Sandboxie Technologies (SBIE Open source)

Discussion in 'Sandboxie (SBIE Open Source) Plus & Classic' started by bo elam, Apr 22, 2020.

  1. wolfrun

    wolfrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Posts:
    686
    Location:
    Canada
    Sorry, I don't use the Brave browser. Maybe someone that does use it in sandboxie can help you. Only browsers I use are #1 Firefox and #2 Microsoft Edge (sometimes).
     
  2. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Neither. I really cant comment about how good or bad or difficult is ReHIPS since I know very little about it, basically I know almost nothing. I rather just go with something I know that works well. Shadow defender. Anyway, if it happens, it would only be when I am forced to using Edge.

    Bo
     
  3. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    You are welcome, Came. That link is the only official link.

    Bo
     
  4. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hi Rasheed, I am using W10 with latest updates. I never used Vivaldi, but if eventually Edge doesn't work with SBIE anymore, but Vivaldi does, I would try Vivaldi.

    Bo
     
  5. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    452
    Location:
    Austria
    Thanks for your reply, Bo. :)
     
  6. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,765
    Location:
    UK
    By the way, the Vivaldi devs suggested I do a bug report with the Chromium devs re the inability of browsers using the 86 branch of Chromium to run under the supervision of Sbie. As you know, the browsers running the 85 branch run ok.
    I have done that.
    We shall just have to wait and see if they think it is interesting/important enough to do anything about it.
     
  7. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,094
    could be your system, sbie settings or security software.

    chromium final is 85, beta 86 and ddev current 87, no problem here in windows 8/10 and sbie 5.33.6, except some sound on events (eg download) which is not important.

    you should go into deep and post some facts,
     
  8. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,765
    Location:
    UK
    So are you saying you can use Vivaldi, Edge and Brave beta browsers which contain Chromium beta 86 with Sbie 5.33.6 fully working on Win 10 2004 ?
     
  9. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,094
    No, I don't. I need to check them out. If they behave not functional its something away from chromium source. And to notice that my major used Windows 10 is on still 1809, while my Pro is on 1909 - before I am going to update to 2004 I need to create an image. nvtl I don't think its Windows version depending.

    Edge is not optional here, I refuse to install it and its permanent spying.

    brave releases, going for beta/release
    https://github.com/brave/brave-browser/releases
    but not today
     
  10. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
    Chrome 86.0 does not work with my Chrome sandbox + 5.33.6 + W10 Home 1909
    png_7785.png
    call Chrome > extensions crash + blank google.com
    png_7788.png
    call Chrome w extensions off = blank google.com
    png_7789.png
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2020
  11. catspyjamas

    catspyjamas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Posts:
    182
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Chrome just auto updated. As per bjm above I can confirm the Chrome 86.0.42.40.75 (64bit) also doesn't work with Sandboxie 533.6 (64bit), but on I'm on windows 2004 here (19041.546). It immediately crashes every extension, and choosing to reload the extensions doesn't work (they just crash again). No web pages load either. Literally can't do anything.

    RIP Sandboxie for browsers other than FF (Edge & Brave etc won't be far behind in updating to version 86 - they usually follow Chrome with 24-48hrs).
     
  12. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,231
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
  13. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,765
    Location:
    UK
    Just for info, here is a link to the bug report I made to the Chromium devs. All we can do is wait and see if they want to do (or can do) anything about it

    https://bugs.chromium.org/p/chromium/issues/detail?id=1135456
     
  14. Less

    Less Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Posts:
    282
    I tried 533.6 with latest Brave. The extensions crashed and no internet access for Brave.
    Apart from extensions crash, can confirm whether Chrome has internet access?
     
  15. catspyjamas

    catspyjamas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Posts:
    182
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Uhh what version of Brave are you using Less? Brave still works beautifully for me with Sandboxie 5.33.6, but only because the browser is still running Chromium version 85. That will change within the next day or so, so this comment isn't relevant for long. Brave are usually very quick to update once a new version of Chrome goes out. It's usually within a day or two. I've just checked for updates for Brave but it shows as up-to-date for me.
     
  16. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,765
    Location:
    UK
    Perhaps he means Brave nightly ?
     
  17. g17

    g17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2017
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    MI
    I'm quite certain I have started Chrome in the past with it's sandbox disabled by making a shortcut with a switch in it for the target.

    Maybe this would be a short term fix for the V86 Chrome version and SBIE ?

    I can't remeber the switch exactly, I'll look for it.
     
  18. Azure Phoenix

    Azure Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Posts:
    1,376
    It got an update

    Version 1.15.72 Chromium: 86.0.4240.75 (Official Build)
     
  19. Less

    Less Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Posts:
    282
    i am using 85.0.4183.121. Will update to latest version
     
  20. EspressoGuy

    EspressoGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2020
    Posts:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    I'm having the same issue with Chrome 86.0.4240.75 as detailed above. Extensions crash and cannot get to a website. Is it possible to download an earlier version of Chrome from Google?
     
  21. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,231
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Opera just updated to 71.0.3770.228. In browser identification section, it's now Chrome version: 85.0.4183.121. So, no wonder it still works on here in a basic sense. In a couple weeks' max, it'll update to 86.xx version, it's always been like that.
     
  22. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
    Target > "C:\Program Files\Sandboxie\Start.exe" chrome.exe --no-sandbox"
    png_7809.png
    png_7799.png
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2020
  23. Dburd

    Dburd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Why
    Upvoted (starred) your bug report, hopefully more people who suddenly find chrome+sbie broken will go tell them that it's a problem.
     
  24. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,765
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks, the more people who do that the better it will be.
    Even users of other Chromium browsers (Vivaldi, new Edge, Brave etc) who are using beta versions of their browser which contain the 86 branch of Chrome could post in the bug report too.
     
  25. g17

    g17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2017
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    MI
    Well the --no-sandbox switch did not work.

    This is horrible, which other browsers still work in the sandboxie environment? I feel naked withouth my sandboxie running.

    Is the Chrome sandbox effective, does anyone know details, thanks.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.