Sandboxie question

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by HURST, Jul 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HURST

    HURST Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,419
    Hi.

    As I have told many times (starting to sound like a broken record here), I have several sandboxes configured in SBIE.

    Some of them are set to force any program that runs from certain folders, to run sandboxed.
    But I have noticed that this only works for executables. Is there a way to achieve that if I open, for example a jpg picture, the image viewer runs sandboxed?
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,042
    Have you tried forcing your image view? Saw a post on forced folders, and it is only for exe's. Same might apply here.
     
  3. HURST

    HURST Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,419
    Yeah I thought about that, but I'm looking to run any file sandboxed, regardless of its file type - docs, ppts, jpgs, pdfs, etc

    It would be very unpractical to sandbox every process by default.

    Maybe this can't be done.
     
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,042
    What i did was create a default sandbox that has no internet access, so if I want to try running something like a jpg I just right click it.

    My PDF program runs fine sandboxed, but MS Word from Office 2007 is a horses back end trying to run sandboxed. That normal.dot thingy just is ornary as the devil.
     
  5. HURST

    HURST Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,419
    Yes, I use that too for downloaded files.
    Just want to automate the process.
     
  6. MitchE323

    MitchE323 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Posts:
    156
  7. HURST

    HURST Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,419
    Seems like a nice feature, but maybe overkill :D
    It might make Returnil totally un-needed.

    I wonder why tzuk doesn't want to add total sandboxing to the "force folder" feature...o_O o_O
     
  8. nanana1

    nanana1 Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    947
    His option to run any program sandboxed is better.
    I have a choice to use it or not.:p
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.