Sandboxie Plus (Sbie fork)

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by DavidXanatos, Apr 9, 2020.

  1. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,122
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    To me it's not, I just meant it would be cool if there was a bit more clear cut information about Sandboxie Plus in general, perhaps also with screenshots. But I guess this isn't possible with GitHub.
     
  2. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,465
    Hey David, i receive some complaints about the change when starting a program with right click in Explorer /run in sandboxie/ and sbiectrl is missing in tray. could you kindly revert it please? this is also annoying to me.
     
  3. Survivor

    Survivor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2020
    Posts:
    55
    Location:
    Land of Oz
    With the latest version? Plus or legacy? For me both work fine. The only thing I don't like it was much easier to see the salami in the pizza when a program starts, then identifying the active Plus icon.
     
  4. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,465
    I tried 5.43.5 legacy, i don't want/need the plus.
     
  5. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Viena
    The issue is that i did not want the legacy UI to start when things were run from the plus UI, I will fix that properly for the next release.
     
  6. Survivor

    Survivor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2020
    Posts:
    55
    Location:
    Land of Oz
    As the legacy UI is also installed with the plus, you can use whichever. I prefer also the legacy for daily use, but for some cases the other UI is more handy for troubleshooting and check what is going on. At least this is what I see and understand!? In the end both are only GUIs for the backend, am I missing anything??
     
  7. jclarkw

    jclarkw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    USA
    David -- At least two others here (counting myself) have similar questions. I realize you trying to do development work, so documentation and tech support are basically distractions, but we day-to-day users will never know what we're missing or when to change over without more of a roadmap... -- jclarkw
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2020
  8. Special

    Special Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    362
    Location:
    .
    Cannot wait for David to up and quit because of this, over and over again, exactly why gorhill retired uMatrix too, RIP uMatix.

    If "documentation" is so important, well it's open source, the community can do document it.
     
  9. jclarkw

    jclarkw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    USA
    Special -- Would you consider helping out? -- jclarkw
     
  10. Special

    Special Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    362
    Location:
    .
    Nope, not something I care about. Try asking those who keep pestering David though, they'll be interested I'm sure.
     
  11. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,465
    thx David very nice of you, appreciated :)
    I don't know I will revert to 5.33.6, maybe, or maybe not :D

    @Survivor - I am not that interested what's going on in SandBoxie, I even do not use BSA. What I use is a reghive extractor of my own or log programs with ProcessMonitor (SysInternals). If SandBoxie throws an error then I will investigate, not sooner. Files and reghive will tell me later what the program did at least.

    Sometimes I read change log before, but not all. Since David took it just the same, when I read here. This is due using 5.33.6 until last days for trialing the latest build. I read your helpful comments :p
     
  12. Survivor

    Survivor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2020
    Posts:
    55
    Location:
    Land of Oz
    Those are great programs, even if it is MS property now. ;)
    However I like the logs and some of the options, others I miss, for daily use, so I use the legacy too. As for me the backbone of the tool is identical, but only the control or GUI is different you get both with the Plus which is nice.


    Google search might have asked, Did you mean: "I read your 'Special' helpful comments" :isay:
     
  13. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,465
    no sir, this was for real, no ironie.
     
  14. Survivor

    Survivor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2020
    Posts:
    55
    Location:
    Land of Oz
    OK, I am not a fan of those comments, all those kept me off the forums for so long. But hey maybe there are some helpful comments, I didn't see. I just think we should try to help, discuss, "talk", that's what those forums are for. Sure it can be annoying to see the the same, answered question over and over again, but we can still try to help or simply ignore.Could be just me, who can't stand such comments, if someone asks, how can I make my PC blue and some smart pants answers, why do you want to do this, red is better. (guess what, because the one wants it blue)
    Those are the comments which make you feel like WTH, get lost. Honestly if David wants to ignore those questions, he will for sure. If others don't like it, move on, ignore questions if IYHO they are stupid. Just to mention, I know how annoying those kind of questions and complaints over and over can be. Trust me with that. ;)

    I still believe in, live and let live. If you have nothing to say, say nothing.

    Just my two cents....

    Now let's move on. And btw I like your quote of A.E. in sig, very true
     
  15. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,585
    Location:
    .
    Hoping ~
    Legacy will be maintained....I don't need Plus -
    I'm so darn used to Sandboxie Control -
     
  16. henryg1

    henryg1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2020
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    uk
    5.43.5 x64 still solid for me BTW :thumb:
     
  17. reincarnatez

    reincarnatez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2020
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    United States
    I've been using Sandboxie for quite awhile now, and was upset to see that they'd discontinued development of it, as I use it quite a bit in my day to day activities! I was pretty excited to see that you had stepped up in order to help maintain it, but thought that'd I'd drop in here to add my opinions. I like the way you've developed the "Plus" fork of Sandboxie, but unfortunately, it seems like it's missing several features of the normal version (such as quick recovery(or any type of recovery, for that matter))? Additionally, it might seem like a minor thing, but I sorely miss being able to right click on a sandbox and explore it's contents(unsandboxed) directly, rather than having to open an explorer window and navigating to it myself on whatever drive I have it stored on. Also, I tend to store quite a lot of games in sandboxes, but this seems to interfere with Nvidia's Geforce experience and shadowplay- is there any way to get these two to work together through different resource access settings? I don't know enough about any of that to figure it out myself, so I would appreciate any help!
     
