Sandboxie Plus 0.9.8

Discussion in 'Sandboxie (SBIE Open Source) Plus & Classic' started by DavidXanatos, Oct 15, 2021.

  1. Freki123

    Freki123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    196
    Sorry I should have mentioned it was with both. The problem was with and without Immediate Recovery.
    On 5.51.6 it works for me without any error.
     
  2. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
    as test: Classic UI 5.53.1 - Immediate Recovery disabled
    Firefox sbox - no error with Quick Recovery
    0.9.8b installed
    Edge sbox w Quick Recovery is my daily rider.
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2021
  3. Freki123

    Freki123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    196
    Thanks for your help bjm_
    Even after disabling Immediate Recovery, terminating all programs, deleting contents and to be extra sure reload configuration I got the same error with quick and with immediate recovery on Sandboxie-Classic-x64-v5.53.1.exe
    Since you also could reproduce it with immediate Recovery I will add an @DavidXanatos
     
  4. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
    Yeah, (for me) error is reproducible with Immediate Recovery...not Quick Recovery.
    as test: Classic UI 5.53.1 - Chrome sbox - Immediate Recovery enabled
    png_12185.png png_12186.png
    0.9.8b installed
    Edge sbox w Quick Recovery is my daily rider.
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2021
  5. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,188
    Location:
    Viena
    Can you post the sandboxie.ini as zipped i..e not as test to the post, i presume there is somethign wired with the charakter encoding
     
  6. algol1

    algol1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2020
    Posts:
    169
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    This is VERY strange.

    I had initially reported that Opera using Chromium >v.94 wouldn't start any longer sandboxed.. Then @bjm_ suggested to turn off HW-acceleration - and voila, it worked again.

    Then Sandboxie_Plus v0.9.8b came along - and everything seemed fixed already, even Opera_Developer v.82 (using Chromium engine v.96) did open sandboxed again, even with HW-acceleration=ON again.

    And now, only a few days later and without relevant OS-changes as it would appear - latest Chrome-browser itself (after a recent update??, using now Chromium v.95) won't open sandboxed any longer, unfortunately independent of the HW-acceleration setting.

    It is the same behavior as with Opra-v.82. The browser-window will open as a white screen, after a few seconds showing an error-msg in the title-bar, again saying:

    ******************************************************
    [#] Untitled - Google Chrome [#] (Not Responding)
    ******************************************************

    But here comes the strangest thing: Now all of a sudden Opera v.82 - which had already worked again, even with HW-acceleration=ON, wont't open any longer either, this time (like Chrome) not even with HW-acceleration turned off!:confused::confused::confused:

    I'll observe that weird situation further but at this time I'm out of ideas what might have triggered the described "loose contact"/on-again-off-again situation.o_O

    The good thing is that until Opera v.80/Chromium v.94 still everything works fine, regardless of HW-acceleration=ON or off.
     
  7. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,188
    Location:
    Viena
    What graphics card do you have?
     
  8. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,188
    Location:
    Viena
    Download: https://github.com/sandboxie-plus/Sandboxie/releases/tag/0.9.8c

    Changelog 0.9.8c
    Added
    • added explicit lines on Plus installer to delete empty shell registry keys at uninstall time (by mpheath) 3f661a8
    Fixed
    • fixed template sections not showing in editor #1287
    • fixed autodelete box content broken in the previous build #1296 #1324
    • fixed crash in "Browse Content" window #1313
    • fixed issue with icon resolution on Windows 7 #1310
    • fixed invalid "No Inet" status in the status column #1312
    • fixed Windows Explorer search box not working (by isaak654) #1002
    • fixed Waterfox phishing template (by Dyras) #1309
    • fixed issue with Chinese translation files on Plus installer (by mpheath) #1317
    • fixed autorun registry key path on Plus installer (by mpheath) abd2d44
    • fixed memory corruption in SbieSvc.exe
     
  9. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,767
    Location:
    UK
    Win 10
    Classic 5.53.2 installed over the top. All working so far. Downloads are recovered using Quick Recovery in Vivaldi and Edge. Box emptied.

    Plus 0.9.8c installed over the top. Icon displayed correctly in taskbar. Downloads are recovered using Quick Recovery in Vivaldi and Edge. Box emptied.
     
