Sandboxie Plus 0.7

Discussion in 'Sandboxie (SBIE Open Source) Plus & Classic' started by DavidXanatos, Feb 15, 2021.

  1. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,983
    Location:
    Mexico
    What is this: SBIE1090651420
     
  2. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,133
    Location:
    Viena
    upload_2021-2-23_21-50-39.png

    where is help a help button?
     
  3. beethoven

    beethoven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    1,299
    David, I believe Sandboxie has a dedicated user base but they belong into different groups. Most users have come along for a long time and have some appreciation of what sandboxie can do and are not put off by a set of behaviours to adopt to make sandboxie work for them. A lot of threads here are with more sophisticated users and it's great that you are always happy to communicate directly with them, providing advice to deal with specific issues. Please bear in mind though that for some users like myself things may get overly complicated if it's necessary to finetune everything, accessing registry settings and ini. I hope and assume that sandboxie (I have switched to plus) will still be working "out of the box" for the average use.
     
  4. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,983
    Location:
    Mexico
  5. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,003
    Location:
    .
    FWIW ~ as test ~ I produced a Plus Notification and clicked question mark
    png_9316.png
     
  6. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,983
    Location:
    Mexico
  7. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,003
    Location:
    .
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2021
  8. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,133
    Location:
    Viena
    Of cause it will, you will just have more options to customize it past the original defaults, the goal is to empower users to solve issues which previously required new builds being deployed.
     
  9. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,983
    Location:
    Mexico
    Why this msg after setting DropAdminRights=y FakeAdminRights=y

    Then I hid it and sandboxie.ini showed this line:
    Code:
    SbieCtrl_HideMessage=2219,SandboxieDcomLaunch.exe [Chrome]
    
     
  10. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,003
    Location:
    .
    FWIW ~
    DropAdminRights=y | FakeAdminRights=y
    DropAdminRights=y | FakeAdminRights=n
    Code:
    SBIE2214 Request to start service 'bits' was denied due to dropped rights
    SBIE2219 Request was issued by program SandboxieDcomLaunch.exe [Edge]
    SBIE2220 To permit use of Administrator privileges, please double-click on this message line
    
    SBIE2214 Request to start service 'bits' was denied due to dropped rights
    SBIE2219 Request was issued by program SandboxieDcomLaunch.exe [Chrome]
    SBIE2220 To permit use of Administrator privileges, please double-click on this message line
    -----
    SbieCtrl_HideMessage=2214, bits
    SbieCtrl_HideMessage=2219, SandboxieDcomLaunch.exe [Edge]
    SbieCtrl_HideMessage=2220,SandboxieDcomLaunch.exe [Edge]
    SbieCtrl_HideMessage=2219, SandboxieDcomLaunch.exe [Chrome]
    SbieCtrl_HideMessage=2220,SandboxieDcomLaunch.exe [Chrome]
    
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2021
  11. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,983
    Location:
    Mexico
    Thanks @bjm_

    Then both lines combinations don't work as expected, it is supposed to stop programs from asking...
     
  12. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,003
    Location:
    .
    Yeah...even with HideMessage=2214 / 2219 / 2220
    ... on occasion I'll see SBIE2214 + SBIE2219

    Yeah, I've run Chrome n' daily rider Edge sans Drop Rights....due to 'bits'.

    I'm testing 0.7.1 Drop Admin Rights because = (Recommended)
    I've tested DropAdminRights=y | FakeAdminRights=y
    I'm currently with DropAdminRights=y | FakeAdminRights=n
    png_9339.png
    and on occasion see SBIE2214 + SBIE2219 from daily rider Edge.
    Note: "on occasion" is not deal breaker, at this time.
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2021
  13. Moose World

    Moose World Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    744
    Location:
    U.S. Citizen
    Hi,

    Sandboxie-Plus v0.7.1

    Everything is working well for me, at this point.

    This is the only that, I am getting after, I delete what
    in the DefaultBox as follow:


    |Time| |Message|

    16:51:32.797 Sbie Directory: C:\Program Files\Sandboxie-Plus
    16:51:32.797 Loaded Config: C:\WINDOWS\Sandboxie.ini

    But after,I clean the message log it bye,bye,...................
     
  14. RYSBX

    RYSBX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    HOUSTON, TX
    Hi,
    I just installed SandboxIE Plus on my PC. I am unable to launch Firefox in Sandbox'd mode.

