Sandboxie Plus (Sbie fork)

Discussion in 'Sandboxie (SBIE Open Source) Plus & Classic' started by DavidXanatos, Apr 9, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,099
    Location:
    Viena
    @mirko_ There is a toolbar button the controlls the behavioure of keeping dead processes in the list you probably clicked it,
    it should be off by default and than the terminated processes go away instantly

    if you need the recovery feature you can install the classical release that looks and feals like 5.33.2
     
  2. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,298
    Location:
    UK
    Just to summarise for people who are wondering what build of Sandboxie is what, here is a very quick write up.

    At the moment there are 3 builds of Sandboxie.

    1. The classical original signed 5.33.6 build which is now broken for any Chrome 86 based browser. There are workarounds but they involve changing properties 'targets' and adding 'arguments'. Chrome has stated they will not fix the incompatibility with this build.

    https://community.sophos.com/sandbo...ndboxie-5-33-6-release-and-open-source-update

    2. The latest fork version 5.43.6. written by @DavidXanatos . It looks and behaves the same as the original one. It is still waiting for a certificate which means you have to tell your anti-virus that it is okay. No workaround for this build are needed and it works with all browsers.

    https://github.com/sandboxie-plus/Sandboxie/releases/
    (scroll down page for the 5.43.6 build)

    3. SandboxiePlus 0.4.2 which adds new functionality like box snapshots, and better logging/tracing and provides a new Qt based UI to utilize that functionality. Looks and behaves a bit different to the classic versions above.

    https://github.com/sandboxie-plus/Sandboxie/releases/
    (scroll down for the SbiePlus 0.4.2 version.)
     
  3. mirko_

    mirko_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2020
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    in front of my pc
    I just want to bring to your attention that some ppl is sharing their personal link with your sandboxie version like it is some kind of crack.... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5CXGQcE6lns
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 14, 2020
  4. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,099
    Location:
    Viena
    Haha I have noticed that, but well as long as they don't bundle any malware with it its hard to object as the GPL allows redistribution,
    although one may want to insist that they also link to the sources LOL.
     
  5. phrab

    phrab Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Posts:
    55
    Many thanks for this & all your wonderful work. I noticed one thing. For some reason, when I rebooted today (Win10, version 2004), there were errors & Sandboxie didn't load. I found that HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\SbieDrv wasn't set to load. I used Autoruns64 to make sure it loaded.
     
  6. Sperwer

    Sperwer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Yesterday I downloaded Sandboxie 5.43.6.
    Ik scanner the instalionfile with Defender and Hitman pro. Clean. After install Defender target the driver as malware and removed it. Why was the installation file clean? Is there any hope for a certficat in the near future?
     
  7. Buster_BSA

    Buster_BSA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Posts:
    746
    Because it's obfuscated.
     
  8. Sperwer

    Sperwer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Why?
     
  9. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,099
    Location:
    Viena
    to prevent anti malware fools rom deleting it such that it can always quickly be restored.
     
  10. Survivor

    Survivor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2020
    Posts:
    128
    Location:
    Land of Oz
    @DavidXanatos Is it just me, or did you forgot to change the version in the driver?
    Screens of driver props, sandboxie plus and legacy
    driver and plus say 5.43.5, legacy 5.43.6
    All with installed PLUS version. Just to make sure. Still on
    2020-10-14 21_33_03-About Sandboxie.png
    No probs with install, win 10 64 pro 2004 with still delayed updates, via policy, not available anymore in the options. Though one update smuggled itself in, some days ago, might have been already past time.
     
  11. Survivor

    Survivor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2020
    Posts:
    128
    Location:
    Land of Oz
    What help are you looking for?
     
  12. Survivor

    Survivor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2020
    Posts:
    128
    Location:
    Land of Oz
    If they would take their claim serious, why don't they offer the informed user to install anyway and make finaly a smart way to remove such a driver while boot repair, instead of the never working methods. I never saw the hour long repair ever working. Could be my PCs maybe only. Brings the question, is it really just precaution or more control and thumbscrews for users and the thirdparties. Old question who owns the PC.
    Another link to it from ZDNET https://www.zdnet.com/article/to-st...ows-10-microsoft-changes-how-it-updates-them/
     
  13. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,099
    Location:
    Viena
    For expedience I only update the driver when something changed, since in the last release the changes were only to the user-mode components it retained its older version number.
     
  14. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,974
    @ David

    Another user told me that the tray icon is now present when some software is started from the explorer context menu. But it does not show up when sandboxie is started from another program start /box program.exe

    Or you add an option for those who wants the tray icon or those who want not.
     
  15. Survivor

    Survivor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2020
    Posts:
    128
    Location:
    Land of Oz
    Thanks for clarification, would it make sense to mention the driver version in changelog, to avoid confusion. Maybe I am too detailed sometimes. ;)
     
  16. BrendanAdams

    BrendanAdams Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Posts:
    165
    Location:
    France
    Sorry, I hadn't read your message until just now. Opera worked flawlessly outside de sandbox, but the only way to make it work in the sandbox was to select no in AG's user space. I wish I could help more, but that's all I know.
     
  17. sandfra

    sandfra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Italy
    BUG on Sandbox 5.43.6: if the sandbox icon in the
    notification bar on the right is closed and i try to open program from a desktop icon in sandbox from right bottom, sandbox not start Sandboxie Control icon...
     
  18. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,974
    Could the same as I wrote in #639
     
  19. Survivor

    Survivor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2020
    Posts:
    128
    Location:
    Land of Oz
    This is confirmed for Sandboxie plus as well, if I close the notification tray icon and start a sandboxed program from desktop, the monitoring icon is not started. Of course I can start it manual. As it is an important information, i would not want to miss it, but an option if you want to start or now would be nice.

    Also the new Explore Content works flawless.
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2020
  20. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,965
    Location:
    .
    DavidXanatos added the known issue label Sep 12, 2020
    https://github.com/sandboxie-plus/Sandboxie/issues/135
     
  21. hidebu

    hidebu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2020
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    canada
    To support ongoing Sandboxie development I would like to make a donation to David Xanatos via PayPal. When I click the donation link on xanasoft.com I get a PayPal page saying -

    Donate to
    Kundenorientierte Softwarelösungen

    Since the link is on the Xanasoft.com page I assume the account is tied to David but would like confirmation before actually sending money.

    Or is there a better alternative for making a one-time donation?
     
  22. rm22

    rm22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Posts:
    357
    Location:
    Canada
    Just installed 5.43.6 over 5.33.3 without any issues - Thanks for keeping Sbie going @DavidXanatos!!!
     
  23. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,099
    Location:
    Viena
    its just german for: User oriented Software Solutions
     
  24. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,228
    Location:
    US
    Oops, was wondering why I never got a reply for this post but now I see that I posted it in the wrong thread. So here is a "copy and paste":

    Yes, I am having trouble trying to figure out how to send a payment also. This "simple mind" needs a simple way to make a one-time payment via credit card in U.S. dollars.
    Thanks, Acadia
     
  25. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,099
    Location:
    Viena
    That should work with the pay pal button, it offers you to choose if you wants to sue a CC and no account or an existing PP account.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.