Sandboxie Acquired by Invincea

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by ad18, Dec 16, 2013.

  1. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,149
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Yesterday I upgraded manually to the Chromium based Edge browser. I am still using Windows 10 version 1909. I opened Edge inside of Sandboxie. As expected, I had to add some things to Sandboxie's Internet Access and Start/Run Access: msedge.exe, hvsimgr.exe, and wermgr.exe. Also as expected, I received the ole32.dll error in Edge Settings which I know to ignore.

    But I am receiving an error which reads "Initialization of the dynamic link library C:\Program Files\Sandboxie\SbieDll.dll failed. The process is terminating abnormally". I click "OK". Then Edge inside of Sandboxie continues to behave OK, at least from what I can tell. Is this another error that I can safely ignore?
    Thanks much, Acadia
     
  2. Buster_BSA

    Buster_BSA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Posts:
    622
    While researching what was failing in BSA's LOG_API, David found Sandboxie's injection mechanism was unable to work properly with Firefox. He replaced Sandboxie's injection mechanism for other one and Firefox worked fine.

    I wonder if this is the same situation. In that case the solution would be to replace actual injection mechanism with the one David used to work with LOG_API.
     
  3. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    14,046
    Location:
    UK
    I never had that error Arcadia with new Edge and 1909.
    I didn't have to add anything either.
    See if @bo elam has anything to add.
     
  4. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,677
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hi Acadia, I haven't seen this SbieDll.dll failed message. I don't use Edge much, I just open it, and test it when I run it. I just had it open for about 10 minutes navigating one particular website. I didnt get any messages. This is the longest I have had it open since upgrading W10 to 2004. I opened it to see if I got the message you reported. The only set of messages that I see constantly (and only when opening Settings) in Edge is the group of messages that comes with ole32.

    One thing I do with Edge, and I would do the same if I was using Chrome is to run it in an unrestricted sandbox. No restrictions at all, and no Drop rights. Perhaps not using restrictions takes care of the DLL message.

    Just to know, I would try to figure out if there is something in particular you do that triggers the message. After learning this, if there is no real issue that you can tell, and you are getting it often, and is annoying, I would hide it.

    Bo
     
  5. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,149
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    @stapp: yes, once I gave Edge its own Sandbox, I did not have to add anything to Access either.

    @bo elam: don't know if this means anything, I only receive that error when I first start up, opening Edge in the sandbox. After I click on "OK", I never see it again until the next time I start all over again.

    Thanks fellows, Acadia
     
  6. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,448
    Location:
    .
    FWIW ~
    Edge Chromium is my daily rider. I've not seen SbieDll.dll failed. I have ole32.dll with HideMessage. I only have msedge.exe with Internet Access & Start/Run Access.
    SbieCtrl_HideMessage=2314,MicrosoftEdgeUpdateBroker.exe
    SbieCtrl_HideMessage=1308,MicrosoftEdgeUpdateBroker.exe [Edge]
    SbieCtrl_HideMessage=2222,MicrosoftEdgeUpdateBroker.exe [Edge]
    SbieCtrl_HideMessage=2222,RuntimeBroker.exe [Firefox]
    SbieCtrl_HideMessage=1308,RuntimeBroker.exe [Firefox]
    SbieCtrl_HideMessage=2303,ReleaseStgMedium (33, 1655)
    SbieCtrl_HideMessage=2303,CoGetObject (33, 1655)
    SbieCtrl_HideMessage=2303,RegisterDragDrop (33, 1655)
    SbieCtrl_HideMessage=2318,ole32.dll
    SbieCtrl_HideMessage=1301,iexplore.exe
    SbieCtrl_HideMessage=2222,RuntimeBroker.exe [Chrome]
    SbieCtrl_HideMessage=1308,RuntimeBroker.exe [Chrome]
    SbieCtrl_HideMessage=2222,rundll32.exe [IE]
    SbieCtrl_HideMessage=2314,rundll32.exe
    SbieCtrl_HideMessage=2314,software_reporter_tool.exe
    SbieCtrl_HideMessage=2314,RuntimeBroker.exe
    SbieCtrl_HideMessage=2222,dllhost.exe [Chrome]
    SbieCtrl_HideMessage=1308,dllhost.exe [Chrome]
    SbieCtrl_HideMessage=2222,dllhost.exe [Firefox]
    SbieCtrl_HideMessage=1308,dllhost.exe [Firefox]
    SbieCtrl_HideMessage=2314,dllhost.exe
    Enabled=y
    ConfigLevel=7
    RecoverFolder=%Desktop%
    BorderColor=#00FFFF,ttl
    AutoDelete=y
    NeverDelete=n
    NotifyInternetAccessDenied=y
    ClosedFilePath=!<InternetAccess>,InternetAccessDevices
    ClosedFilePath=%Personal%\
    ClosedFilePath=%{374DE290-123F-4565-9164-39C4925E467B}%\
    ClosedFilePath=%My Pictures%\
    NotifyStartRunAccessDenied=y
    ForceProcess=msedge.exe
    ProcessGroup=<StartRunAccess>,msedge.exe
    ProcessGroup=<InternetAccess>,msedge.exe
    BlockNetworkFiles=y
    OpenFilePath=%Local AppData%\Microsoft\Edge\User Data\Default\Bookmarks
    OpenFilePath=%Local AppData%\Microsoft\Edge\User Data\Default\Favicons
    OpenFilePath=%Local AppData%\Microsoft\Edge\User Data\Profile 2\Bookmarks
    OpenFilePath=%Local AppData%\Microsoft\Edge\User Data\Profile 2\Favicons
    ClosedIpcPath=!<StartRunAccess>,*
    1909
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2020
  7. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    845
    Suddenly an error opening a PDF sandboxed. Unsandboxed no problem (Sandboxie 5.33.6 and uptodate Acrobat Reader DC xx.20067).