  10. Freki123

    Freki123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    196
    Hi I send you an forum message with the link.
    5.51.6 works, 5.53.2 doesn't. I just tested it to be sure.
     
  11. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,188
    Location:
    Viena
    I have identified the problem, it will be fixed in the next build
     
  12. Freki123

    Freki123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    196
    Glad to hear that. Thanks for your time and effort :)
     
  13. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,292
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Curious, what is 0.9.8 vs b vs c?
     
  14. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
  15. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,292
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  16. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
    ...or wait for d.
     
  17. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,292
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    ... or e, ...or f, ...or??

    OK, thanks. I think I get it. It is still in very active development.
     
  18. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
    Well, builds are generally stable. And "bugs" may not be stability/security related. Bugs may be cosmetic or use specific. Builds are generally overwrite forward n' backward compatible. Meaning Plus over Plus & Classic over Classic.
    Classic installers install Sandboxie Classic builds by DavidXantos.
    Plus installers install Sandboxie+ builds with Plus enhancements/features by DavidXanatos.
    Generally security/critical fixes apply to both.
    https://sandboxie-plus.com/
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2021
  19. algol1

    algol1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2020
    Posts:
    169
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    If that question has been directed to me - the answer is onboard Intel Iris Xe graphics with latest driver.

    As for now that strange back and forth with Opera v.82 and Chrome v.95 seems to have ended again with upgrade to Sandboxie v.0.8.9c - so far that is.

    Meanwhile I have found one possible explanation for the strange worked/didn't_work situation with HW-acceleration=ON/OFF_again. Not sure since when exactly that occurs - but with recent Opera/Chrome-updates combined with recent Sandboxie-upgrades any changes in browser-settings/options do no longer seem to be stored permanently/written directly via direct options-access.

    That way if e.g. - in a sandboxed browser - I turn HW-acceleration say ON and relaunch the browser from the options-panel as necessary it will come up with the changed =ON setting and one might feel as everything is set and done now. However when closing the browser entirely and later calling it to duty again from a Sb-forced folder it turns out that HW-acceleration will have remained unchanged in the =OFF position.

    So it looks like at some point in the recent past Chromium-based browsers (at least Opera and Chrome) have stopped to store options-changes permanently from within the sandbox. As for installation/upgrade it now seems also necessary for any options-changes to become permanent as well as installation of new extensions to take effect permanently to run all these operations in a non-sandboxed-browser-instance first to become permanent and only later being able to using them within a sandboxed browser as well.

    Having that said I have not changed using the proper browser-templates or direct profile-access to those browsers in the Sandbox-options and with those settings it has always been possible to make permanent browser-option-changes from within the sandbox up until recently.
     
  20. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
    @algol1
    I do not enable "Allow direct access to entire "browser" profile folder.
    I've never, as far as I know, been able to retain browser changes - additions while sbox'd - when not sbox'd.
    I only Allow direct access to browser bookmarks.
    Do you run browser Sync?
    Do you run discrete browser sbox's?
    $0.02
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2021
  21. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,188
    Location:
    Viena
    That's the problem a user on github also reported issues with chrome and Iris Xe graphics, a driver update solved the issue
     
  22. algol1

    algol1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2020
    Posts:
    169
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Nope. Nope. $0.02?? (perhaps meaning "your 2 cts"?)
     
  23. algol1

    algol1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2020
    Posts:
    169
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Ok. Question then is only which update? Using the very latest driver v.30.0.100.9864 directly from Intel here but will remain on the lookout.

    If it weren't for these strange intermittent changes - for the moment and with latest Sbie v.0.8.9c Chrome will start again, without and even with HW-acceleration=ON. There has been no graphics-driver-update in that period since Chrome (apparently after an automatic Chrome-update to v.95) has stopped launching and now does launch again. Keeping my fingers crossed.
     
  24. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
    my 2 cts = run discrete browser sbox's
     
  25. algol1

    algol1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2020
    Posts:
    169
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Advantage of doing so? All necessary templates have been set in default box and this solution has worked without issues for years now.

    When updated browsers break this deal now then for dedicated sandboxes to work would necessitate detailed knowledge about any special template-settings to remedy these issues (if any?) which I do not have.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.