Sandboxie - Newbie Setup

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by TheKid7, Aug 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,469
    I am a Sandboxie Newbie (Registered). Please share your recommended configuration(s) for Sandboxie Newbies.

    I have done the following:

    1. Added firefox.exe and iexplore.exe to "Forced Programs".
    2. Added firefox.exe and iexplore.exe to "Internet Access" under "Resource Access".
    3. Checked the option to "Automatically delete contents of sandbox" under Delete/Invocation.
    4. Added a download folder under Quick Recovery.

    I have seen the ini file modifications in other Posts on WildersSecurity but these may be confusing to many Newbies.

    Thank you.
     
  2. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    785
    Location:
    Sverige
    You may want to enable immediate recovery, which allows you to recover downloaded files when they are created rather than having to manually evoke recovery or wait until the sandbox is deleted.

    Under the applications/web browser tab, you may want to enable "allow direct access to mozilla firefox and seamonkey bookmarks":ninja:
     
  3. Doodler

    Doodler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Posts:
    219
    Do you want to protect any folders on your system from being accessed by programs in a sandbox (such as if you pick up a keylogger)? If so, then you would want to identify them via Blocked Access.
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2008
  4. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    785
    Location:
    Sverige
    Good recommendation doodler- I may experiment with that myself. :shifty:
     
  5. fce

    fce Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Posts:
    758

    i included my drive D (Data folders) via Blocked Access.....lets see what will happen
     
  6. fce

    fce Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Posts:
    758
    do i need to sandbox my outlook?

    is there a feature from sandboxie (the same as Defensewall "go banking") that let me do banking online more safer?
     
  7. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,041
    What will happen is simple. You won't be able to access them while sandboxed. Want to try. Run Windows Explorer sandboxed and try and see.
     
  8. Doodler

    Doodler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Posts:
    219
    Running Outlook in a sandbox will contain any malware in infected email attachments. http://www.sandboxie.com/index.php?EmailProtection

    No. For banking, I set up a separate sandbox with default settings plus the following: The only program that is permitted to run in that sandbox is my browser, and I block access to sensitive folders.
     
  9. fce

    fce Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Posts:
    758
    yeah its access denied.

    btw, i just found out this error message in Event Viewer....any info?

    code integrity determined that the image hash of a file is not valid. the file could be corrupt due to unathorized modification or the invalid hash could indicate a potential disk device error.

    \Device\HarddiskVolume2\Program Files\Sandboxie\SbieDrv.sys
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.