    SBIE2101 Object name not found: , error OpenProcess (C0000022) access=001FFFFF initialized=1

    Win10 2004 build 19041.264
     
  8. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,149
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    I wish to install Sandboxie on my old computer, it is Windows 7. I will be doing nothing fancy with it, simply surfing the Net using Firefox (latest version). What is the best version of Sandboxie for me to obtain for this purpose and where do I find it?
    Thank you very much, Acadia
     
  9. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,448
    Location:
    .
  10. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,149
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Working beautifully, bjm_, thank you.
    Acadia
     
  11. EspressoGuy

    EspressoGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2020
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    USA
    When saving files to downloads, documents or pictures, Sandboxie prompt to immediately recover the file. However, when I click to recover the file, a Windows Admin prompt says "You'll need to provide administrator permission to move to this folder" and I have to enter my Admin password (I'm using a standard account). Oddly enough, the Windows admin permission prompt does not occur when saving files to the desktop. This only started happening yesterday; everything worked fine before that. How can I fix this? Sandboxie 5.33.3. All the settings are standard except I added Chrome and Firefox to only run in the sandbox and I gave Chrome direct access to cookies.
     
  12. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,677
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Since this started happening yesterday, without you updating programs or changing any settings, then perhaps something went bad in your sandbox. I would test running the browsers in a new sandbox, and better, if you create separate sandboxes for both browsers. If by any chance, you dont set your sandbox to delete automatically, then try deleting contents first.

    I run as administrator so I never see any prompt from Windows, you didn't say anything about Sandboxie's Drop rights. I don't think you are using it but if you are, then disable it to see if that gets rid of the Windows prompt.
     
  13. EspressoGuy

    EspressoGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2020
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    USA
    I deleted the default sandbox and created a new sandbox with the same name (I had no option to name the sandbox since it was the only one). I started with a blank slate when I created the sandbox. I changed a few settings (color of border, force Chrome to run in sandbox, automatically delete sandbox on exit). Drop rights is not on. When I download a file to downloads or documents, it still prompts for my administrator password. This is weird because that did not happen until two days ago and I hadn't changed any settings for weeks.

    I tried creating a separate sandbox for Chrome. If I create separate sandboxes for each browser, how do I get them to run in the correct sandbox? I currently have them forced into the sandbox, but when I click the "pizza" icon to run default web browser, it doesn't prompt for which sandbox to run in.
     
  14. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,677
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    After you Force programs, you dont click the pizza icon, what you do to run programs sandboxed is to click program's icons, or files that are set to open with the forced program.

    For example, to run Firefox, you click Firefox's icon in the desktop, taskbar or Start menu. And it ll run sandboxed.

    To run a PDF sandboxed, you click the PDF, and the PDF will run sandboxed in the sandbox you forced your default PDF reader to run.

    Bo
     
  15. Dwight Schroot

    Dwight Schroot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Earth
  16. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,696
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    @ Dwight Schroot hahahahahahahahahaha!!! Excellent name!

    day. Made.
     
  17. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    472
    Location:
    Viena
    You need VisualStudio 2010 and i remember there was something more int ehe code... ich thing there was a short function definition commented out that's missing in the older compilers, you need to re enable that code block.
    I don't remember any other issues at that point in time.
     
  18. Dwight Schroot

    Dwight Schroot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Earth
    Thanks, I came up with it a while ago when I was wondering how to pronounce "Schroot", never thought I'd have a good reason to use it! For those who don't know, Schroot is a Linux tool that has a little bit of overlap with Sandboxie, and Dwight Schrute is a guy who really likes to enforce the rules :argh:

    Great, thanks, I'll give it a go! :thumb:


    Unrelated to the above: regarding documentation, there's a lot of information on the website, e.g. all the details linked from https://www.sandboxie.com/SandboxieIni. Sophos says the website is going to go away later this year, have they announced anything about open-sourcing that documentation or making it available for download?
     
  19. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    472
    Location:
    Viena
    People have made a dump and put it on github, afaik without authorization, but if no one complains it will stay up.

    Also Tom (Sandboxie-dev) was talking to sophos about giving him the domain and I guess all its content officially.
    So if they say yes it will be maintained and will even remain the home of sandboxie.
    lets hope for the best.
     
  20. Dwight Schroot

    Dwight Schroot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Earth
    Thanks! Unfortunately it looks like it's huge due to all the installers.

    That would be great! I did search before but when looking for something else I saw that you asked about this back when the announcement came out, so thanks for the info and also trying previously :thumb:
     
  21. Bellzemos

    Bellzemos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    121
    Hi, where is the dump of the whole Sandboxie website? I'd like to download it too. Thank you.
     
  22. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    472
    Location:
    Viena
  23. Bellzemos

    Bellzemos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    121
    Thank you.
     
  24. ravenise

    ravenise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Posts:
    89
    Sandboxie-plus 5.41.2 released earlier today, https://github.com/sandboxie-plus/Sandboxie/releases

    seems the issues with high cpu usage in firefox have been fixed, something that after years of pleading sophos never fixed; DavidXanatos nailed in in a week or two after i reported it; that seems to be the case
     
  25. Buster_BSA

    Buster_BSA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Posts:
    622
    In no time David fixed issues Invicea and Sophos didn't want/didn't know to fix like dll injection problem, a security issue, msi problem, ...

    David is doing a fantastic job!
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.