Sandboxie Acquired by Invincea

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by ad18, Dec 16, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,291
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Thanks a million, guys.

    @deugniet , I was reading that there is, or used to be, a compatibility issue with Norton. Have you noticed any problems?
     
  2. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    1,033
    No issues here Krusty with both the latest Norton Security and Sandboxie. Sometimes a HmP-Alert-mitigation with a sandboxed Firefox.
     
  3. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
  4. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,291
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Thank you Bo. :)
    I cannot find "Sandbox Settings" or "Applications > Security/Privacy"
    I do have HMP.A installed but did not get a pop-up window from Sandboxie.
     
  5. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,291
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I'm either blind or those options did not exist on my installation.

    In Compatibility there was an "Add" button which did nothing. Windows Live Mail crashed repeatedly and continuously, even though I tried to add it for compatibility.

    I'm not a patient person anymore, but I figure it is far easier to restore an backup image with Macrium Reflect than it is to deal with Sandboxie. At this point I've seen enough, and guys, please don't push your agenda. We all see things through very different eyes. Sandboxie just isn't for me.

    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2019
  6. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,757
    Location:
    UK
    @Krusty
    At least you gave it a go :thumb:
    A step was missed out by the way. It was Sandbox..Default Box..

    Annotation 2019-09-12 123723.jpg
     
  7. deBoetie

    deBoetie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,832
    Location:
    UK
    @Krusty - very rational, I've not seen zealotry or agendas with Sandboxie to any great extent. It's just a tool that works well for some and is hard to duplicate.
     
  8. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,738
    Location:
    USA
    That makes perfect sense, Krusty. We all see things through very different eyes. A wise man is willing to listen to another's point of view and not try to change it or argue. A fool always has something to prove.
     
  9. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,031
    Location:
    Mexico
    Some members who are not here any more had foreseen the demise of Sandboxie. Seers, bad seers, I feel kind of a hatred towards them /sigh
     
  10. ViVek

    ViVek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    575
    Location:
    Moon
    Great News:)
     
  11. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,288
  12. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,995
    Question - I have used sandboxie in the past on XP and maybe some on W7 but can't remember. Anyway, sandboxie used to be pretty straight forward and essentially bulletproof. On W10, does sandboxie work without any compatibility problems? Does sandboxie provide protection against ransomware and other malware? Also, it used to be a bit of a pain trying to figure out what happens in the sandbox if I want to save something. Is that still something that kinda comes with the program still? I realize some people use sandboxie daily and it is second nature how to use it. I just download so many documents on a daily basis that I'm not sure it would be practical if I have to save 99% of my downloads.

    But I also would like to have sandboxie as a security program for times I am on the 'dark web'. Is there anything that is able to bypass sandboxie these days and cause an infection?
     
  13. KeyPer4Life

    KeyPer4Life Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Posts:
    1,240
    Sandboxie.PNG

    When I did use HMP.A along with Sandboxie IIRC I received a popup software compatibility
    window where I could click on the "Add" button. Sandboxie did detect HMP.A in the system.
    Unless things have changed since this was sometime ago.

    It would add HMP.A in Sandbox Settings. You can view the code for HMP.A either in the
    Sandbox Settings or the Templates.ini file. (located where you installed Sandboxie)

    Sandboxie Control -> Sandbox -> Defaultbox -> Sandbox Settings -> Applications ->
    Security/Privacy -> Hitman Pro Alert -> [View Code] button
     
  14. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,288
    you should use vm for the "dark web" stuff. sbie's not bulletproof, especially on 10.
     
  15. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Sandboxie works very well in W10. Personally, I have no issue of any kind. Sandboxie at this moments supports up to version 1903. Metro apps and Edge are not compatible with Sandboxie so you cant run them sandboxed but other than that, you can run browsers and other programs in the sandbox in W10 as you did in XP.

    Sandboxie does protect against ransomware and other malware. In over 10 years using Sandboxie, never had an infection. Is like malware doesnt exist for me. Using Sandboxie doesn't mean you dont have to be careful, you still have to be extremely careful with what you execute outside the sandbox because that is the time when you are vulnerable.
    Downloading and recovering files out of the sandbox is very easy. You can make it as easy as you want, for example, if you like to make the downloading process work as if you were not using Sandboxie (downloads going straight through to your downloads folder), you can set it up that way. The fact that you download a lot, makes it using Sandboxie more important than if you rarely downloaded anything.

    Remember, just because you DL something, you are not gonna be infected. To be infected, you have to execute the file. But be careful and smart with what you download. And dont execute files that are suspicious.

    You can set things up something like this:

    1. You browse sandboxed
    2. You set your DL folder to be forced. Set your browser to DL to an specific folder (your DL folder)
    3. Run your files under Sandboxies protection out of the Forced Downloads folder until you are sure files are clean. You can keep files in this folder for a long time if you want. After you are convinced files are clean, you move them out
    4. But continue to run them sandboxed. Now, instead of using the Forced download folder option, you ll do it by using the Forced program feature, or Forced folder if you are moving the file to another folder that you also have set as Forced.

    You dont have to stop using SBIE just because a file has been downloaded.

    I never do, I sandbox files for the most part during their lifetime in my computers, that's one of the keys for my success using SBIE.

    Bo
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2019
  16. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I missed this part of your post. I treat every site the same. I dont trust any or you can say I trust them all the same (with very rare exceptions). So, I don't play god deciding which sites are clean and which are not. IMO, doing that is a mistake. So, I sandbox the browsers every time they run, except when doing updates. There are no reasons not to do it.

    IMO, if you are planning on using SBIE in some sites but not others, Sandboxie is not gonna help.

    Bo
     
  17. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,291
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Thank you all for your help and support. Hey, I'm a day older today and my mind can change. I will probably give Sandboxie another run before too long. Will be watching how the development proceeds from here on anyway. I've got to find out how to stop Windows Live Mail from crashing, but perhaps there is a setting for that, now I know where to look.

    I've got to say that I greatly appreciate the experience of @bo elam & others. They are opening my eyes for the possibilities of Sandboxie.

    Cheers. :thumb:
     
  18. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    If and when you do, we ll be glad to help.

    Bo
     
  19. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,291
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Okay good Wilders' folk, I've installed Sandboxie and added HMP.A, Windows Live Mail and Windows Defender applications. Great news so far is that WLM isn't crashing any more. Not sure if I needed to add WD or not.

    I guess now the learning begins. :)
     
  20. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,291
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    When I go to Sandbox > Sandbox Settings > Program Start > Forced Files / Forced Folders it says "This feature is only available to the registered version of Sandboxie". How do I register this version? I thought the pro version was free now??
     
  21. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,757
    Location:
    UK
    Do you have the 5.31-4 download?
     
  22. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,291
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I do now, stapp. ;) Apparently the version at Filehippo et al are an older version. 5.30.0.0.
     
  23. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Just run it over the top, Krusty.

    Bo
     
  24. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,291
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    How do you add Chrome to the sandbox? I just tried and it would not open. I got repeated errors too? Do you even need to?
     
  25. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,291
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Done Bo! Thanks.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.