Sandboxie question

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by HURST, Jul 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HURST

    HURST Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,419
    Hi.

    As I have told many times (starting to sound like a broken record here), I have several sandboxes configured in SBIE.

    Some of them are set to force any program that runs from certain folders, to run sandboxed.
    But I have noticed that this only works for executables. Is there a way to achieve that if I open, for example a jpg picture, the image viewer runs sandboxed?
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,009
    Have you tried forcing your image view? Saw a post on forced folders, and it is only for exe's. Same might apply here.
     
  3. HURST

    HURST Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,419
    Yeah I thought about that, but I'm looking to run any file sandboxed, regardless of its file type - docs, ppts, jpgs, pdfs, etc

    It would be very unpractical to sandbox every process by default.

    Maybe this can't be done.
     
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,009
    What i did was create a default sandbox that has no internet access, so if I want to try running something like a jpg I just right click it.

    My PDF program runs fine sandboxed, but MS Word from Office 2007 is a horses back end trying to run sandboxed. That normal.dot thingy just is ornary as the devil.
     
  5. HURST

    HURST Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,419
    Yes, I use that too for downloaded files.
    Just want to automate the process.
     
  6. MitchE323

    MitchE323 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Posts:
    156
  7. HURST

    HURST Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,419
    Seems like a nice feature, but maybe overkill :D
    It might make Returnil totally un-needed.

    I wonder why tzuk doesn't want to add total sandboxing to the "force folder" feature...o_O o_O
     
  8. nanana1

    nanana1 Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    947
    His option to run any program sandboxed is better.
    I have a choice to use it or not.:p
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.