  18. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Viena
    I never used any of the recovery options so adding them to the new interface was not a priority, but as it seams quite a few users are using it so it will be added to one of the future builds of the plus UI.

    Cheers
    David X.
     
  19. reincarnatez

    reincarnatez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2020
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    United States
    Thanks so much! I don't tend to use it much either, but as I use all of my browsers sandboxed, it can get a little annoying to have to open the sandbox folder every time I want to get to those files.
     
  20. Survivor

    Survivor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2020
    Posts:
    55
    Location:
    Land of Oz
    Finaly another one who uses it for games. As the legacy version is still part of the plus install and so far they can even run parallel. At least I do run them like this without any issue. That gives me both ways. As I understand the legacy stays updated if needed but no new features would go in!? Besides this the explore I miss most too, the recovery was mostly annoying as i want a container with all in, but for the case of browser or download I see the benefit. Or programs you want to isolate but the created data, you want to have outside the sandbox. Nice to hear those might be added to plus too.
    The geforce thing which is connecting to the network might be as tricky as the GOG Galaxy, which looses connection all time and crashes. Might be some dodgy coding at parts. What issue do you have with Nvidia Gef.Exp? Is it running in or outside the Sndbx.

    Question, did you experience the unity game issue as well, if your're on win 10.
     
  21. reincarnatez

    reincarnatez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2020
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    United States
    I don't seem to be experiencing any networking issues like you're describing; what I'm asking about is mainly just getting experience/nvidia working with the programs I run inside of a sandbox (so all the nvidia stuff unsandboxed, games/etc inside sandbox.) If I run something outside of the sandbox, it seems to be able to hook into the process fine, and my FPS counter, mic, etc will show up in the corner. However, if I run the same program inside of a sandbox, none of that will show up. Since that part of Experience isn't working, it makes me wonder whether or not Nvidia Control Panel is working and applying all of my game settings, so it would be nice to find a solution! I'm able to play Unity games in my sandboxes and haven't really encountered any issues with them... I just tried downloading a random one from itch's website, and it ran fine inside the sandbox! I'm on Windows 10 Pro, 64bit, 19041.508.

    Edit:
    There is one game that I do have an issue with, which is Risk of Rain 2(unity). It's a pirated version though, so I can't say it's definitely Sandboxie's fault, but if I launch it out of the sandbox it launches pretty instantly. If I launch it inside of a sandbox, however, I have to wait for about 10 minutes staring at a black / not responding game window before it properly loads the main menu.
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2020
  22. Survivor

    Survivor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2020
    Posts:
    55
    Location:
    Land of Oz
    Could be the Nvidia experience running, I guess outside the sandbox, might not connect with the isolated Sandbox programs. Somehow GOG Galaxy outside the sandbox, even if you give it the correct folder is not able to determine the games clearly. Not sure how the communication from outside programs to inside running ones is that straight.

    Though it is interesting, what games did you test, seems older titles have no issue, but couldn't bring it down to a specific, Overcooked runs no delay, but things like Outward, Pilgrim, Desperados 3, Broforce all with that issue. You can go to taskmanager, details, rightclick and Analyze Wait Chain and you will see the SandboxieRpcSs.exe waiting for a thread. Till this is not done, the games stucks, if you terminate that process in Sandboxie it will just go ahead run normal.
     
  23. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,585
    Location:
    .
    5.43.5 legacy + Edge 85.0.564.63 + W10 Home 1909
    png_7618.png
    Outside Edge sandbox - Edge > Microsoft Defender SmartScreen appears to work -
    png_7619.png
    Inside Edge sandbox - Edge > Microsoft Defender SmartScreen appears to not work -
    png_7620.png
    Reproduced "outside" appears to work & "inside" appears to not work results with > https://demo.smartscreen.msft.net/ -

    How to allow Edge SmartScreen to work inside Edge sandbox?
    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2020
  24. tes

    tes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Earth
    Hello All,

    This allowed the use of saved favorites, cookies, history, etc in new Edge. Just wanted to share what worked for me:

    - forced new edge in sandboxie settings
    - added to sandboxie.ini :

    Under [Default Box]
    OpenFilePath=msedge.exe,%Local AppData%\Microsoft\Edge\User Data\Default\*

    If something is not right about my settings, please let me know

    Thank you David for your efforts in maintaining this software.


    Win 10 pro x64 (20H1)
    Sandboxie 5.43.5
     
  25. Freki123

    Freki123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    130
    Most games (Mmorpg's, online shooter) I play got some sort of anti cheat detection. I would be too worried to get banned because of an rampart running detection script and then having to spend hours with the support to get my account back. // Not talking about cheating only about using an online game sandboxed.
    With a bought game I consider the risk less than using an unsandboxed browsers for surfing the shady parts of the net (personal opinion).
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.