Sandboxie Settings for the Latest Adobe Reader

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by TheKid7, Jul 6, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,469
    I just switched from FoxIt Reader to the latest Adobe Reader on one of my PC's. When I Force the Adobe Reader to Sandbox, the Adobe Reader will not close. I am using Internet Access Restrictions and Start/Run Access Restrictions. It appears that the stuff that usually loads in the right panel cannot load. I added acrord32.exe, acrobatinfo.exe and adobe_updater.exe to the allowed list of both Internet Access Restrictions and Start/Run Access Restrictions. What else do I need to do to solve this problem?

    Thanks in Advance.
     
  2. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    If something that needs to run in order for the PDF to be displayed is not being allowed in the Start/Run restrictions box, Sandboxie will issue a message. If you are not getting a message 1308 from Sandboxie, then it means you don't have to allow anything else in addition to what you are already allowing. I don't use Reader, I am using Foxit and its working great sandboxed. Why did you switch?

    To check if a setting in the sandbox you are using for PDFs is messing things up, try running one in a default settings sandbox. Also, in case you are using Drop rights in your PDF sandbox (the one you are using now), I would disable it to see if it makes a difference.

    Bo
     
  3. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,469
    On rare occasion I would not be able to properly open a pdf file in Foxit. I decided to switch on one of my PC's and see how Adobe performs.
    The default sandbox (no Restrictions and no Drop Rights) works. The default sandbox also works with Drop Rights enabled.
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2013
  4. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Kid7, I think you might want to follow up this thread closely, the description of the problem seems to me pretty similar to your situation (problem deleting the PDF sandbox or closing the PDF). Perhaps, you should post there. Read the opening post and yesterdays post by the OP.

    http://www.sandboxie.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?t=15878

    Bo
     
  5. mick92z

    mick92z Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    499
    Location:
    Nottingham
    I can highly recommend Sumatra pdf reader. I have windows 7, SB 3.76 and Sumatra works wonderfully. I gave up Adobe for foxit, years ago. Foxit was foisting toolbar nonsense. Sumatra is very good. ( does for me anyway ) :)
     
  6. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I switched to Foxit portable because of the toolbar garbage. It works great sandboxed and nothing like toolbars or anything else gets bundled.

    Bo
     
  7. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,469
    I 'dumped' the Adobe Reader.

    I installed PDF-XChange Viewer. I started having issues similar to the Adobe Reader issues. In frustration, I decided to make a new sandbox and delete the old sandbox. The new sandbox did not have the problems of the old sandbox. Both sandboxes seemed to have the same configuration. Very strange.

    Now, I have the PDF-XChange Viewer working OK with Internet Access Restrictions, Start/Run Access Restrictions, Drop Rights enabled and PDF-XChange Viewer's exe 'Forced'. I had to add verclsid.exe to the both the Internet Access Restrictions and the Start/Run Access Restrictions.
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2013
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.