    O/S : Windows 7 64 Bit
    SBX : Sandboxie-Plus-x64-v0.7.0.exe
    Driver : SbieDrv.sys.5.48.0.x64.rc4

    I tried to launch Firefox by Right clicking and selecting 'Run Sandboxed'.

    ERRORS:

    20:00:59.628 Start.exe (4520): SBIE1213 Cannot create object directory '\Device\HarddiskVolume3\Sandbox\USR\SandBox\Session_1' [C0000024]
    20:00:59.641 Start.exe (4520): SBIE1231 Initialization failed for process [C0000001 / A2]
    20:00:59.643 PID 1300: SBIE2314 Cancelling process Start.exe

    Sandboxie.ini
    FileRootPath=C:\Sandbox\%USER%\SandBox
    SeparateUserFolders=y
    KeyRootPath=\REGISTRY\USER\Sandbox_%USER%_%SANDBOX%
    IpcRootPath=C:\Sandbox\%USER%\SandBox\Session_%SESSION%

    User Account is called 'USR' and has ADMIN rights.

    Please help...
     
  15. Dan_B0673

    Dan_B0673 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    USA
    First, thanks for all you have done for Sandboxie.
    I have been using the classic for many years and just found out about the new updated style.
    I installed the latest 64bit Plus and when I open it, I get the dialog box and have to "right click" on my
    default box, then click on run web browser to open it. I am a very basic user.
    I cannot find how to just have it open the web browser (Edge) without the additional step.
     
  16. dodo1

    dodo1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2021
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    here
    You have IpcRootPath set to a file system path, which doesn't make sense. Try changing it to:
    Code:
    IpcRootPath=\Sandbox\%USER%\%SANDBOX%\Session_%SESSION%
    
     
  17. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,003
    Location:
    .
    Are you wanting to Force Edge?
    png_9364.png png_9362.png
    Note: with Plus installed. You may run Classic UI.
    png_9365.png
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2021
  18. Dan_B0673

    Dan_B0673 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    USA
    there is no "Edge" listed under the whole list of WebBrowsers in the app template
    And if I type "edge" as suggested I get a blank page (using Win 8.1) Screenshot added.
    thanks
    dan

    How do I get to the classic UI from Plus?

    Perhaps I should do a cleaner reinstall and not save the ini file.
    I am probably going to upgrade to win 10 pro soon and in the meantime
    I will download firefox and see if that works, but I would appreciate any suggestions
    on where I am messing up
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 25, 2021
  19. dodo1

    dodo1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2021
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    here
    It looks like you are using an old version. Latest version is 0.7.1, downloadable here: https://github.com/sandboxie-plus/Sandboxie/releases/tag/0.7.1
     
  20. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,003
    Location:
    .
    png_9367.png
    My practice is to pin Plus UI SandMan &or Classic UI SbieCtrl to Taskbar. Just me.
    Users may set Start UI preference.
    png_9368.png png_9369.png
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2021
  21. Dan_B0673

    Dan_B0673 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    USA
    I might be ok but here is what happened

    Well it is getting worse for me. I uninstalled all versions of classic and Plus and tried to reinstall newest plus on Win 8.1
    1. It told me I needed win 7 drivers?
    2. Tried to install latest classic version.
    It told me I needed digitally signed something
    3. Just re-ran the classic exe file and it installed
    4. I now have edge listed as a option and it seems to be working
    5. I got my releases from here
    Release Release v0.7.1 / 5.48.5 · sandboxie-plus/Sandboxie · GitHub
    I tried the Plus-x64-0.7.1 and that told me I needed win 7 drivers
    I then installed this Classic x64-5.48.5 (worked after two tries)
    But when I go to "About" it says I have plus installed (see image)
    do I have the latest versions?

    For years I have put my sandbox on a ram drive, is that good/ok/helpful from a security standpoint?

