Sandboxie problem solved: it was LastPass in Chrome

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by justenough, Nov 23, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,509
    This thread is in case someone else is having a problem with Sandboxie not automatically deleting contents of the sandbox. It took me a few weeks to figure out that the problem was a Chrome extension, and then that it was LastPass's new 3.0 release. After figuring that out, it was easy to find information online about the issue. Reading the latest LP reviews at the Chrome extensions site, people are not happy, it seems to be causing lots of problems. There are a few posts at the Sandboxie forum about the problem I was having.

    So for the first time in years I don't have LastPass loaded, and am trying KeePass. The last challenge was figuring out how to export passwords out of LP and into KP. Another frustrating hurdle involving setting up a spreadsheet program, but now it's done and it's great having Sandboxie up and running again.
     
  2. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Huh. Go figure. I'm still trying to find out why Sandboxie doesn't play nice with firefox in Win8.1. Along with that waiting for immediate recovery and being able to print. Shouldn't have jumped into 8.1 so quickly. Oh well.
     
  3. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    You've probably already got this covered, but don't forget to select Two-Channel Auto-Type Obfuscation! It is not on by default when configuring new entries.

    KeePass obfuscation.jpg
     
  4. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,509
    Thanks, didn't know about that, or much of anything else about KeePass yet.
     
  5. innerpeace

    innerpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,095
    Location:
    Mountaineer Country
    Are you getting the occasional BSOD's while using a LUA?
     
  6. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    No, I'm running admin on my computer. My browser freezes when I use firefox. I think it might be related to lastpass. Even though FF version is only at 2.2. I think that might be the problem.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.