Sandboxie Acquired by Invincea

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by ad18, Dec 16, 2013.

  1. Fizbin

    Fizbin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Posts:
    15
    I understand the example of signing in to this website while unsandboxed and then still being signed in when sandboxed. I do this all the time with extensions like Lastpass. But I did not type "south park" unsandboxed. I only typed it in while sandboxed. So suddenly the unsandboxed knows all about south park. Now if I was signed into Google/Youtube that would make sense, but I am not.

    It's sort of like going to ebay sandboxed (without signing in) and clicking on auction pages with PC's. Then going to unsandboxed and these PC auctions appear in my "last viewed" list. This of course does not happen. I'm just siting an example.

    Anyway, maybe my brain is a little slow and I'm missing something. It still hasn't CLICKED for me.
     
  2. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,134
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Fizbin, if you are using CCleaner, you can use it to test cookies and Sandboxie. Step one, run CCleaner to clear cookies. And then, run Firefox for a few days (sandboxed every time), never out of the sandbox, and then run CCleaner. You can be sure, CCleaner will not find any kind of cookie whatsoever for Firefox. This test wont work for IE. Regarding Chrome, I dont use Chrome, dont know nothing about Chrome, so dont do the test to test Chrome, cookies and Sandboxie. Do it with Firefox (guaranteed, CCleaner will find no cookies).

    Bo
     
  3. Rinel

    Rinel Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2014
    Posts:
    6
    You type on this forum while sandboxed I assume. Does your posts on this forum disappears when you empty your sandbox? Same principle with Youtube, they store this data (what you searched for) on theirs servers.. not (just?) your cookies.
     
  4. RioHN

    RioHN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2017
    Posts:
    63
    Location:
    Here
    I think you may be confused about how cookies work. A very basic description pulled from the web:

    Cookies are small data packets which Web pages load on to browsers for a whole range of reasons. Every time you return to the same URL, the computer sends back this little package of information to the server, which detects that you have returned to the page.

    So as an example a cookie might simply contain a unique ID that YouTube can use to identify you. Each time you connect to YouTube your browser sends this same ID back to YouTube. YouTube have a database that stores your ID and also logs each video you click on. YouTube recommends videos based on this information.

    Sandboxed
    When you browse the web sandboxed the browser is using the cookie stored outside of the sandbox and sending that "ID" to YouTube. YouTube continues to store all the videos you click on while sandboxed matching them against the ID.

    Unsandboxed

    Again, the same ID is passed to YouTube from the same cookies. YouTubes database now contains both sandboxed and unsandboxed video clicks because your browser is sending the same ID in both instances.
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2019
  5. XenMan

    XenMan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2018
    Posts:
    130
    Location:
    Australia
    The description of Sandboxie is simple with a diagram of a part of the drive the data is stored on, and then deleted when the sandbox is emptied. It is the same as browsing on an incognito tab of chrome; when you finish the session all the data from that session is deleted. So nothing else outside your computer is deleted and the cookies are not stored outside the sandbox.

    This is easy to test, as if you don't empty the sandbox you are assaulted by Google Chrome with advertisements, auto completion in your search and recommendations from previous sessions. If you clear the sandbox, it is like starting from scratch.
     
  6. Fizbin

    Fizbin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Posts:
    15
    I have a better example. If I use the search engine here (sandboxed) and type in 'security' and press enter it will (depending on my settings) remember this entry. So when I go to the search engine again and type in 's', the word security will probably come up before I type it. But if I delete the sandbox that entry will be wiped out. So when I type in 's' again, 'security' will not come up.

    This is the behaviour that I would expect with google. I'm rather surprised that they are some how keeping track of me (IP address?) even when I am not signed in.
     
  7. beethoven

    beethoven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    1,188
    I am fairly sure that some things are being tracked via the IP address. I always surf sandboxed but notice ads being served based on my partner's interests - very specific amplifiers or audio parts that I would not even know what they are.
     
  8. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,525
    Location:
    Mexico
    Of course they do.
     
  9. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,317
    yes, that's a fact. even different types of devices (e.g. a laptop, a smartphone and a gaming console) on the same network that share the same exit ip display the same specific predictions / autocomplete based on your previous searches on google when you start typing.
     
  10. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    769
  11. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,203
    Location:
    .
  12. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,134
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Version 5.31.1 is working fine. In case anybody is wondering (about the license, activation)....it quickly activated, without issue. :)

    I haven't updated to W10 1903, so I cant test downloads to see if that function is working properly, but I m sure it is.

    Sin título.jpg

    Bo
     
  13. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    11,931
    Location:
    UK
    @bo elam
    I can confirm that with 5.31 installed on build 1903 downloads work correctly again :thumb:
     
  14. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,134
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Thanks. I am beginning the update now using the W10 Update assistant.....:D

    Bo
     
  15. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,746
    It definitely works Bo on 1903, this was a perfect upgrade, and my SB license activated in no time...
     
  16. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    769
    Version 5.31.1 fixed the download-issue.
     
  17. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    587
    Location:
    UK
    Beta Version 5.31.1 would not activate for me (tried a few times).
    I have had to roll-back to 5.30 and all is OK for now (I didn't need to re-activate).
    My Windows version is still 1803 so I don't need 5.31.1 just yet.
     
  18. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,134
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I can also confirm, downloading in sandboxed browsers is back to normal in W10 1903. All else in my end (regarding Sandboxie), is also working properly.

    Bo
     
  19. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,134
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Sorry to read that Pling man, perhaps next time you update Sandboxie, if you have issue again while activating the license, try letting the activation process be. Leave it alone, let the process activate on its own without you trying/clicking to activate the license yourself.

    Bo
     
  20. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    115
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Thank you very much for posting the latest version, bjm_. I installed over 5.30 and it remained activated with my settings intact on Windows 10/1903. Reinstated Firefox, it's working fine to date. I'm a bit more optimistic than I was this time last week. :)
     
  21. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    5,694
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    I will install the latest build on 1903, let see if I have any issues.
     
  22. catspyjamas

    catspyjamas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    New Zealand
    I installed 5.3.1.1 64bit on 2 laptops last night & also noticed it took a long to for the licences to activate: 30mins on one, and 20mins on the other. The error message was "invalid response from license server". On the third laptop it activated immediately. The third laptop activation was attempted immediately after the other 2 finally activated (would have left it on 5.30 if the other two hadn't come right), so I suspect the server was just busy or having a temporary glitch. I'm also on 1809 - just getting ready for 1903.
     
  23. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    5,694
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    v5.31.1 installed on 1903, no issues with activation, downloads or Chrome.
     
  24. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,112
    Location:
    USA
    5.31.1 installed on two 7x64 machines with zero activation problems.
     
  25. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    587
    Location:
    UK
    I just updated again to 5.31.1. This time it activated OK.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Joxx
    Replies:
    63
    Views:
    7,010
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.