Sandboxie Acquired by Invincea

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by ad18, Dec 16, 2013.

  1. JDackNo

    JDackNo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Thanks bo elam for your answer:)

    I am not sure that this is what I am looking for.

    There is perhaps no difference at all !

    In fact I used the Resource Access Monitor and as I block my D drive that contains my data
    I saw this two lines instead of only one :

    File/Key X \Device\HarddiskVolume2
    File/Key X \Device\HarddiskVolume2\

    and this was the reason of my question.

    But I learned something with your link : there is no Write-Only Access for a file:thumb:
     
  2. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,681
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hi JDackNo. When I run the Resource access monitor, I dont see anything regarding blocked files, folders or Drives. But you can take a look at your Sandboxie configuration file in:
    Sandboxie control>Configure>Edit configuration

    There I see, for blocked folders something like this.

    ClosedFilePath=C:\Users\Bo\BoDocumentos\

    And for blocked files, this below.

    ClosedFilePath=%Desktop%\Otros.txt

    Bo
     
  3. marzametal

    marzametal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Posts:
    766
    Anyone managed to get Ghostery v4 to run in IE 11 while sandbox-ied?
    I can manage to get Ghostery to load in IE11 outside of sandboxie, but inside... no, even after I allow start/run access to "broker64"
     
  4. JDackNo

    JDackNo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Strange bo elam

    Perhaps is it because, for personal reasons, I use an older free version of Sandboxie.

    I think I will uninstall and reinstall it just to see.
     
  5. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,681
    Location:
    Nicaragua
  6. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,417
    Location:
    USA
    I'm still on 4.16, Bo. No reason to move up if I'm not running W8, don't you agree?
    Thanks, brother.
     
  7. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Yes and no. True it may not affect you, but I always do just to make sure that nothing I need was broken.

    Pete
     
  8. 142395

    142395 Guest

    Sorry, I somehow missed it.
    I actually encountered the trouble after uninstalling VC++2010 (missing those dlls), but don't worry, I know re-install solve the problem:)
     
  9. 142395

    142395 Guest

    I think:
    C:\Folder applies to that folder.
    C:\Folder\ applies to just under that folder (e.g. if it is applied to Read-only, you can't make a file in that path but maybe can change the folder name).
    C:\Folder\* applies to any file & folder under that path.

    Not confirmed in actual test so correct me if I'm wrong.

    Remember tho, write-only only applicable to folder and not file, also if you put Access block to a folder then all its subfolder are not accessible too.

    Sorry, confirmed in short test and it seems there's no actual difference in those 3.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 6, 2015
  10. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,681
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I read a post yesterday about 4.17.1 fixing a SBIE 2335 error (unrelated to Skype) in a W7, I think for users getting any kind of SBIE 2335 message, is a good idea to upgrade. I do it, like Pete, to make sure nothing gets broken. But if you are not getting a SBIE 2335 is really not necessary to upgrade at this time.:)

    Bo
     
  11. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,692
    Location:
    Mexico
    I remember too Bo, it is related to MATLAB: http://forums.sandboxie.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=50&t=20793&p=107720&hilit=MATLAB#p107712
    Maybe this info could be helpful to many people.
     
  12. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,417
    Location:
    USA
    You know what? You're absolutely correct.
     
  13. ad18

    ad18 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Posts:
    70
    Location:
    United States
    I managed to run Matlab in Sandboxie 4.17.1. It took about 20-30 seconds to start up but it did work.
     
  14. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,681
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hi ad18. A hunch, disable Drop Rights (if you are using the setting) in the sandbox you running Matlab.

    Bo
     
  15. JDackNo

    JDackNo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Thanks for your interest 142395;)
     
  16. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    12,688
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I must say that I'm not that happy with the latest versions, I often get error messages when trying to install software inside the sandbox, and Opera 12 has started to crash more often. I think the design changes hasn't done SBIE any good on Win 8, and I suspect that is why it also doesn't play nicely together with HMPA.
     
  17. SLE

    SLE Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Posts:
    361
    But to be honest. You seem to be the only one who has or at least realize such kind of problems, what is quite strange. On my win 8.1 i can see no such problems (as many others don't see) and I'm also using Alert. Beside that: without the design changes in v4 Sandboxie wouldn't work on Win 8 and newer systems and they make SB quite stronger because they use many windows mechanismns.
     