    Can I now install the plus UI? I have the classic red dots on yellow background.
    Thanks again
    dan
     

    Attached Files:

  22. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,003
    Location:
    .
    Did you scour Program Files for remnants. No biggy if your Classic install feels okay.
    If you ran Sandboxie-Classic-x64-v5.48.5.exe ... you have Classic installed.
    Your image does not say you have Plus installed.
    Your image is showing Classic UI. All Sandboxie-Plus & Classic installers on https://github.com/sandboxie-plus/Sandboxie/releases/tag/0.7.1 are DavidXanatos builds > https://sandboxie-plus.com/
    You installed Classic and have Classic UI.
    If you now install Sandboxie-Plus-x64-v0.7.1.exe.....Classic will be removed.
    Plus and Classic share components. Plus installer installs Plus & Classic shared components to Sandboxie-Plus folder. Classic installer installs Classic components to Sandboxie folder.
    Was machine ever W7. W10 does not need Provisional.Windows.7.Drivers.

    Release v0.5.0 / 5.45.0 - DavidXanatos released this on Dec 7, 2020
    https://github.com/sandboxie-plus/Sandboxie/releases/tag/v0.5.0
    This build is a major milestone in the development of Sandboxie, it marks the first open source release that has a driver properly signed for windows 10 and 8.
    For Windows 7 unfortunately the signing process did not returned a working driver, a solution is being worked on.
    Therefor, for the time being please download the "Provisional Windows 7 Drivers.zip" package and provide the driver to the setup when prompted for.
    How does your Classic UI feel?
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2021
  23. txhawkeye

    txhawkeye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Posts:
    20
    Peculiar problem with deleting sandbox contents when using multiple sandboxes concurrently. Don't know if this happened prior to 0.7.1.

    Most of my sandboxes are configured to delete their contents when they close using the following:
    DeleteCommand=%SystemRoot%\System32\cmd.exe /c RMDIR /s /q "%SANDBOX%"​

    I did two tests where I started sandbox 'a', then started sandbox 'b', then started sandbox 'c'.

    Test 1 (close sandboxes in the same order they were started):
    1. Closed sandbox 'a' (its contents were deleted immediately as expected)
    2. Closed sandbox 'b' (its contents were deleted immediately as expected)
    3. Closed sandbox 'c' (its contents were deleted immediately as expected)
    Test 2 (close sandboxes in reverse order they were started):
    1. Closed sandbox 'c' (contents were NOT deleted)
    2. Closed sandbox 'b' (contents were NOT deleted)
    3. Closed sandbox 'a' (its contents were deleted immediately as expected, as were the contents of sandbox 'c' and sandbox 'b')
    So, if sandboxes are closed in the order they are started, their contents are deleted as expected.
    But, if you close a sandbox that was started AFTER another sandbox, then its contents are NOT deleted until the other sandbox is closed.
     
  24. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,003
    Location:
    .
    @txhawkeye
    Since, you mention RMDIR. Are you running Classic UI?
    Does Plus have Delete Command window?
    Do I add [ %SystemRoot%\System32\cmd.exe /c RMDIR /s /q "%SANDBOX%" ] to Auto Exec.
    Okay to test "peculiar problem" .... with AutoDelete=y
    Do you run 'a' 'b' 'c' boxes with Drop Rights or with Leader / Lingering?
    Maybe, best to test Default box's A B C.
    Edit:
    FWIW ~ Test 2 - Default box's A B C with AutoDelete=y
    1) RunSandboxed Firefox Default_A
    2) RunSandboxed Chrome Default_B
    3) RunSandboxed Edge Default_C
    ----
    1) Close Edge Default_C
    2) Close Chrome Default_B
    3) Close Firefox Default_A
    ----
    1) Edge Default_C retains files
    2) Chrome Default_B retains files
    3) Firefox Default_A empties > Default_C & Default_B empty
    Default_C.png Default_B.png Default_ABC.png
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2021
  25. txhawkeye

    txhawkeye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Posts:
    20
    1) I am running the Sandboxie-Plus UI
    2) Don't know if Plus has a delete command window
    3) No, 'DeleteCommand' goes in the section of the sandboxie.ini file for each sandbox you where you want to use it. Selecting 'autodelete' for a sandbox in the UI by default uses the command I referenced in my post. See https://github.com/DavidXanatos/sandboxie-docs/blob/main/Content/DeleteCommand.md

    I should note that I have been using sandboxie since 2008. I have always maintained my sandbox configurations by directly configuring sandboxie.ini rather than using the UI. At one time in the past I used a custom .bat file to delete sandbox contents. I used 'DeleteCommand' to tell sandboxie to use that .bat file to perform the deletion when closing a sandbox. I later stopped using the .bat file and replaced the 'DeleteCommand' with the command referenced in my post.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.