboxie would be carried over to a new session, including in unsandboxed Chrome, until I closed them in either sandboxed or unsandboxed Chrome sessions.
    I have the desktop icon target set for opening in the usual sandbox (default box), which I have always set to allow direct access to Chrome bookmark and history database. I also always have Chrome set to "Continue where you left off".

    Am I missing something??
    (Btw current Chrome version is 86.0.4240.75)
     
  2. henryg1

    henryg1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2020
    Posts:
    206
    Location:
    uk
    It's def the update to 86.x that has caused the problem - all 85 builds seems to work.

    My thanks too for the workaround - I have to use Edge for some sites that don't work with (my configuration of) Firefox
     
  3. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,724
    Location:
    UK
    At the moment I'm just glad to have a browser run under the supervision of Sandboxie.
    I'm not too keen on trying to change anymore of the settings at the moment.
    Perhaps another user may give you some ideas?
     
  4. noobian

    noobian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Posts:
    11
    Yes I am glad that at least it works too! I am just surprised that I lost that functionality, which was very helpful for me. To be honest, I don't know *why* it worked that way for me before, i.e. what setting in Sandboxie or in Chrome allowed it, as sandboxed Firefox did not allow for web pages/new tabs to be saved to an unsandboxed session, so I'm curious if anyone else used to see this behavior, and if it has changed.
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2020
  5. g17

    g17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2017
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    MI
    Also, by the way if you don't want to see the error (in Chrome anyhow) that you are using an unsupported switch etc etc...

    Add this to the switch: -test-type
     
  6. Jim1cor13

    Jim1cor13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Posts:
    473
    Location:
    US
    I was having the same issue with the new MS Edge and wanted to stop by and say thank
    you to everyone who shared the workaround for Edge 86 and sandboxie.

    Working well here now, I appreciate you guys, thanks again!
     
  7. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
    "C:\Program Files\Sandboxie\Start.exe" /box:Chrome chrome.exe --no-sandbox -test-type"

    --test-type...appears to work with Edge, too
    "C:\Program Files\Sandboxie\Start.exe" /box:Edge msedge.exe --no-sandbox --test-type"

    Note: --test-type...appears to be switch format > https://peter.sh/experiments/chromium-command-line-switches/
    "C:\Program Files\Sandboxie\Start.exe" /box:Edge msedge.exe --no-sandbox --test-type"
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2020
  8. focus

    focus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    484
    Location:
    USA
    Excellent. Thank you Bo.
     
  9. phrab

    phrab Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Posts:
    55
    As of this morning, I rebooted my Win10, version 2004 (64-bit) machine. I received this error:
    upload_2020-10-9_9-30-10.png
    Also, before I rebooted, when I started Chrome (using Sandboxie), I got message after message that my extensions had crashed. This didn't happen when I loaded Chrome outside of Sandboxie. Windows Defender also says that the executable contains a virus, although Sandboxie had been working for months.

    Does anyone have a link to the latest safe Sandboxie for Win10 (64-bit)...or any other advice?
    Thank you!
     
  10. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,724
    Location:
    UK
  11. phrab

    phrab Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Posts:
    55
    Thank you. That's a lot to go through. I will look at it. In the meantime, I tried to uninstall Sandboxie using an uninstaller, but it only was able to uninstall some components. I may have to reinstall first.
     
  12. wolfrun

    wolfrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Posts:
    686
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks bjm, works well with Edge here.
     
  13. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    452
    Location:
    Austria
    It seems that I am the only one for whom the workaround is not succeessful.

    Fortunately I use Chrome only sometimes as my second browser so that this is not such a big problem for me. Chrome does not run in my DefaultBox (there I have Firefox) but in another sandbox which I called "GoogleChromeBox".

    So I tried to do what Bo described in the following way (referring to Edge):

    That means in my case:

    "C:\Program Files\Sandboxie\Start.exe" /box:GoogleChromeBox GoogleChromePortable.exe --no-sandbox

    [I think the last quotation marks in Bo's instruction can be ignored, but for me they made no difference anyway. The error message was the same with and without them.]

    When double clicking the Sandboxie QuickLaunch symbol, I get the following error message:

    SB-FM.jpg

    In English this must be approximately:

    "Could not invoke program:

    GoogleChromePortable.exe --no-sandbox

    System error:
    The system cannot find the file specified."