  18. Night_Raven

    Night_Raven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Posts:
    388
    No, he is not. I have problems sometimes as well. Every once in a while something happens and I start keep getting errors, especially with my browser. They say it's because of Windows updates breaking Sandboxie and fix it at some point... until the next time it breaks. It has been like that for a while now. Not to mention I still can't run AppLocker and install programs inside sanboxes. Their forum support doesn't seem the least bit interested in that issue.

    So, no, I'm also not very happy with the latest versions either, nor am I very happy about the new owner, as they seem lazy, incompetent or both. Not a good sign either way.
     
  19. SLE

    SLE Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Posts:
    361
    I not said there are no problems or that he is the only one with problems. I talked about the problems Rasheed descriped - and so the solution finding is even harder, when others (like me) have a comparable setup but can't reproduce it.

    Example: There is no general problem with Sandboxie and Alert on Win8.1 x64
     
  20. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    12,688
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    To clarify, I'm not as unhappy as Night_Raven, SBIE works just fine most of the time, but I don't believe I saw these problems with v4.14, the problems started with the versions after that. Developers also noted that there were some big technical changes, it didn't have anything to do with Win 8. I hope they will somehow be able to fix these errors I'm getting.
     
  21. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,681
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I asked about AppLocker. I dont know when but they are going to investigate.

    About the latest Sandboxie versions. I run all kind of programs under Sandboxie, almost all programs that run in my computers, run sandboxed all the time and I got no problem whatsoever running any of them. For a couple of programs, I had to make changes since Version 4 came out on how I set their dedicated sandboxes but programs run fine. All my sandboxes open and close fast and I hardly ever see any kind of unexpected SBIE message.

    I don't install many new programs in my computers, they are pretty much 100% static but I install programs in the sandbox all the time, use them temporarily and after finishing up, I delete the sandbox. In the past year or so, the only program that I tried installing sandboxed but couldnt was Vivaldi. I think thats pretty good.

    I believe AppLocker as it is now, it is not compatible with SBIE. As I became more and more a Sandboxie user, I came to realize that SBIE works best when you run it on its own or with perhaps one program alongside. Most of the people that have problems with SBIE is because they are running too many security programs at once and they conflict with each other or they are trying to use programs that conflict with SBIE. If I was you, for now, I would use SBIE or AppLocker and perhaps in the future, if the conflict gets resolved, then use them along each other.:)

    Bo
     
  22. Night_Raven

    Night_Raven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Posts:
    388
    Well, I think you can save your time. I already made I thread about this and got close to 0 attention.
    I refuse to believe that AppLocker and Sandboxie should be incompatible. If one is incompatible with the other, that should be Sandboxie. I want to use them both. They make for a great combination. Standard User Account + AppLocker make sure that I have great control over what is allowed to run, and Sandboxie keeps the most commonly compromised applications in an isolated environment. Sandboxie can be useful for testing programs that cannot (for some reason) be tested under a virtual machine.
     
  23. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,681
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I am totally unfamiliar with AppLocker, my W7 dont have that feature I don't think. So I cant try it or know much about it. But I read the AppLocker posts at the SBIE forum and I remember reading that AppLocker blocks SbieSvc.exe. That sounds to me like AppLocker interfering with SBIE. Also, when I asked about whether AppLocker is or is not compatible with SBIE, I was told that "from reading the forum, it looks like it is not compatible."

    Bo
     
  24. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    2,801
    Location:
    Canada
    If you want to troubleshoot possible conflicts with AppLocker and Sandboxie, or any program for that matter, try the following procedure:

    AppLocker Anomoly

    Just start from the second paragraph. I don't know about Windows 8 and later.
     
  25. KeyPer4Life

    KeyPer4Life Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Posts:
    1,184
    @Night_Raven

    If your testing programs that are installed inside a sandbox using Sandboxie then you are somewhat limited.
    If the program needs to install a driver and require rebooting then Sandboxie won't work.
    With a Virtual Machine this is possible and better suited for this type of testing programs.

    VM requires another OS, more memory and more time to setup whereas Sandboxie uses the same Windows
    OS it's installed on & can be setup rather quickly. Both have useful purposes.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.