Sandboxie Plus 0.5.5

Discussion in 'Sandboxie (SBIE Open Source) Plus & Classic' started by DavidXanatos, Jan 19, 2021.

  1. Floyd 57

    Floyd 57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Posts:
    829
    Location:
    Europe
    I meant like games that involve cracking your fingers such as building games (the construction workers crack their fingers to get em ready for doin stuff), duh

    Who do you think I am, some guy that cracks games and doesnt pay for em?
     
  2. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    16,396
    Location:
    UK
  3. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    900
    Location:
    Viena
    Use the plus edition if you want new features.
     
  4. Special

    Special Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    426
    Location:
    .
    ^^ That's like 75% of the Sandboxie userbase right there, lol.

    True, but then maybe don't break, cause errors/regressions in classic then expect "Plus" to fix them for classic users with some exclusive cleanup feature..
     
  5. Freki123

    Freki123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    153
    I installed the Classic 5.46.4 over the 5.46.1 (upgrade). I kept the ini file. Then I found out that for ever file recovery I get the error message with template.

    I searched through the forum and found: "you should manually delete any template=WindowsFontCache and template=Windows10CoreUI reference from your C:\Windows\Sandboxie.ini".
    I did that and now I get some other problem :/
    Untitled - Copy.jpg
    To be honest I hoped the classic version would just have security fixes like a stable version while the plus is a beta in progress :(
    Windows 10 Pro, 1909 Main AV: MS Defender on high with configure Defender.
     
  6. Stelica

    Stelica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    Posts:
    22
    Location:
    Romania
    You can also delete template - FireFix_for_Win7 - in sandboxie ini file because you have windows 10!
     
  7. Freki123

    Freki123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    153
    @Stelica Thanks a lot, it worked :)
    Version 5.46.1 worked with no problems (same old ini ) and with 5.46.4 sandboxie classic needed manual ini configuration (all on the same windows 10).
    Happy that it works again.
     
  8. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    900
    Location:
    Viena
    Well its only needed to remove/cleanup the missing templates manually, its not a big break.

    May be I should just leave empty template headers in such that thay have no effect but no errors are caused
     
  9. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,809
    Location:
    .
    Maybe, brief explanatory note with Changelog. for example: xyz template was removed - how to clean up xyz. Just me.
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2021
  10. Special

    Special Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    426
    Location:
    .
    Don't do this, I like error messages because it lets you know something needs "fixing" or "adjusting", I like to keep my templates clean and minimal and don't want to have a bunch of dead templates lingering around because i just "didn't know" they were not being used anymore.

    Error messages are like your mom telling you to clean your room. :p
     
  11. henryg1

    henryg1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2020
    Posts:
    134
    Location:
    uk
    Sandman crashed/froze just now after the Notification window popped up. Had to use Task Manager to stop it. Here's a screen grab. Restarted and all seems ok.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Elwe Singollo

    Elwe Singollo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Posts:
    111
    I'm not glad you have a problem but somewhat relieved someone else is seeing this behaviour. Its always been an issue for me with Plus.

    On the wider SBIE picture I had a look at the latest releases and had no luck with them again. Still a myriad of issues. I've had a feeling the number if times I've flip-flopped between Classic and Plus may have caused some issues so restored back to an image with the last build where I had no problems.

    Installing Classic from there seemed to solve my problem. Latest build is running well.

    Seems at least on my set-up, and comments elsewhere in this forum, that some messy uninstall routines have mixed things up.

    Either way sticking with Classic for now. I personally didn't mind cleaning up the templates in the latest release but can't help think that type of approach will put new users off, but maybe that's the point. I'm sure the developer would much rather concentrate on Plus and Classic is really just an adjunct to appease the traditionalists.

    Regards
     
  13. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    16,396
    Location:
    UK
    @Elwe Singollo
    I think the uninstall routine for many folk doesn't quite clean up everything and can lead to issues. I have found this myself.
    Since I did my clean installs to start from scratch I haven't really had any issues with the latest plus or Classic.
    I made sure I uninstalled with uninstaller (chose not keeping the .ini file)
    Rebooted.
    Deleted C\Sandbox (which gets left.)
    Checked in C\Program files.
    Checked in C\Windows \Sandboxie.ini
    Checked in C:\Users\[username]\AppData\Local\Sandboxie-Plus\Sandboxie-Plus.ini
    Checked anywhere else I could think to look and rebooted again.
     
  14. Elwe Singollo

    Elwe Singollo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Posts:
    111
    Thanks @stapp will keep an eye on those for future!

    I've left the ini. and replaced it with a backup of whatever version I was moving to post install. In retrospect that's not too clever as each release likely brings changes made by the installation I'm effectively undoing. Old habits.

    Similarly I've not checked the Users folder as legacy SBIE didn't use it as far as I remember and if it did deleted it on uninstall. Anyway...
     
  15. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    954
    Right clicking a file (to Run sandboxed) gives this screen:

    1.jpg

    Sandboxie Classic 5.46.4/Win10 20H2 build 19042.746
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2021
  16. Buster_BSA

    Buster_BSA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Posts:
    730
    Seems like context menu from Windows Explorer is missing. Maybe this issue is related to other a user reported in BSA thread.
     
  17. APMichael

    APMichael Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2020
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    Germany
  18. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    954
  19. smity

    smity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Posts:
    32
    Testing version 0.5.5 I have my firefox profile in a non default location but have to modify Sandboxie.ini (see below) to get the p[rogram to recognise it There seems no way to do this using the UI as there was with the Sophos version Is this a bug?

    [TemplateSettings]

    Tmpl.Firefox.****=E:\Profiles\Firefox
     
  20. henryg1

    henryg1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2020
    Posts:
    134
    Location:
    uk
    mine is in a non-standard location too (on my d: drive) but don't have any problem.
     
  21. smity

    smity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Posts:
    32
    I have proved it by trying to save a bookmark It works unsandboxed but fails when sandboxed unless I add those lines to the ini file
     
  22. henryg1

    henryg1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2020
    Posts:
    134
    Location:
    uk
    i don't allow Firefox write access outside the sandbox, including to update bookmarks.
     
  23. smity

    smity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Posts:
    32
    The point I am trying to make is that if you do need to write to the profile then you have to modify sandboxie.ini directly rather thatn through the UI which was not the case with the Sophos version
     
  24. beethoven

    beethoven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    1,270
    Where can I set the time frame for running unsandboxed?
     
  25. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,809
    Location:
    .
    R U asking ....set time....for Disable Forced Programs?
    png_8990.png > png_8991.png
    Note:
    My Plus UI 0.6.0... duration #### is not retained.
    My Plus UI duration #### reverts to default 10 sec.
    My Classic UI 5.46.5 retains duration ####.
    Just me?
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2021
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.