    As you can see by the name of the file, I use the portable version of Chrome (now 86.0.4240.75). Possibly this is the reason for the system error?
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2020
  14. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
    FWIW ~ as test
    https://portableapps.com/apps/internet/google_chrome_portable
    86.0.4240.75 (Official Build) (32-bit)
    -
    "C:\Program Files\Sandboxie\Start.exe" /box:DefaultBox GoogleChromePortable.exe --no-sandbox"
    png_7850.png png_7847.png
    png_7845.png png_7848.png
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2020
  15. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,031
    Location:
    Mexico
    Alternatively you can
    1. grab GoogleChromePortable.ini from \GoogleChromePortable\Other\Source and put it beside GoogleChromePortable.exe
    2. edit GoogleChromePortable.ini where AdditionalParameters= is. Like this:
    AdditionalParameters=--no-sandbox
    3. right-click GoogleChromePortable.exe and run it with your favorite sandbox.
     
  16. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
    as test
    png_7851.png png_7852.png png_7853.png
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2020
  17. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    452
    Location:
    Austria
    Perfect! With these steps Chrome works fine again within its sandbox.

    Thanks Mr.X and thanks bjm for your clarifications too. :thumb:
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2020
  18. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    961
    Location:
    usa
    Yes, that latest Chrome update has created problems with Sandboxie.
    I don't have any problems running Vivaldi, Brave, Maiar, Edge - all based on 85.0,
    but updated Chrome is crippled.
    After reading some instructions, I've tried to add those extra lines in the Target space, but encountered a problem.
    Is there any difference that my Chrome is in Program Files(x86)?
    Chrome Target.PNG

    After I add those "special" words in the Target space, I get the following message:

    Chrome Target2.PNG
     
  19. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    961
    Location:
    usa

    I've tried. It does not work with my Chrome.
     
  20. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
    Yes, my original Target is (x86).
    Target > "C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe"
    Start in > "C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Chrome\Application"
    png_7846.png
    change Target
    Target: "C:\Program Files\Sandboxie\Start.exe" chrome.exe --no-sandbox" #472
    Or:
    To open Chrome in a sandbox other than the DefaultBox, you can add this parameter (/box:Chrome) to the target:
    Target: "C:\Program Files\Sandboxie\Start.exe" /box:Chrome chrome.exe --no-sandbox" #492
    You can change the name of box, to whatever is the name of your dedicated Chrome sandbox.
    -
    add --test-type to remove error message unsupported switch.
    "C:\Program Files\Sandboxie\Start.exe" /box:Chrome chrome.exe --no-sandbox --test-type"
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2020
  21. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    961
    Location:
    usa
    Thank you. We are getting closer to perfection, but...
    I've got the following message after Chrome opened in Sandboxie.

    Target3.PNG
     
  22. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
    add --test-type to remove error message unsupported flag.
    "C:\Program Files\Sandboxie\Start.exe" /box:Chrome chrome.exe --no-sandbox --test-type"
     
  23. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    961
    Location:
    usa
    WOW!!!
    You made my day. Thank you very much.
    I've had a busy and very stressful day at work.
    Thank you for you help.
    Now, my next question.
    I don't use Chrome. It's my wife's favorite browser.

    I'm using, mostly, three browsers - Vivaldi, Brave, and Maiar.
    Currently, they are working without any issues - they are still based on Chrome 85.0
    What should I do if I decide to update those three Chrome-based browsers and would like to use all of them interchangeably?
     
  24. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
    For example: Vivaldi
    Target > C:\Users\bjm\AppData\Local\Vivaldi\Application\vivaldi.exe
    Shortcut [Vivaldi]
    "C:\Program Files\Sandboxie\Start.exe" /box:Vivaldi "C:\Users\bjm\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Vivaldi.lnk"
    change to
    Target > "C:\Program Files\Sandboxie\Start.exe" /box:Vivaldi vivaldi.exe --no-sandbox"
    ---
    For example: Edge
    Target > "C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft\Edge\Application\msedge.exe"
    Shortcut [Edge]
    Target > "C:\Program Files\Sandboxie\Start.exe" /box:Edge "C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Microsoft Edge.lnk"
    change to
    Target > "C:\Program Files\Sandboxie\Start.exe" /box:Edge msedge.exe --no-sandbox"
    I run discrete browser sandboxes.
    I create shortcuts for each browser.
    --
    Note: Shortcut may not be your preference.
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2020
  25. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    961
    Location:
    usa
    Thank you.
    My best regards.

    P.S. Just an additional question. For all those browsers, I have added '- disable- webgl" in the Target space. How does that "disable-webgl" statement is going to be situated with your "box... no sandbox"?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.